Customer Reviews for

Pobby and Dingan

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Won't download. Love the movie-Opal Dream <3

    What do i do?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Great movie. So therefore, and AMAZING book

    I saw the movie "Opal Dream". I cried. The movie was amazing. Later that night i found out it was a book. I thought "a must read". I bough it this morning. I know it is going to be an awesome book. And i haven't even finished the first chapter yet. (I bought it this morning)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    The edition I read was called Opal Dream. This is a charming and

    The edition I read was called Opal Dream. This is a charming and heartbreaking story set in the opal fields of Lightning Ridge. The author uses words with skill. We feel the hot, dusty air in our lungs, we experience the ostracism and community of spirit of small town Australia and our hearts tear in two for the unhappy little girl who has lost her friends. This book may be short, but it is potent. I highly recommend it.

    There is another short story included at the end of the book entitled Specks in the Sky. It is strange and confusing and worth skipping over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    so amazing

    cant put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2004

    From father to daughter

    My dad gave me this book for Christmas when I was 22 yrs old. I had never heard of it and thought 'OK, I have a bood about imaginary friends in Australia. Now what do I do?' Yet when I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. It was such a simple story, a great pick-me-up. I loaned it to a roommate in college when she was having a rough weekend; I never got it back. I hope she passed it on to a friend to lift another's spirit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    A great Imagination

    I enjoyed this book...ben rice has a great imagination...ad knows exactly what goes on in the ming of a little girl...The whole town knew who Pobby and Dingan was..and the only person who ddin't believe in Pobby and Dingan was ASHMOL....he finally believe inthem in the end...because even if pobby and dingan arent real people...ashmol realized u just have to believe....the end was very sad....shh i cant tell what it is. GREAT FOR kids 9through 15

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2002

    A beautiful story to read on a quiet morning

    A touching and beautiful novel that will leave you uplifted and yet wistful. Easily read in one morning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2002

    Brings out the kid in all of us

    My father bought me this book for Christmas one year. I had never heard of it and I wondered how he ever decided to give it to me as a gift. I soon realized why; it is a delightful story about the joys and concerns of childhood, perfect for anyone who wants to remember for a bit what it was like to be 8 years old. It is a great book for a rainy afternoon...it is short and uplifting, even though it brought a tear to my eye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2001

    Written about but forgotten

    I am a Lightning Ridge resident that was taken by Bens novel,the only down fall I can see is the promotion of this excellent story has not been shared among the township of Lightning Ridge. Nobody has heard of Pobby & Dingan. When Ben visited he took so many details that would mean alot to Lightning Ridge folk, but they dont even realise that they are in such a heart-warming novel. Please share this with Lightning ridge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2000

    A Small Jewel of a Book

    Pobby and Dingan is a rough cut jewel of a book that you will pick up and turn over and over again in your memory after reading it. The story concerns the world of children, a boy and his sister living in an Australian opal mining town, but takes you well beyond that particular time and place. This one is a small treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1