BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Plum Deadly

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    Maggie Grady is forced to give up her high-flying New York lifes

    Maggie Grady is forced to give up her high-flying New York lifestyle and return to her home town after she's unjustly accused of cooking the books at the bank where she worked. Her Aunt Clara greets her with open arms and a job at the family-owned business that has baked the best pies for over forty years. When Maggie's boss shows up and declares he's found the real crook, she's elated, until he turns up dead in back of the pie shop. The police not only turn the spotlight on Maggie, but they suspect Aunt Clara's damson pie might be deadly. Now Maggie has to clear herself and her aunt.

    This was a fun read, I loved the characters, and when Aunt Clara was teaching Maggie how to make pie crust her way, I felt sorry for Maggie. Pie crust is hard. I'm looking forward to the next in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    A mystery that puts you walking through the story with the chara

    A mystery that puts you walking through the story with the characters.
    Aunt Clara is loveable, trusting and loves her pie shop. And she does not want to sell it. Her niece, Maggie, has returned to her. She was framed for embezzlement and fired from her job in New York City. The charges were all dropped but she still lost her job.
    Her ex-boss shows up at Pie Shop wanting to clear Maggie's name. But instead he is killed. I got all the way to the end not guessing the killer. So enjoy.
    Maggie falls for Ryan, Publisher of newspaper. Romance develops in midst of all the bad circumstances. Ryan works with Clara and Maggie trying to figure out who killed the ex-boss.
    Maggie finds herself almost run down after she is cleared as a suspect.
    Then Clara springs a new man at end which sure could make for the next mystery book.
    Crime followed Maggie from New York to North Carolina. Home life, fears and romance are all so real.
    And at the end an extra - pie recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Susiego

    Need more like this! But pace is very slow, and needs more character detail and suspense tobe to notch!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK. AN ORIGINAL STORY LINE THAT IS BETT

    I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK. AN ORIGINAL STORY LINE THAT IS BETTER THAN THE AVERAGE COZY. The last paragraph of the book makes you wonder if the next book is going to start from this point or is it just a real attention getter. So many of the cozy books have the female sleuth with the cop or detective boyfriend but this is a new twist. I love an author that can think up a story line that is different than the majority of cozy stories. I really look forward to the next in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    The major fault of this book is I want to eat lots of pies. They

    The major fault of this book is I want to eat lots of pies. They sound so good. Flakey crusts. In the back of book does have some pie recipe but It should come with pie, don't you think?

    A lot of the setting is at the pie shop or talking about pie and having to make good sounding pies.

    Maggie is the main character. She is smart, selfish and now that her busy dream life has been taken away from her, She realizes how wrong she has been not to spend more time with her Aunt.
    Maggie was working for a bank until she was accused of taking millions from her bank. The bank froze her accounts, took all she had leaving her with not even enough money to go home.
    (I wonder how the bank could take her apartment and everything even her clothes) They don't even press charges against her.

    Her Aunt Clara and her Uncle Fred took Maggie in when she was four after her parents were killed. Since her husband's death Clara has not made a lot of good decisions. She has kept the Pie in the Sky open. She is glad that Maggie has come home. She loves her and plans to teach her the family's secret to making good pie crusts.

    Maggie's boss comes to her hometown and tells her that he found out who had really stolen the money and he has called a press conference for tomorrow where he will announce the real thief.
    Next time Maggie sees him he has died behind Pie in the Sky.

    Now things get even worse for Maggie as she as been a person of interest in the death of her boss.

    The mystery of who the thief and killer is good. There are a few good suspects for Maggie to look into. I was kept guessing till the killer let it out about something.

    There is good drama and action and even some romance as Maggie tries to clear her name. At the same time someone is trying to make Clara sell her land so he can build a office building for doctors.

    The ending is setting up for another book that sounds good I hope it is going to come out quickly. I will want to read it but first make sure I have some pie on hand to go with it.

    I was given this ebook to read and agreed to be part of its blog tour and give honest review of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    Plum Deadly is the newest addition to Jim and Joyce Lavene┬┐s boo

    Plum Deadly is the newest addition to Jim and Joyce Lavene’s books. Although this is the first I have read of any of their works, when I was invited to participate in a tour, I couldn’t turn it down. I am starting to really get into these cozy mysteries because they are so lighthearted and fun.




    After being falsely accused of embezzlement Maggie Grady flees back home to her aunt Clara. While trying to rebuild her reputation, Maggie works at the family business, Pie in the Sky. When her ex-boss, Lou, confronts her with knowledge that can clear her name, she’s ecstatic. Unfortunately for both of them, Maggie finds his body behind the shop before he can release the information. Now, not only does she have to clear her name of theft, she has to prove to everyone she’s not a murderer either.




    Maggie is such a wonderful character. Even though she is down on her luck, she is very sweet and kindhearted, especially to aunt Clara. I really liked aunt Clara too. She had such a positive personality and always saw the good in everything. She also liked to play matchmaker, which led to Maggie’s relationship with Ryan Summerour, a local reporter. Although he and Maggie get off on the wrong foot, things soon get heated after a surprise kiss goodnight. What I liked the most about Ryan was that he never used Maggie. She wasn’t just another story to him.




    This author duo has definitely got it going on. Together they have built a pleasant little town with touching characters. I haven’t really grasped the concept of how this team might work but you would never know it was more than one voice. Everything flowed beautifully from beginning to end at just the right rate.




    I would recommend this lighthearted novel to anyone who enjoys curling up with a nice, cozy story. Did I mention that it also includes recipes? That’s right! You can make the same pies that Maggie and aunt Clara made in the shop. So gather up your baking supplies, get out your favorite blanket and enjoy the treat of both this loving story and the yummy pie.




    Disclaimer:
    I received a copy of this book, at no charge to me, in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    Plum Deadly by Ellie Grant Maggie Grady goes back home to Durha

    Plum Deadly by Ellie Grant
    Maggie Grady goes back home to Durham, North Carolina for the first time in years with her tail tucked between her legs. She has been fired for her high powered job for embezzlement. She is has lost everything she owned, her bank accounts frozen, so she takes a job at her aunts pie shop. Maggie moves in with Aunt Clara who seems to be getting forgetful. She is determined to find a way to prove her innocent, get another job and leave town as fast as she can. He former friend and ex boss Louis walks into the Pie in the Sky, proclaiming he knows who set her up and promises to hold a press conference to reveal the identity of the thief. The problem with that is he is found murdered before he reveals their identity. Now she faces possible murder charges along with embezzlement. Her life is falling apart and she does not know who she can trust. Ryan the hunky town reporter befriends her, but does he have true feelings for her or is he after a story? This book is an outstanding read, full of action and a little romance. You will find this book to be a clean read, action packed mystery and humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    Plum Deadly is the first book in the Pie In The Sky series. I ho

    Plum Deadly is the first book in the Pie In The Sky series. I hope the first of many!!

    Maggie Grady has returned to her hometown, after unjustly being accused of embezzling bank funds. Maggie is busy helping her Aunt Clara run Pie In the Sky Pie shop, much needed, too.

    Then one day her former boss, Lou, walks through the door of the pie shop. He lets Maggie know that he knows she's not guilty and will explain everything at a news conference the next day. the next day never comes, as when Maggie is taking out the trash, she finds Lou slumped against the back door, dead. Quite naturally Maggie becomes a person of interest. Shortly after the discovery of body, Ryan Summerour, owner of a local newspaper wants to do a person interest story and help Maggie clear her name.

    A wonderful first book for this delicious new series with believable characters, all I would to call my friends. Aunt Clara whose wonderful baking skills keeps the customers coming back, but she could use a little help with the business side. Maggie who would still like to have that pie in the sky job at a bank, she does enjoy working in the pie shop and knows that her aunt needs her around the shop. Plus Ryan is there and could be a love interest that Maggie is also looking for.

    Definitely hungry for the second book in this series. Recipes also included, too.

    flag

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Joyce and Jim Lavene, writing under the name Ellie Grant, have a

    Joyce and Jim Lavene, writing under the name Ellie Grant, have another hit on their hands! When I see their name or any of their pseudonyms I know that the book will be a joy from start to finish.
    Poor Maggie Grady, not only has she lost her high powered job and was forced to move back to her hometown in N.C., but her ex-boss ends up dead on the back doorstep of the pie shop she is helping her sweet aunt with. Maggie finds herself in the thick of things and must prove to the police and her hometown that she had nothing to do with his death.
    If you are a cozy mystery fan, I think you will enjoy this book. And make sure to check out the books in all of the series that the Lavenes write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1