BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Plucker: An Illustrated Novel

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    best horrifying fairytale

    best horrifying fairytale

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    This book takes you away on a dark exciting adventure. What do toys do when your not around? They come to life what else? what happends when a evil being is broght in the form of a doll? find out as you follow jack (a misfit jack in the box)as he transforms to save the ones he loves. This book wont dissapoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm impressed

    This book was extraordinary - I've always known Brom was a talented artist but come to find out he is a great author as well. If you love weird ass books and stories, The Plucker is defiantly something for you to read. <BR/>Loved this book and look forward to more of Brom's illustrated novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    I borrowed this book from a friend who thought I might be interested in it. So I said, 'Yeah, I'll read it', half- heartedly. But once I got into the book, I could hardly put it down and the pages flew. The artwork was amazing and the writing and story also had depth and lots of character. I would recommend this book to any reader who likes horror-esque books, or just books which are an interesting read. As one reviewer said, it was definitely a short book. I think Brom could have did an even more amazing job in a longer book, but I am nonetheless happy with what he did with the shortness of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    I really enjoyed reading this book. The illustrations enhanced the experience. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    AMAZING!

    The book was great. I was fascinated with the cover. And I read the other reveiws and I knew I had to buy the book. Its kind of short. But the illustration is excellent. And the story is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    A Delightfully Dark Yet Triumphant Tale, Newbery Quality

    On a cold and rainy Saturday I bought this book on a whim, based on the lusciously gorgeous illustrations and the profoundly enticing writing - it fit the mood of the day perfectly. Only two other artists have such a rich and delightfully wicked combined creativity Neil Gaiman and Dave McKean, whose movie Mirrormask I had just seen! Brom has sewn together a magical tale of heroism and Love that will send you longingly into the toy chest hoping to revive the life in those precious objects of youthful imagination. Just as you wonder if there are doors in the backs of wardrobes or if the white rabbit could lead you off into Wonderland, Brom sheds new dark on the goings on in the 'Underbed'. Perhaps one way of looking at this story is to say: the Nutcracker is sugarplum and cotton candy, Plucker is a perfectly decedent rich dark hand dipped imported chocolate truffle. If I could I would give it a Newbery Award. I would have devoured this story as a child and as an adult did it in one day. I would recommend it as a 'read with' to those whose children liked Coriline (Neil Gaiman), Alice in Wonderland (Lewis Carroll), Keys to the Kingdom series (Garth Nix) and any good supernatural tale. For basically a lover of Halloween. For adults it's a great read for fans of Ray Bradbury, Hideyuki Kikuchi, Neil Gaiman, & early Stephan King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1