Customer Reviews for

Poison: A Novel

Average Rating 5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love reading Jordyn Redwood¿s novels. They are steeped in susp

    I love reading Jordyn Redwood’s novels. They are steeped in suspense and keep me turning pages. The plot is well written in this book by Redwood, with plenty of twists and turns. She writes flawless characterizations—you feel you’re alongside them every step of the way. It was difficult to find a stopping point where I could make myself put down the book to read again later. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    This story draws you in and doesn't let go until you reach the e

    This story draws you in and doesn't let go until you reach the end. I read it in less than two days. What a thrilling ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    I loved it. But first I had to yank it out of the hands of my br

    I loved it. But first I had to yank it out of the hands of my brother and my mother who got to it first. They couldn’t put it down either, and I was forced to wait. Poison by Jordyn Redwood is everything I want in a fast-paced police medical thriller from a Christian viewpoint. I cannot recommend this novel enough--it deserves more than 5 stars.

    There is a gentle romance between the two main characters, Keelyn and Swat-team member, Lee, that you hope and pray will survive the trauma of Poison. I’ve seen others put out the warning not to read this book at bedtime---I concur. You’ll stay up way too late, reading. The heroes and the villains are so real, so believable. The emotions are true, and the story is totally plausible but you scratch your head wondering how the author came up with such an exciting, unusual plot line.

    If you like good medical/police thrillers then I highly recommend this Book 2 in Redwood’s trilogy Bloodline. Read the first one too, it’s equally as great---Proof.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Poison ¿ book 2 of the Bloodline Trilogy ¿ gets right in to the

    Poison – book 2 of the Bloodline Trilogy – gets right in to the action and doesn’t stop! With a few twists on the way, you’ll enjoy the ride!  I definitely would suggest starting with the first book of the series, Proof. That may be obvious since it was written as a trilogy, however I don’t want anyone to miss the full story! Now I am looking forward to Peril, the finale of the Bloodline Trilogy.




    In Poison, Keelyn is engaged and trying to move on from the horrible event of her past. However, her stepfather’s “hallucination” called Lucent shows up in the flesh! Now Keelyn is responsible for her niece and has no idea where her sister Raven is, while people keep dying who were associated with that fateful day. Also Lee, her finance, seems to be keeping secrets.




    The author Jordyn Redwood has “specialized in critical care and emergency nursing for nearly two decades”. I thought that was an interesting piece of information given about the author, because if they’ve experience something, maybe they’ll bring the readers into the situation clearer or from an unique angle. Her story and action was great but I didn’t seem to “know” the characters…until towards the end, which is actually when secrets got told and hard choices where made… it could have been done on purpose. If so, that was an interesting way to write a story! But I still would like to know the characters and care about them and feel their emotions through the book.






    Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from Kregel Publications in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Bobbie Grob for Readers' Favorite Poison by Jordyn

    Reviewed by Bobbie Grob for Readers' Favorite

    Poison by Jordyn Redwood follows Keelyn Samuels as she tries to create a future for herself after a brutal and traumatic event tore her family apart. She is ready to lay her past to rest and start a life with her fiancé, Lee Watson, but before she can do that, she discovers that her past is not quite ready to be laid to rest. As she grapples with family members – some of whom she has never met – therapists, and law enforcement officials, she begins to uncover some dark truths that have the power to unravel not only the life she wants to build, but her very faith in God as well. The twists and turns of this suspenseful tale will keep you guessing until the final pages.

    I love a good page-turner, and I could not turn the pages of Poison by Jordyn Redwood fast enough. It is a thrilling and suspenseful book that held my attention right down to the final word. I accepted this book without realizing that it was the second one in a trilogy, but even so, the book was able to stand alone just fine.The characters are well-developed and believable, and the themes of this book – family, revenge, and Christianity – meld well together. The descriptions are exquisite as well, and I’ll definitely be picking up the first and third books in the trilogy.  As a side note, there is a large arachnid presence in this story, so I would not recommend this book to anyone with arachnophobia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    I thought that I loved Jordyn Redwood's debut novel, but if it's

    I thought that I loved Jordyn Redwood's debut novel, but if it's possible, I loved her latest release, Poison, even more! So much happens—and so quickly—that I could barely put it down to do things like sleep and go to work. But seriously, who needs sleep when you can read, right?!

    Poison hooked me from the very start. The suspense is incredibly fast-paced and intense. (Don't read it before bed ... unless you plan to sleep with the lights on!) I really liked Keelyn. She was easy to like and I wanted things to work out for her. And Lee was a true hero. Their relationship was interesting and different than many of the relationships in other books. They both had so much baggage from the past, and my head was literally spinning trying to figure out if they were going to be able to overcome all the tragedies that they had faced.

    The one downside for me was that this story is pretty closely linked with the previous book in the series (the original tragedy with Keelyn's father actually happens in Proof). Since it's been several months since I've read it, it took me a little while for everything to click.

    Seriously, though, Poison was fantastic ... a solid 5 stars! There are very few suspense novels that totally catch me off-guard as to how things will be resolved, but Poison did so masterfully. I'm highly anticipating the final book in this trilogy. If you're a fan of suspense, Redwood is a name to remember. I highly recommend the Bloodline Trilogy! [5 stars]

    I received a free copy of this book from Kregel Publications in exchange for my fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    My first introduction to Jordyn Redwood came through Readers¿ Fa

    My first introduction to Jordyn Redwood came through Readers’ Favorites. Her first book, Proof, was the book I reviewed. What an introduction!

    Jordyn brings us up to speed five years later in her second book, Poison. I found Poison to be just as suspenseful, medically interesting, abounding with superior multiple twists intertwined into the plots, and fast-paced action, building angst within me, keeping me reading well into the night. If you’ve read Proof, you will once again meet some of same characters, with new ones that are just as real and flawed. If you haven’t, I would strongly advise you to check that one out first.

    Secrets abound that stymie relationships and cause issues with the current investigations. Trust and honesty, along with dysfunctional family backgrounds, brings more trauma to the scenes that pique your interest. For you see, John Samuel’s hallucination, Lucent, has appeared as a real person. How can that be? That’s just part of the gist of the story! Intriguing! Add murder, kidnapping, and poisonous spiders, and you will be captivated by all the evil that man can imagine to ‘gain solace.’ About the time you think you have the murderer figured out and why, another twist changes your whole thought processing and analysis.

    Jordyn has become one of my favorite medical mystery writers. Pick up her books and get ready for a ride you’ve never been on before!

    This book was provided by the author through Kregel Publications in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was received for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    I must admit that I did get mad while reading this book. Charac


    I must admit that I did get mad while reading this book. Characters, like people, sometimes make horrible choices that lead them down paths you just don't want to see them go. I was burdened, much like I would be if I were watching a friend spiral toward destruction. But I was completely drawn into the book; it engaged me from page one until the very end. It was suspense at its very best, and I highly recommend that you read this book.




    I received a copy of this book from the publisher, Kregel Publications, for review purposes. All opinions rendered are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jordyn Redwood in her new book, "Poison" Book Two in t

    Jordyn Redwood in her new book, "Poison" Book Two in the Bloodline Trilogy series published by Kregel Publications brings us into the life of Keelyn Blake.

    From the back cover: Five years ago, Keelyn Blake's stepfather took her family hostage, raving about Lucent, a being who forced him to commit unspeakable acts. Some of the family made it out alive; the rest did not. Even Lee Watson, the best of SWAT, failed to overcome the man's delusions and end the standoff peacefully.

    Now, Lucent is back- and he's no hallucination. He has kidnapped Keelyn's niece, and although Keelyn is estranged from her half-sister, Raven, she feels compelled to save what little family she has left. But Raven is nowhere to be found, and when others involved in that fateful day start dying under mysterious circumstances, Keelyn wonders if she and Lee- and their budding relationship- will surive.

    Poison follows Proof in the Bloodline trilogy with another rollercoaster plot that makes it an irresistible adventure for all suspense fiction fans.

    I have always liked body language. It is something that a person does, most times, involuntarily. If you can read body language you can learn a lot from what others are not telling you. Keelyn Blake knows how to read body language and it plays an important part of this story. There is a kidnapper who is also a serial murderer on the loose who wants to trade the life of Keelyn's niece for Keelyn's half-sister. What a dilemma! And more and more persons are beginning to die, mostly from Keelyn's past. Now it is up to her and Lee to find and stop him before he commits more murders.

    I think Jordyn Redwood is an extremely talented writer who really knows how to tell a story that will grab you and keep you flipping pages until you find out who did it. "Poison" is a very exciting book that will keep you engrossed in the characters as Ms. Redwood puts them through their paces. This is a wonderful series and I am glad I discovered Jordyn Redwood. I am so looking forward to the next book in this series

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Kregel Publications. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    I was surprised that Lucent was a real person, and a pretty nast

    I was surprised that Lucent was a real person, and a pretty nasty one. I felt for Keelyn and Raven. I kept thinking that they would make up and be best friends. Towards the end of the book I was starting to loose hope that this would happen. I liked how the author wrote about Lee. He had such guilt. His guilt is what made him who he was though. As the bodies piled up I didn't know how the book was going to end. I didn't think that there would be any survivors.
    I liked the ending and even though this is book two in a trilogy this book stood well enough on its own.
    I am giving this book a 4/5. I was given a copy to review by Kregel Blog Tour Service. All opinions are my own. Book Three is scheduled for September 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    Oh my gosh! This book is something else! This is book 2 in the B

    Oh my gosh! This book is something else! This is book 2 in the Bloodline Trilogy is a fantastic read. Suspenseful, terrifying, chilling. As my readers know, I love a book that keeps me guessing till the end and this one does! Five years ago Keelyn Blake's stepfather, a man who was being told what to do by Lucent, a creature invisible to everyone else, had taken her family hostage. Some of the family survived the ordeal while others didn't. Her stepfather had claimed Lucent made him do the horrific things he did. 




    Suddenly Lucent returns and he is isn't the product of someone's imagination. He has kidnapped Keelyn's stepsister and neice. As Keelyn tries to find him those that were involved in the standoff years ago began to die mysteriously. 




    Redwood writes a great novel, she brings characters to life and places you right there with them. I'm looking forward to the next book! 5 out of 5 stars. 




    I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If you love books that contain an element of suspense with the r

    If you love books that contain an element of suspense with the right blend of intrigue and romance, than look no further than the second book in the Bloodline Trilogy by Jordyn Redwood. Poison. Keelyn Blake is back as she attempts to come to terms with the murder of her mother and half of her siblings by the hands of her father who believed he was taking orders from someone he called Lucent.

    Only now Lucent isn't a figment of the imagination! He is real and comes to visit Keelyn as she is waiting for her financè, Lee Watson, a member of the FBI's hostage negotiation team. He tells her things that only someone who knows her deeply would know and gives her a prophetic message, he is leaving her 2-year-old niece she's never met to her care as a goodwill gesture. The only catch, she can't come looking for her sister and the mother of the child or she will die along with the child.

    Not sure just how Lucent knows this, she leaves the diner with Lee only to find a murder victim behind the wheel of the car and her 2-year-old niece in the back seat. Keelyn is an expert at reading people's body language and uses that talent to help her find the missing pieces of the puzzle to find her sister before it's too late. The only problem is the body language her fiancè is putting off shows he's hiding something from her, and soon the body count begins to climb as those that were a part of that fateful day when her family was murdered all begin to die from an unexplained cause. Will Keelyn be next or will she be able to locate her sister in time before the next person dies?

    I received Poison by Jordyn Redwood compliments of Kregel Publications for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable one. Having read the first book quite some time ago, I found it's not necessary to have read Proof before picking this one up because Jordyn captures so much of what had happened as a recap in the lives of Keelyn and Lee Watson. It is chilling to think that someone would go to the lengths that they do in this book as a method of revenge. This is not the series for everyone as it does contain references to the violence that has brought Keelyn where she is at today in her life. I did find the research into the body language very interesting and loved seeing Keelyn use that in her day to day dealings both in her personal life and in helping others in her volunteer work. I rate this one a 4 out of 5 and definitely loved the fast paced this novel moved at in comparison to her first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    Wholeheartedly, I believe Jordyn Redwood is the up and coming su

    Wholeheartedly, I believe Jordyn Redwood is the up and coming suspense writer and surpasses many seasoned writers. This is the second of the Bloodline Trilogy that I read, and I had to let the rest of my world slide while I devoured the book. I also had to read closely. The plot weaves and nothing is superfluous.

    In Poison, we meet Keelyn Blake--half her family had been murdered by her step-father at the urging of a hallucination named Lucent. Now, five years later, Lucent appears in the flesh, and those associated with the botched rescue of Keelyn's family begin to die.

    Her sister is kidnapped, and Keelyn works to save her. Throughout, nothing is as it appears.

    Redwood is superb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    I loved Proof, the first in the Bloodline Trilogy by Jordyn Redw

    I loved Proof, the first in the Bloodline Trilogy by Jordyn Redwood, but I have to admit, Poison surpassed the prequel.

    From the very first page, I fell in love with Keelyn. The reader was first introduced to her story in Proof, and there was something about the way Ms. Redwood wrote that scene which left a huge impact with me. Just as the characters in Poison described that the event changed their lives forever, I was pulled right back into the same feelings, the same unanswered questions as they were.

    Ms. Redwood is ingenious how she weaves suspense, mystery, and medical intrigue all together with a strong Biblical theme that doesn’t leave the reader feeling preached at but instead encouraged. I love how some of the characters return from Proof while we are introduced to or further understand others. The various plots were intricate; however, Ms. Redwood has the skills to fully explain motives to her readers without leaving us feeling like children being talked down to. No matter what level of knowledge the reader has regarding police work or medical drama, everyone will thoroughly enjoy these books.

    As a side note, I would encourage people to read the Acknowledgements. She shared various nonfiction books which were used in the research of the book. I have since requested one of the books from my library and will be searching out the other book to read as well.

    I love her style of writing. Her mixture of suspense, mystery with romance, and overall spiritual theme intermix to reach the reader in so many ways. I truly can’t wait to read the third novel in this series as well as anything else Ms. Redwood chooses to write. I became a fan with Proof and Poison cinched the deal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    Poison the second book in the Bloodline Trilogy by Jordyn Redwoo

    Poison the second book in the Bloodline Trilogy by Jordyn Redwood is a Christian fiction medical suspense. If you are searching for a novel with intrigue, a fast paced plot that will keep you on your toes then this is the book for you. Lucent’s return to Keelyn’s life is no hallucination this time. As she fights to stay alive and keep her half sister Raven’s daughter Sophia safe she is faced with the fact her fiancée Lee has a secret. Will it tear them apart? Lee was part of the SWAT team that brought down Keelyn’s step father John Samuals after he murdered half her family. One by one those who were instrumental in bringing John Samuals down are facing death by contracting a mysterious illness. Jordyn Redwood’s knowledge as an ER nurse is evident in her writing. As the story goes on, dishonesty, murder, and deadly illnesses is around ever corner. Who can Keelyn believe, who can she trust, and where might Raven be. If you have not read the first book in the Bloodline Trilogy, Proof then it is must read. Keelyn’s story kept me at the edge of my seat with action around every corner. I give her five stars for one of the best medical thrillers out there. If you are a fan of Candace Calverts novels then you will love Jordyn Redwoods novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    Did you read Jordyn Redwood's first book in the Bloodline Trilog

    Did you read Jordyn Redwood's first book in the Bloodline Trilogy, Proof? If you did (or not), you might recognize the name Lucent. Lucent was the presumably hallucinatory man who forced John Samuals to kill his family. The only two to survive the massacre are Keelyn and Raven, Samuals' step-daughter and daughter.

    Keelyn sits in her favorite eatery, Ruby's Diner, waiting for Lee, her fiance' and a police officer, when a stranger takes the seat at the counter beside her. He claims to be Lucent. Then he informs her he brought a child here, Raven's two-year-old daughter, to give to her and that if Keelyn tried to find him or Raven he will return and kill both her and the child.

    The stranger leaves, and Lee arrives just as another woman hurries into the diner to tell him about a car in the parking lot containing two people: the driver is apparently passed out, and a child is crying in the back seat.

    The driver turns out to be John Samuals' former psychologist. The crying child is Raven's daughter.

    As the story unfolds, deceptions, murders, and mysterious deadly illnesses abound. Keelyn doesn't know who to believe, where her sister might be, or how to keep the baby safe from someone who wants to harm her.

    I have to give this four and a half thumbs up. Just don't begin reading it at bedtime. I can tell you from experience you will be suffering from sleep deprivation the following day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Intense and gripping. From the first swallow, Poison¿s potent br

    Intense and gripping. From the first swallow, Poison’s potent brew of medical, police, and psychological thrills won’t leave your system. The only antidote is to finish the book—which you’ll do in record time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1