Customer Reviews for

Plum Spooky (Stephanie Plum Series)

Average Rating 4
( 622 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(250)

4 Star

(171)

3 Star

(86)

2 Star

(63)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Another fun Evanovich read

I just finished Plum Spooky and liked it very much. This is the first full length between the numbers, book. Now that the between the number books will be full length I feel like I am getting my moneys worth. I did not like how small they use to be. I do not like Diesel...
I just finished Plum Spooky and liked it very much. This is the first full length between the numbers, book. Now that the between the number books will be full length I feel like I am getting my moneys worth. I did not like how small they use to be. I do not like Diesel all that much but I do like all the other characters in the Plum novels. We see many of them in Plum Spooky and a couple of new ones, including family members of Stephanie's boyfriend Morelli. I liked seeing into the interpersonal areas of Stephanie and Morelli's life that we don't usually get the chance to see, with so much going on in the numbered books. I like meeting new friends of Stephanie┬┐s and future family. It makes Stephanie seem so real. We know these people. With the between the number books we also get a chance to escape reality. I found Carl to be funny, and Tank and Lula to be a trip. Tank needs to run the other way if you ask me. :) Hopefully Lula will take a page from Stephanie and Morelli's life and get a clue about how a good couple should be and how a healthy relationship functions. Wait, this is Lula, she does everything to the extreme. Tank better hide his Applepuff. ;)

Plum Spooky has a good plot and had me scared for Stephanie at times. It also had me laughing like all good Plums will do. :) I recommend this book.

posted by joannelan on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

I thought it couldn't get worse...

...I was wrong.

I used to love these books. Numbers 9 through 12 were increasingly good. Then Janet Evanovich started writing two books a year... the 'between the numbers' books and the regular numbered books.. and the quality started suffering.

Firs...
...I was wrong.

I used to love these books. Numbers 9 through 12 were increasingly good. Then Janet Evanovich started writing two books a year... the 'between the numbers' books and the regular numbered books.. and the quality started suffering.

First let me say that I don't like the between the numbers books anyway. The first book one was a Christmas book that came out after book 8 and I thought it was the worst book in the series until 13 and 14 came out, those were worse. The holiday books don't add to the story and the last thing this series needed was MORE filler and ANOTHER leg on the tired triangle. I don't understand the point of them. I guess Evanovich wanted to jump on the paranormal bandwagon but why not start a new series? The paranormal unmentionable element doesn't fit in these books and reading them is confusing.

In this book Stephanie is after a super genius who stole an magnetometer from his boss who later turns out dead. Diesel is a paranormal "unmentionable" with special abilities who is after him. The plot of this book is built around stupid. What happened to the witty dialogue and funny because it's true situations? Now she's relying on slapstick like a bad home videos clip show. Monkeys? Oh Janet.....what is the matter with you?

I am also sick and tired of reading the same thing over and over again. Morelli has the same lines book after book and those lines aren't even interesting. Diesel is using all of Ranger's lines from past books which is irritating because Diesel is no Ranger. Does Evanovich really think her audience is so stupid they'll fall for any guy with a penis? Apparently she does because all Stephanie does now is talk about sex and naked guys and what her doodah is doing. Stephanie is no longer the character I would like to be "when I grow up", she's the loud co-worker two cubicles over you wish would just shut up already. Annoying and whiny. I can't remember what I loved about these books anymore. How could something so good end up being so bad? Where was her editor when this happened?

posted by 747380 on January 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Plum Spooky

    Janet Evanovich once again takes us into the facinating world of Stephanie Plum. This plot is by far the most outrageous. As ususal, Janet's work was easy to read but it didn't necessarily fulfill my craving for all things Stephanie. I look forward to the next installment of the "Numbers" series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sigh

    I really do not like these in between books. This one was by far the best one of them but that really isn't saying much. I was annoyed with the repeating parts like the monkey shrugging and flipping people off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    A good beach read, sort of predictable. Fun Book.

    Stephanie Plum is a fun detective. I love how she isn't professional. The books sometimes seem repetitive and predictable, but they sure are fun to read. They are full of cursing, sex, and trouble. It's fun to see what she gets herself into. I don't know how she stays so slim and in shape with all her donut eating, but that's fiction for you! It always helps that she has a hot guy to rescue her (and make out with her), but I'd like to see her actually get stumped one of these times, or lose the guy, just to make it more realistic. Overall, read the book if you have nothing better to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Diesel Strikes Again

    Diesel has turned up several times in Stephanie's life, and he's back again, in a larger, "spookier" role. While the Stephanie Plum series is often quite funny, and the author has a true knack for developing absolutely humorous scenarios, this Plum book is a bit more grim. The paranormal phenomena that Diesel and several of the other characters in this book represent are offbeat, mysterious, and both funny and scary. Stephanie is hunting for several escaped, bonded, criminals, as she is a bumbling, yet entertaing bounty hunter. Diesel is seeking an escaped criminal of his kind - paranormal - who has some seriously deadly talents, putting his capture completely out of Stephanie's league and nearly out of Diesel's. This story doesn't have the same funny, light comedy of other Stephanie Plum novels, but it does very well live up to its title and was a good escapist read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The "between-the-numbers" books are never quite as good

    While it is nice to get 2 servings of Stephanie Plum, I have never been crazy about the Diesel character. I will give Janet Evanovich credit for weaving all the regular characters into this book better than the rest of the "between-the-numbers" books but sometimes it seems like she is phoning in the plots. I got a little tired of the monkeys but on the other hand I did laugh at some of the lines and situations. All-in-all, I'm waiting for #15.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Evonavich

    I like her style. It is really easy reading and a lot of fun. She and her group are funny people!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    If you like the Stephanie Plum series, you need to read this.

    This book is entertaining, however, since it is a between the numbers book, it is a very quick read. We learn more about Diesel and love the monkeys!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Exciting and offbeat characters and their interrelationships provide an entertaining romp through a less than stellar plot.

    Following Stephanie Plum and her comrades and family in another bail bond/crime story is entertaining but not the ride Ms. Evanovich provides in earlier Plum novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Plum Spooky is action-filled with the crazy antics of bondswoman, Stephanie Plum and Diesel, who is back to help capture a villian with some supernatural powers.

    If you're a fan of the other Evanovich titles, this in-between the numbers will not disappoint.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Plum Spooky

    Good easy read to escape from life's trivialities. The monkeys were a little much for me however. I did like the main monkey. There wasn't enough appearances by Rager for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    spooky review

    if you like stephanie plum books you will like this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    Stephanie Plum fans will enjoy.

    Long-time readers of the Stephanie Plum novels will enjoy the latest "between the numbers" novel, Plum Spooky. However, I would not recommend this novel for someone beginning the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not your ordinary Stephanie Plum book!!

    It's very aggravating when authors become so enamored with their characters that they spend time writing in between books instead of concentrating on the next book in their series. It's like they hurriedly slap something together and put it in hardback so their fans have to purchase it to keep up.
    However, this book was somewhat enjoyable, it had its funny parts that Ms. Evanovich is famous for, so, it was not a total loss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Between the numbers is between the hits

    Although Diesel is an interesting character, the romantic interplay and conflict is not as exciting as that between Morelli and Ranger. The plot of this book was weak. It was too predictable and Stephanie Plum is anything but predictable. I'd give it a three out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Stephanie Plum

    Who doesnt love Stephanie Plum, Ranger, and Morelli?
    As a fan, I had to buy the book and read it. It gave me the 'fix' I needed until the next number book comes out.
    I wouldnt recommend it as a first book to read of Evanovich but would still recommend it any of her true fans.
    The story line was a little slow but still a fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love Stephanie Plum !!

    I enjoyed this book a great deal. Unfortunately I read it in one day. lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Not up to par.

    Not up to par for her books. I was bored and struggled to complete it. That is not usual. Too much like her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Plum Spooky

    It was good, but not as good as her previous books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    good fun

    the "between the numbers" Plum books just aren't as exciting as the "number" books, but do give us the chance to enjoy a few side characters such as Diesel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Too Many Monkeys!

    Plum Spooky is another madcap romp filled with eccentric characters and over the top situations. Comparable to the other between the number books, this short novel has its share of laughs, but if you're looking for character development, stick with the numbered Plums. They reign supreme. If you want something more in the vein of numbered Plums, try Gemma Halliday or Shelly Fredman's No Such Thing Series. Well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5