Customer Reviews for

The Poet

Average Rating 4.5
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The Poet

I am reading all of Michael Connelly's books in order, which is the best way to read his novels, and The Poet is his fifth book and first to not have his famous character, Harry Bosch. The Poet is narrated by crime reporter Jack McEvoy, a character just as great as Bos...
I am reading all of Michael Connelly's books in order, which is the best way to read his novels, and The Poet is his fifth book and first to not have his famous character, Harry Bosch. The Poet is narrated by crime reporter Jack McEvoy, a character just as great as Bosch. I never reveal plot in my reviews but I will say this, each time I read a Connelly novel, I realize why he is my favorite mystery writer. His plots keep me up all night wanting to read more. The Poet is a major highlight in Connelly's career.

posted by McCarthy92 on July 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite.

I am having a hard time getting into this one. I usually love Michael Connelly, but this is not my favorite of his. About halfway through, so hopefully it will pick up...

posted by heyjude444 on April 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Poet

    I am reading all of Michael Connelly's books in order, which is the best way to read his novels, and The Poet is his fifth book and first to not have his famous character, Harry Bosch. The Poet is narrated by crime reporter Jack McEvoy, a character just as great as Bosch. I never reveal plot in my reviews but I will say this, each time I read a Connelly novel, I realize why he is my favorite mystery writer. His plots keep me up all night wanting to read more. The Poet is a major highlight in Connelly's career.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    Michael Connelly has become one of my favorite writers. His crime novels are all edge of your seat thrilling. The Poet was no exception. I loved his new character Jack McEvoy and I enjoyed the insightful look inside journalists. Connelly really does keep you guessing. As soon as you think you have it figured out, he unveils another fact that has you questioning what really is going on. I highly recommend this for all Connelly fans and for those who have not read a book of his yet. This is a great one to start with.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding

    I've been reading Connelly's books in order, obviously the Bosch series primarily. Love his writing and love that series, and almost skipped over The Poet. I'm so glad I bought and read it. Might actually be my favorite Connelly book to date and I've read 8 or 9 of his works thus far. Such a great story, loaded with twists and turns and his characters are very real. In fact, a couple of the characters that we find unlikeable, they come across as intriguing and have the reader wanting to learn more and more about what makes them tick. The plot is superior, and the developments are often quick and shocking.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Great Book

    I lfell in love with Michael Connelly's books after reading The Lincoln Lawyer. I really like the Mickey Haller series but have read all of them and most of the Harry Bosch series. This book was neither and definitely not a disappoinment. So I thought I'd give this book a try and once again, another great book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent plot, well written, a must read!

    The Poet had me jumping out of my seat...reporter turned investigater Jack McEvoy was shattered when his twin brother committed suicide. His probing into the death sent him to the F.B.I. with proof that his brother was the victim of a serial killer. It's a twisted path to the truth. I am going to be reading more of Connelly's McEvoy series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Okay, so we all love Harry Bosch. So do I. So what else is new?

    Okay, so we all love Harry Bosch. So do I. So what else is new? No Harry Bosch here though. Sorry. But if you haven't read THE POET, you don't know what you're missing. Not all great mysteries require Harry Bosch. They just require Michael Connelly. THE POET is superb. You'll have a very hard time putting it down once you start it. And the ending is a big surprise. Check it out - you'll be glad you did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    Not my favorite.

    I am having a hard time getting into this one. I usually love Michael Connelly, but this is not my favorite of his. About halfway through, so hopefully it will pick up...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2014

    Worth the wait, and yet very different from Harry Bosch series

    In the beginning, I didn't even think Michael Connelly wrote this book. It was very, very different from his "Harry" books. But I stuck with it, and it was most enjoyable. Would recommend to all who appreciate Connelly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Good read

    Another good book, different from the bosch series but still very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    The book moves along, maintaining a good level of suspense.  A g

    The book moves along, maintaining a good level of suspense.  A good work for this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Poetic Justice

    Connelly gives you some twists, a little too obvious at times, but keeps you turning or clicking the pages. Classic Connelly. nice, easy suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    When Jack McEvoy, a reporter, learns that his brother committed

    When Jack McEvoy, a reporter, learns that his brother committed suicide he knew something didn't add up. McEvoy's brother was a cop and the police blame his suicide on a case that was bothering him. McEvoy decides to write a story about his brother's death and uncovers some things that just didn't make sense. McEvoy finds similar cases in other cities and goes to the FBI to get more information from their database of cop suicides. He manages to get pulled in to an FBI investigation after he convinces them that there's a serial killer on the loose killing cops and making it look like a suicide. Each cop that they find to fit the pattern leaves behind a line from Edgar Allan Poe as their suicide note, which gives the serial killer the name of 'The Poet'. They follow the leads from different parts of the city and soon get a suspect in sight.

    It was a terrific book. The character development in this story is quite in depth as all of the characters in Connelly's books are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    The poet

    As usual, Michael did it again wish he would write faster

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Read and re read Read and re-read!

    My favorite book of all time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Thank you

    Thank you for a great read. I was left wanting the psych aspects of Eidolon/the Poet and how he 'became.' Feels like I missed something but it's my need to have it all wrapped up in a nice, neat bow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Nook Nook

    What am I rating!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    The best Michael Connelly book I have read so far.

    The best plot line of all his books, if read in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Poet

    As birds fly to the sky,
    Destruction is nigh;
    None can tell,
    But just as well;
    All will fall,
    Death will call;
    None will be left,
    Just the presence of death;
    Mankinds own destruction.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as The Scarecrow

    I liked the Scarecrow better than the Poet; possibly because Peter Giles is a much better performer than Buck Schirner he was very blah). The hero Jack McEvoy, with Rocky Mountain News, a crime-beat reporter has just learned his twin brother-Denver homicide detective has killed himself (or so it appears). But his research leads him to suspect a serial killer is at work--a devious murderer who's killing cops and leaving a trail of poetic clues. It's the news story of a lifetime, if he can get the story without losing his life. The serial murderer -a devious cop killer who is leaving a coast to coast trial of suicide notes drawn from the poems of Edgar Allen Poe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Connelly is genious Connelly is genious

    Masterful. Spellbinding

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11