Customer Reviews for

Point of Retreat (Slammed Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 574 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(426)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

BUTTERFLYING BRILLIANT!

Point of Retreat is equally intense and just as powerful as its predecessor Slammed. This is the only book I've ever read that had me bawling and laughing out loud at the same time. Like the first book in this sequel, Slammed, Point of Retreat had me bawling my eye's ou...
Point of Retreat is equally intense and just as powerful as its predecessor Slammed. This is the only book I've ever read that had me bawling and laughing out loud at the same time. Like the first book in this sequel, Slammed, Point of Retreat had me bawling my eye's out and took me on an intense emotional journey about family, friendship, life and love. This book seriously needs to come with a disclaimer warning readers to be ready to cry a lot! (It's really hard to get through a book when your tears are flooding your eye's chapter after chapter). The fact that Point of Retreat is well written and because it made such an impact on me, I would give it well over 5 stars.

posted by Miss_Sonya on May 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good,not slammed good

This was good, but not as good as Slammed. Not thrilled with the ending, too abrupt after waiting so long to see what happens. This one is told from the guys' point of view, I think I prefer Lake telling the story.

posted by 4108558 on July 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Great book

    Loved this book. I couldn't put it down. What a wonderful love story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    As good as I hoped it would be

    I read it in a few hours and much like the first, I cried I laughed and got angry with the characters. Very predictable but a good read, it was like watching a movie in my head. Loved all the chatacters! And as another reviewer wrote, I would gladly buy a third if the author decided to write it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Good

    I loved both books in this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    really good

    i would give it 4 1/2 stars good second book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Point of Retreat is the second book in the Slammed series. I did

    Point of Retreat is the second book in the Slammed series. I did not enjoy Point of Retreat as much I enjoyed Slammed #1 but it was still good. I gave it 3 1/2 stars but rounded up to 4. Once a character from Will's past enters the story, it was pretty predictable how this story was going to flow. Witnessing the problems that arose in Will and Lake's relationship was so frustrating! The only plus sides for me as a reader were the pieces of advice gifted to Will and Lake, as well as Kel, Cauder, and Kiersten's fun additions to the story. Just as in Slammed #1, there is a major plot turn in Point of Retreat that added emotional drama and suspense to the story. I have to admit I was very surprised by this unexpected event and I struggled as I tried to predict how the end might turn out. Note: This book is written in Will's point of view.

    My favorite quote:
    “Sometimes things happen in life that you didn’t plan for. All you can do is suck it up and start mapping out a new plan.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Having fallen in love with Slammed, I knew I had to read Point o

    Having fallen in love with Slammed, I knew I had to read Point of Retreat as soon as it came out. The story picks up a few months after Slammed and continues Lake and Will's story. Lake is struggling with the loss of her mother and the two of them are pushing on, moving forward. There are a lot of things changing in their lives and it is not always easy to be strong.

    I loved Point of Retreat but not quite as much as the first book. The characters are great, and it was still a lot of fun and sweet and emotional at the same time, but I felt something was missing from the story that had been there in the first book. I really cannot say what it was, but I did not feel as connected to the characters in this one.

    Overall, I loved this series and will be reading This Girl as well. Thank you Ms. Hoover for sharing your stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    TITLE: Point of Retreat AUTHOR: Colleen Hoover PRINT LENGTH: 215

    TITLE: Point of Retreat
    AUTHOR: Colleen Hoover
    PRINT LENGTH: 215 Pages
    MY RATING: ¿ ¿ ¿ ¿ 
    PUBLISHED: Feb 25, 2012
    LANGUAGE: English
    RATING: New Adult
    GENRE: Romance, Drama
    WARNING(S): Heartbreaking Angst, Anger Inducing Stupidity












    (I will be giving this review in two parts; 1st as I'm reading & 2nd when I finish)








    JUNE 12, 2013




    I was provided this book in return for an honest review/opinion.




    I LOVE this book so far! The dynamics between Will and Lake that have been created are just beautiful and loving. The way that they have melded the families together is amazing and believable. You can tell that Will and Lake are so in love and so HAPPY! They have it all...




    Which is why I'm less than enthused with Lake's behavior after a short time. OK, I get it, you're upset about the ex. But seriously?? - GET OVER YOURSELF! You're going to punish him for something that OBVIOUSLY Vaughn created?! Will is INNOCENT!




    (Lord, I wish I could put my gifs in here to really drive home how I feel!)




    Vaughn, you just need to go! Out! NOW! You couldn't be bothered back when the parents died, so you shouldn't be around now? OK? Good! Glad we got that out of the way!




    I'll finish reviewing once I'm done with the book and I've had some Valium and a drink. ;-)
















    ~*~*~*~ UPDATE: Finished Book 06/13/13 ~*~*~*~
















    So... I'm finished now. The rest of this review will be vocalizing what my gifs (that can't be placed here) represent.




    I have many moments where I wanted to:




    1. Scream
    2. *face palm*
    3. Throw book/Kindle across the room








    Where Lake was concerned, I spent most of the book going:




    1. What the heck if your problem?!
    2. Wanting to strangle her
    3. Stifling the urge to scream at an innocent Kindle








    What Lake's mother was incredibly wise and heartbreakingly loving:




    1. The stars will guide you
    2. You will get through your trials
    3. My guidance in the only way I know how








    Where Will was concerned, I kept going back to:




    1. DUDE! - you did nothing wrong!
    2. WHY exactly are you putting yourself through this?
    3. I want someone to love me like that!








    The resolution:




    1. Sweet
    2. Grand
    3. Romantic








    The end:




    1. Are you freaking KIDDING me?!
    2. Who was she on the phone with??
    3. At least she remembers! Thank you GOD!








    All said and done... I was put through the ringer and I FREAKING LOVED THIS BOOK!! GO! READ!! NOW!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    A Great Follow up Story to Slammed. This was another great book

    A Great Follow up Story to Slammed.

    This was another great book from Colleen Hoover.  It started off a little slow for me (unlike Slammed), but as soon as a I hit chapter 4 I was hooked on the story.  It had a few twists that I wasn't expected.  Colleen always seems to have those in her books & that's what I love.  I definitely recommend reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Point of Retreat continues Will and Layken's story as begun in S

    Point of Retreat continues Will and Layken's story as begun in Slammed, this time from Will's point of view. In some ways, I actually liked this one more--probably because all along I've been able to identify more with Will's character than with Layken's. In terms of main conflict, though, book one's is definitely better. The stumbling block that Lake and Will encounter in Point of Retreat is more of a misunderstanding/should have had a decent conversation about the topic kind of problem, and again, I thought it really highlighted the fact that Layken is behind Will as far as maturity is concerned. Still, though, I did enjoy the book and it left me anxious to read book three, This Girl, especially when I found out that it too would be from Will's POV.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have enjoyed all three books I have read from this author.  I

    I have enjoyed all three books I have read from this author.  I blew through "Slammed" in a day and was so excited when I found out that Lake and Will's story was getting a sequel.  A great ending to the entire story.  Lots of tears, but well worth every one.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Please read

    Good sequel...great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Amazing

    Now i not a fan of 1st pov but, freaking amazing. This stoy was heatfelt charaters were well developed and the poetry was wonderful. Will. Damn! is a dream. Emotional but manly. Strong. Lake. She a fighter lover mother sister she wears every hat with strenght. Beatiful person. Only down side is the Avett band is not the only one whom lyrics carry deep meaning. Nonetheless it was agreat read as well as Slammed and hopeless. If you want to read a similar but with story but with sex. Read the secreat of mica and elle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Cover

    4.5 Stars
    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “Be prepared…bumpy and teary ride ahead! And you’ll love and gobble up every second of it!” ~Under the Covers

    Oh and the plot thickens. I fell in love with Will and Layken in Slammed. I also fell in love with the actual slamming. POINT OF RETREAT is the continuation of their romance and story after the hard events at the end of SLAMMED.

    However, where most of SLAMMED was deeply emotional and angsty, this book was not as much. There was a lot of happy dating, and funny moments. It definitely felt like a lighter read and I think I read this pretty fast as well. But it’s not all happy joy joy, there is some drama with the addition of Will’s ex girlfriend (whom I just wanted to punch most of the time). This was just another obstacle they had to overcome but it had to be done to show how strong their love really is.

    The dynamics between Will and Layken are still the main draw of the story and the interactions with their friends and brothers are also engaging. I loved the concept of their point of retreat and how far they could go so they wouldn’t go all the way.

    I loved the new character additions, they were butterflying awesome! Again, Colleen Hoover proves that her writing can draw in the reader to a story so much that you won’t be able to put this down.

    And of course, as I’ve come to expect with her books, this one was another tearjerker. But not until close to the end when all hell breaks loose, literally. Be prepared…bumpy and teary ride ahead! And you’ll love and gobble up every second of it!

    I can’t wait to feed my addiction with more of master storyteller, Colleen Hoover!

    Favorite quotes:

    “I’ve learned something about my heart.

    It can break.
    It can be ripped apart.
    It can harden and freeze.
    It can stop. Completely.
    It can shatter into a million pieces.
    It can explode.
    It can die. “

    “The only thing that made it start beating again? The moment you opened your eyes.”

    “If I were a carpenter, I would build you a window to my soul. But I would leave that window shut and locked, so that every time you tried to look through it all you would see is your own reflection. You would see that my soul is a reflection of you.”

    “I love being with you so bad
    When we aren’t together, I miss you so bad
    One of these days I’m going to marry you so bad
    and it’ll be
    so
    so
    good.”

    Purchase Links: Amazon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Good Read

    After reading the first there was still so many emotions mixed up in it that I was grateful that this book was out. It was overwhelmingly crazy in this one but in a good way. You cant help but be sucked up in the drama of what's going on between Will and Layken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Loved it!

    Sequel to the novel "Slammed" I was very happy to see the story of Will and Lake continue on. I was somewhat disappointed in how petty some of the parts seemed, but overall I really enjoyed seeing what happened next in their lives!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    This Grwat Great book Grest .at Great seriers

    Very refreshing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    Loved the characters. Kiersten is wonderful! It's funny that she

    Loved the characters. Kiersten is wonderful! It's funny that she says all of the things that the adults really think. I love the things that Julia did as well, like the vase with the stars. Such a great idea! I just really loved the story, but again, I was left wanting more. It was wayyy too short!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Deep!

    Deep!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    towards the end I just wanted,you know, it to happen but it was

    towards the end I just wanted,you know, it to happen but it was worth the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5