Customer Reviews for

Poison Ivy

Average Rating 3
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    Anticlimactic, Predictable

    Just when this book was getting warmed up, it ended. There could have been so much more accomplished with this premise, I'm sad to see the author took the easy way out and gave the expected, predictable storyline. The characters were one-dimensional, as was the plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    It ended like the author just wanted to get rid of the book. Alm

    It ended like the author just wanted to get rid of the book. Almost like she didn't even wanted to work on it any more. There could've been so much more interesting ending but she just cut the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Very Unique Novel

    Normally, I hate novels with more than three POVs, but I had no trouble differentiating between all of these characters. (I always have a hard time with Jodi Picoult trial books). They are all very unique and different and it doesn't take a long time to pick up on it.
    I loved the plot, and most of the characters, but the ending made me throw the book on the ground because it was so frustrating.
    It bothered me that Ann was such an unrealistic, selfish character. It also bothered me that Ivy was hardly depressed or upset after all this time. He coping method was interesting, but I don't really think it was enough. I also wish that there had been some type of conclusion between Ivy and the struggle with her mother. It was one of the loose strings in the book that never really tied up.
    Despite my criticisms, I really did like this book. I'm nearly 17 and I know that this book was aimed a younger range, but I still loved it the same. I really related to Marco in his frustration over the whole thing, and I thought that his thoughts were really well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    I Wish This Book Could Been Better...

    I was engrossed by the storyline and wanted to read more. Next thing I knew it ended with a half decent ending and a frown on my face. Ivy's description of her life was very touching, but her stupid complaints on the trail has got to stop! I don't want to read her constant moaning about the trail taking place! I wished the author took on a deeper perspective of Ivy. Not only Ivy moans but Ivy's lawyer, Daria moans too! I understand her phobia of public speaking, but that is what all she talks about. Reading her dialect makes myself more annoyed with the girl than I did before. Apart from the complaints of the trail taking place, the author displayed a well, but not quite there novel. I wish it ended differently. This book could been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Marta Morrison for TeensReadToo.com

    Ivy has been teased and bullied every day since the fourth grade by three very popular girls at school.

    Ms. Gold wants to have a mock trial in her government class. She decides that Ivy should sue the evil three.

    All Ivy wants is an apology and to be left alone.

    Told through eight different voices, this book is about the trial. Not only is Ivy a victim, but we also are told the story of Daria, the painfully shy student who ends up representing Ivy in the trial even though she doesn't want to.

    What I had a hard time with was the indifference of the bystanders, those who see the abuse every day but decide they can't or won't do anything about it. I also had a hard time with the teacher, who delights in seeing her students squirm.

    But I believe that bullies need to be stood up to - and not only by the victim, but by all of society. This illustrates the fact that when kids see bullying done to others they also need to stand up for what is right and not let them get away with it.

    POISON IVY, I believe, is an important book which should be read in junior high and discussed in classrooms across the United States.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Truthful

    This book really shows how power takes all. Hoping that good will conquer evil, this multi-insights story leaves readers with a, although expected, twist at the end. As for the narrow, gritty part, the writing, was just alright. I felt myself sometimes wondering when something was change or happen, showing how static this story is. So, I do wonder if static is good?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    Life isn't Fair

    High school students recollect a mock trial that was thrust upon them by an overzealous government teacher. The trial consists of one bullied girl with some very interesting coping mechanisms bringing suit against her attackers. The attackers, of course, are three popular girls who comfortably perch atop their high school¿s social hierarchy. Without saying too much, things do not go well for any of the trail's participants. But, you know what, life isn't fair, high school even more so. In response to the criticism that the book lacks resolution, so does adolescence. I'm just grateful to finally see a book that reflects all this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    Swimming against the current

    Like drummers marching to a different beat, high school is like a fish pond or bowl full of all kinds of fish. Ivy feels like a fish out of water, or at least a fish swimming to a different wave. When her teacher at school presents her with a teaching/learning situation, Ivy is cornered into a confrontation with the bullies. She would prefer to swim away, not that I could blame her. In fact, it seems that all the the fish would prefer to swim away and not acknowledge that bullying or mistreatment actually exist. The author has presented a timeless story that addresses and sums up the indifference and apathy of society, and that it is no different in high school. My conclusion, can the reader take away from this story a desire to obliterate injustice, indifference and apathy and make a difference in their own lives when faced with people who are mistreated. I enjoyed the story.<BR/>Deborah Fleet, MLS Librarian

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2006

    Disappointing and Hard To Digest

    The book begins with a letter from the author (?) to the superintendent of schools in regards to the American Government teacher who conducted a mock trial in her classroom. What follows is the recollection of the students involved. Although I read it to the end, I kept waiting for some redeeming value or point to this book. There was none. As the author simply ends the book with an excerpt from 'Ann', the leader of the Evil Three. Gloating over the fact that she can do anything to anybody and has so little regard for anybody but herself. Should the author at least not have included a letter back from the Superintendent of Schools stating what actions were going to be taken against the Evil Three? The author seems to be complaining about the teacher allowing this trial to take place, not the real problem. Could this author actually be 'Ann'?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1