Customer Reviews for

Poison

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Poison is an adorable novel with a lot of heart and packed full

    Poison is an adorable novel with a lot of heart and packed full of action.  Did I mention there is a cute little pig too?  I love it!
    I can appreciate Rosie, our sweet piglet, because I used to have a baby pig when I was younger.  And yes they are very smart animals.  Of course, mine couldn't find people but it did have some other traits.    So yes I was definitely sold on Rosie.  
    Poison reminds me of a fairy tale-yes, I know Kyra is a poison expert and trained killer-but besides those points, everything has the makings of it being a great fairy tale.   I, for one, enjoy the female heroine to be tough, smart, and likable.  
    Poison is simply a fun book to read, whether you be eight years old or thirty something or another (hehehehe).  The plot line isn't very heavy but it has the feel of a good vs. evil outline, with the hero trying to save the kingdom from impending doom.  
    The characters aren't so full of angst, but they do have this "coming to terms" with their past, if you will, that helps us enjoy the fact that they are not very complex.  But remember it is a children's fiction, so I don't fault it for the lack of complexity.  
    But don't think this book is a bore; it is quite the opposite.  It has this huge twist that definitely made me say out loud, " What the fudge sundae?"  
    I really truly loved this story.  It was such a fun read that went by very fast.  Too fast. 
    Ms. Zinn, Rest in Peace, has created a wonderful story that will live forever delighting children and grown ups, alike with the love and friendship it offers in its pages.  
    Five hearts indeed. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    3 adjectives that describe this book: fun, easy-to-read, whimsic

    3 adjectives that describe this book: fun, easy-to-read, whimsical

    Poison is a super fun read. It fully deserves that wonderful, eye-catching cover. The main characters are unique, fun, and well-developed. At first I thought Poison was going to be fairly typical - a fantasy novel about a girl who kicks some butt. Basically a simpler version of Kristin Cashore's Graceling, just with less intense and without the raciness. Luckily, I was wrong. Bridget Zinn has created a story that stands on it's own.

    While Kyra is indeed a main character who can disable her assailants in moments, she is much different than other popular female protagonists in recent YA fantasy. Kyra is conflicted about her talents, actively seeking to ignore some of her more deadly potential. Yet, she isn't afraid to defend herself and her kingdom from the richly populated world of Poison. Most uniquely, though, Kyra is funny. She finds herself in ridiculous situations (likes crossing a river in lacy underwear with a pig on her head). Also, the rapport between she and Fred, her traveling companion, was chock-full of witty barbs at one another. I have never chuckled so much in a fantasy adventure.

    The humor, however, doesn't take away from the intense adventuring, questing, and intrigue of the story. Poison is a fun, quick read, even though the lengthy and too-frequent flashbacks made me impatient. There are goblins, witches, invisibility spells, fun disguises, and witty exchanges among the characters. It will certainly keep you wanting to read more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Refreshling Sweet

    I am in love with this charming little book. It's fantasy, romance, comedy and mystery all in one. I would've finished it all in one sitting if the other duties of life hadn't needed to butt in from time to time. If you are in need of a light and fun fantasy read, you need to own this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    First and Foremost I want to take a minute to honor the author t

    First and Foremost I want to take a minute to honor the author that wrote this book and passed away before it was released. Your memory will live on!



    This book was VERY HARD for me to rate and review! While it was a very adorable read and had very cute parts in it, it was a big let down. The reason I say that is because I thought it was going to be a dark twist type of fairytale. But it wasn't, it was actually the totally opposite. While that's okay, I probably would of read it anyway. But it was a disappointment when I started to read it and it became more of a lighthearted, sweet fairytale mix! Not what I was expecting!


    Okay, Now that being said, after I got over the fact that it was not the book I thought it was, I decided to read it anyway because I bought the book and I wanted to honor the author, plus it wasn't a bad start to a book!



    This book was an enjoyable light read. Very Cute and age appropriate for kids probably over 12. It had fun parts that made the story come alive on different levels then I'm use to! And one of those parts was when a cute little pig named Rosie came into the picture. She was a tracker pig...lol! Yeah, you heard it right! You put a basket around Rosie's neck, with an item of the person your trying to find and she'll lead you right to them! Such a cute little piggy.


    Okay, Here's the Plot:


    A potioner named Kyra or Kitty as they call her is on the mission to save their kingdom. She seen what the future holds if not alerted, but the bad part about it is that she has to be the one to change the future! But what Kara has to do is far more then she would of ever of imagined. She has to kill the princess to stop her vision from coming true! But that's not the worst part of it. The worst part of it is that the Princess she has to kill isn't just any princess, she's her best friend the Princess and soon to be queen of their kingdom!


    How can Kara kill her best friend, really she's her only friend! But if she doesn't their kingdom will turn evil! How can Kara do nothing when she knows it is her that must stop the princess and save the kingdom from evil taking it over! She can't! So that's when Kara's journey starts!




    When the book starts off it's after she tried to kill the princess and failed! She is a trained potioner and NEVER misses her poison darts from their targets! But she misses for the first time ever! And now she's a fugitive on the run from the Queens guards, while also searching for the princess again to get the next poison dart right! She meets a very interesting man on her journeys that just keeps popping up everywhere Kara goes. Who is he and what does he want??? And will Kara be able to stop the princess in time to save their kingdom or will the princess evade Kara and succeed in destroying the kingdom??? Well if you want those answers and more then you'll have to read and find out!



    This was a very different type of book then I'm use to, but still very enjoyable. If you like sweet, cute fairytales then this is for you! Overall, I finally decided that I would give this book a 4 stars rating!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    5/5 stars

    5/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    One of my favorites

    It has beautiful charecters, plot, and humor. You just have to read it! Altogether close to perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Good

    It is very good a littel confusing in tbe begging but explans itself out in the end Alot of suprises in ot but its really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was immediately drawn to this book. I've noticed that lately

    I was immediately drawn to this book. I've noticed that lately I've gravitated towards young adult fantasy and this fit the bill perfectly! The beginning was awesome, the middle a little rough, and the end rounded it out nicely.

    I really enjoyed Kyra. Her brilliance in potion making is evident very quickly and I loved learning her story. Her situation is interesting considering she's on the run for trying to kill the princess, who happened to be her best friend. We don't start to get the bits and pieces to this story until further in the novel. By that point, I couldn't imagine Kyra hurting anybody. In Krya's quest to finish the job, we learn about the devastating visions that lead to this point. Krya begins to question what might really be happening in her kingdom. And it's definitely not the way she thought it was.

    We get some great secondary characters in this novel. Fred was not what I was expecting. He was quirky and seemed to have a knack for getting on Krya's nerves, but at the same time made her see herself and her surroundings much clearer. The little pig steals the story without ever meaning too. To top it off there are some twists that I wasn't expecting (and a couple that were easy to figure out) that brought the story to a new level.

    All and all, the book was just fun. It had a little bit of everything in it and was a quick read.

    *I would definitely read this author again. Sadly, upon trying to figure out if there was an intended sequel for this book, I learned that the author has passed away. It was her dream to published! Almost 4 years to the day of receiving the diagnosis of colon cancer, her book was published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I want to thank Netgalley and Disney/Hyperion for providing me w

    I want to thank Netgalley and Disney/Hyperion for providing me with a copy of this book to read and give an honest review. Receiving this book for free has in no way influenced my opinion or review.




    Blurb from Goodreads:
    Sixteen-year-old Kyra, a highly-skilled potions master, is the only one who knows her kingdom is on the verge of destruction—which means she’s the only one who can save it. Faced with no other choice, Kyra decides to do what she does best: poison the kingdom’s future ruler, who also happens to be her former best friend.
    But, for the first time ever, her poisoned dart . . . misses.
    Now a fugitive instead of a hero, Kyra is caught in a game of hide-and-seek with the king’s army and her potioner ex-boyfriend, Hal. At least she’s not alone. She’s armed with her vital potions, a too-cute pig, and Fred, the charming adventurer she can’t stop thinking about. Kyra is determined to get herself a second chance (at murder), but will she b
    Kyra is not your typical murderer, and she’s certainly no damsel-in-distress—she’s the lovable and quick-witted hero of this romantic novel that has all the right ingredients to make teen girls swoon.




    When I first saw the cover of this book, I instantly knew that I had to read it. It's just so gorgeous. It exudes fantasy, which I have always been drawn to.




    I really loved Kyra's character. There was nothing typical teenager about her. She was honest and strong. She knew what she wanted, what she needed to do and how she needed to do it. She was a kick butt heroine for sure.
    And Fred, oh Fred. He's awesome. He's sweet and funny, sexy and swoon worthy. It was great to watch his banter with Kyra. And I loved how he had his nick name for her, Kitten. He's goofy and certainly not your typical hero.
    The bad guys, well, they were typical of bad guys. So not much to say about them. But I think my favorite character might just have been the cute little pig, Rosie!




    The story was certainly a cute fairy tale. It was creative and funny while keeping with the normal adventure you see in such fantasy worlds. I really loved Zinn's writing. It flows easily and is a light read. I felt it really would be geared better to a younger audience, despite the age of the characters. More of a middle grade read than young adult. I felt like there were certainly predictable parts, but at the same time there were twists I couldn't see coming.




    All in all I enjoyed this book and was saddened to learn that the author had passed prior to being able to see the full impact her work would have had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Quirky and Delightful!  This is a bitter sweet review because my

    Quirky and Delightful! 
    This is a bitter sweet review because my boys and I desperately want more books by Bridget Zinn and it hurts my heart to know we can't have them. POISON was a delight--so different than everything else on the shelves--from it's cover, to it's plot, all the way down to it's delightfully quirky cast of characters. There are a million heartfelt reasons why you should buy and read this book, but ultimately you shouldn't miss it, because it's just that good. Thank you, Bridget. <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Love it

    This book is so hard to put down. I reeeely recomemd reading it. Everybody asks me if they can read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I've wanted to read POISON since I first saw the book deal write

    I've wanted to read POISON since I first saw the book deal write-up and have had my eye on it ever since. It's been one of my highly-anticipated titles, and I was sad when the publication date pushed from 2012 to 2013.  At the time, I hadn't realized that author Bridget Zinn had passed away.  I'm actually glad I didn't know until after I read the book because my first thought upon finishing was that I was looking forward to more books in the future.  What a promising debut novel!  I was shattered when I heard that it wasn't to be.  I truly enjoyed reading POISON and hope that this amazing book community embraces it and shares the title through Word of Mouth with friends, co-workers, students...anyone and everyone.  This book deserves to be read by fantasy lovers everywhere!




    Kyra has studied potions for years, and is especially good at making poisons.  Before the book begins, she attempts to assassinate her former best friend--the kingdom's princess.  It's the one and only time her poisoned dart misses its mark.  Now, Kyra is a fugitive on the run.  Only she knows that if the princess isn't killed, the kingdom will be destroyed.  But how can Kyra seek out the princess and assassinate her if the army knows what she looks like?  Together with the help of a tracking piglet,Rosie, and a fellow traveler, Fred, Kyra will attempt to save her kingdom...even if it means sacrificing herself in the process.




    While POISON isn't especially deep, it's fun.  It's a little too mature to be middle-grade, but probably falls into the tween category even though it's officially catalogued as a teen title. The novel starts off slowly, but quickly picks up speed, especially as revelations come forward and explain the events leading up to the start of the story.  There's adventure, excitement, and romance; everything you could want in a book.  And Rosie!  I admit that I was a little wary of the pig element but after reading POISON, I have to say:  I want a Rosie in my life!  She's like a little bloodhound as she tracks the princess' scent with her nose.  Rosie stole the show whenever she made an appearance.  Zinn did a good job developing her characters and making you feel for them.  Everyone has a backstory, even villains, and it was refreshing to see.  I really found myself rooting for Kyra, too.  I really grew to love her character throughout the book.  And Fred!  It was refreshing to see a male love interest who doesn't fit any of the tropes found in too many of today's YA novels.  He was a sweetheart, and I enjoyed the pace and rhythm of his scenes with Kyra. The writing is fresh and humorous, easy to fall into.  Even some of the surprise twists remain just that--a surprise.  For readers such as myself who often discover plot secrets too early, it's always exciting to find that element of surprise.




    If you're look for a light-hearted, fun-filled, action-packed adventure, grab your favorite bloodhound piglet (Okay, I suppose a cat/dog/ferret/etc. will do...), curl up with your favorite blanket, and embrace the magic of POISON.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If there are two things that create and awesome storyline it¿s f

    If there are two things that create and awesome storyline it’s fantasy and a badass heroine. Luckily for all of us, the novel Poison by author Bridget Zinn is set in a fantasy kingdom and has Kyra a witty, intelligent and deadly main character who can give any guy a run for his money. Right from the start I was in love with Poison and found myself getting lost in the plot.

    Poison follows the life of main character Kyra the potions master and an almost-assassin who tried to kill the princess of her kingdom. The same princess who was also Kyra’s best friend. After throwing a poison dart at the princess Kyra misses her target for the first time ever and is on the run from soldiers and her ex-fiancée. Kyra won’t make the same mistake again. Kyra must kill princess Ariana before Ariana gets married and poisons the land and ruins the lives of everybody in the kingdom. Going to the King of Criminals for help, Kyra sets off on her journey with a magical pig named Rosie and meets a handsome young man named Fred (after he saves her life and her pig). However as Kyra grows closer and closer to her shot at killing the princess again, she comes across a discovery that changes everything she ever believed about her mission and learns that something twisted is living in the castle under the guise of Ariana.

    The novel has a really strong start, I’ve never read any stories where the main character just tried to kill her best friend. Mostly in YA best friends don’t kill best friends, so it was nice for the change of relationships. At first I was a bit confused though because of the fact that it made no sense for her to randomly just kill the princess. It took a few chapters, but finally the novel explained that Kyra has to kill Ariana because if she doesn’t Ariana will destroy the kingdom and cause everything living to go straight to oblivion. Right from the opening chapter I did get the feeling of danger being at every corner and how Kyra is constantly on high alert for somebody who might recognize her, I loved all that suspense and it just kept on building and building.

    Kyra also has three companions who help her out during her adventure. These three companions are:  Rosie the pig, Fred and Ariana herself. I won’t say anything else about Ariana because spoilers, but I will talk about Rosie and Fred. First of all, I found Rosie absolutely adorable. I mean come on (“Awww!”), a little pig? How cute. Sure I thought it was a little silly that a badass main character would have a pig helping her track the princess but I loved the irony and the pet-like way that Kyra would treat Rosie. As for Fred, I was absolutely falling in love with him. He made my heart melt and he had me going through heartbreak with Kyra. The romance in this novel is the type that left me feeling all gushy and slowly falling with Kyra. The writing definitely toyed with my emotions and had me screaming at Fred to just fall in love with Kyra already and save her from thinking that he didn’t feel anything for her.

    I liked all of the plot twists in Poison, even if some of them just came out of nowhere and left my head spinning. I liked never really knowing anything about the novel and all the surprises that came with reading. I just think that it’s such a shame that the author passed away so soon when Poison has some plot holes that I wish I could find more information about, there is so much room for a potential sequel. Nonetheless as a stand-alone novel I really enjoyed Poison. I’d recommend Poison to fans of the Gypsy King, Throne of Glass and readers who love the fantasy genre and want to get lost in a whole other world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Disney Book Group and Netgalley.)
    16-year-old Kyra is on the run. After a failed assassination attempt on the princess and future queen of the kingdom, she’s been hiding out in the woods, and searching… for the princess, so that she can try to kill her again!

    Kyra and Princess Arianna have been best friends since they were 12 years old, and Kyra never thought that a day would come when she would try to kill her, but Kyra has her reasons, even if everyone now thinks her a traitor.

    Asking a man who hates her for help, following a small pig with a basket around its neck, and trying to evade the friendly traveller Fred with his wolf-like dog, Kyra must try to find and off the Princess, before her worse nightmares come true.
    Where is Princess Arianna though? Why must Kyra kill her? And will she succeed?


    I really enjoyed this book, it was fun and fresh and a great read.

    Kyra was such a strong character. Totally focused on what she needed to do, and why she needed to do it, even when it was something that she never thought she would do in a million years. Her Poisons knowledge was formidable, and I loved how she also knew just how to circumvent the effects of a poison too, as well as how to use them to her own advantage.

    I loved the banter between Kyra and Fred and how easy it was. I liked the friendship/ romance between these pair and found them to be really sweet together, I also have to say that I loved Rosie the pig! I have always wanted a pig as a pet and now I want one even more!

    This book at times was a little like a fairy-tale, but I actually liked it more than the average fairy-tale! I loved the storyline, and totally didn’t see those little twists at the end coming!
    I really enjoyed this book, and I’d say people of all ages would appreciate this one, with just a little spark of magic and mischief, this one is a keeper!
    8 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1