Customer Reviews for

Poison Princess (Arcana Chronicles Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(186)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend You will love this book!!!

I managed to get my hands on an ARC of Poison Princess and can I just say that this may very well be the best and most original book that I have ever read. Kresley Cole has created this amazing post apocalyptic world where 22 real kids have superhuman powers. They eac...
I managed to get my hands on an ARC of Poison Princess and can I just say that this may very well be the best and most original book that I have ever read. Kresley Cole has created this amazing post apocalyptic world where 22 real kids have superhuman powers. They each represent a card from a tarot deck. The kids find that they have to form alliances to win each hand against their enemies. However in the end only one "card" can win the war.

This book is so intense you will find yourself holding your breath and gritting your teeth while each scene plays out. There are so many twists that I couldn't find it in my power to put it down for even a second. I was literally sitting on the edge of my seat constantly wanting to know more. The mystery surrounding the Arcana was just too intriguing. I have never read anything like it.

Kresley Cole has created some amazing characters. They are easy to relate to. Evie is this helpless girl that can't do anything for herself and Jack is this tough guy who will stop at nothing to protect her. The chemistry between Jack and Evie is simply combustible. Their banter is fun yet so serious. When Jack speaks you are left with no choice but to listen. I have to be honest I never knew that Cajun French could sound so sexy! Jacks accent was enough to make my heart flutter. Yes that's right I hear characters speak when I read! That's normal, Right?

As Evie grows into her power as The Empress she starts to change. Suddenly she finds that she is not so helpless anymore. She has an affinity for plants which she uses to protect herself. As she gets stronger and starts to learn more about who she is she keeps Jack in the dark about what is going on with her because she is afraid of what he would think.

There is some serious sexual tension between the two of them and I think it is more than just the fact that Evie is one of the last surviving girls on the planet. Jack gets so frustrated with her but I think it is because he is falling in love with her. He knows that he has to protect her at all costs even when she doesn't think she needs protecting.

I wonder if Jack and Evie are going to save what's left of the world or if the world is going to tear them apart. The future of Jack and Evie has yet to be seen.

The other Arcana cards that we met in this book were equally interesting. Selina is The Moon, the bringer of doubt. She has amazing archery skills but she isn't telling anyone the truth about what she knows. Matthew is The Fool. He sees visions of the past, present and future but he speaks in riddles so he is little help right now. Finn is The Magician. He can go around undetected which allows him to score supplies that help to keep everyone alive. They all play a role, I'm just not sure yet who is on which side of the deck.

I cant wait to see what is going to happen in the next book. Poison Princess is going to top every single chart!! If you are in doubt about reading it don't be. Go pre order it right now. You are going to devour this book in just a few short hours and when its over your going to be left wanting more!

posted by alicia0605 on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Not For Me

The prologue was...just gross. And the first couple of chapters got no better. When I say gross, I mean gory, eyeballs hanging from sockets by veins. A hero who might be a serial killer (I only got in three chapters so I might be wrong about that). I don't like stories ...
The prologue was...just gross. And the first couple of chapters got no better. When I say gross, I mean gory, eyeballs hanging from sockets by veins. A hero who might be a serial killer (I only got in three chapters so I might be wrong about that). I don't like stories like this, so I'm bowing out.

I do want to say, though, I am a huge Kresley Cole fan and this won't put me off her books.

posted by 10185135 on November 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend You will love this book!!!

    I managed to get my hands on an ARC of Poison Princess and can I just say that this may very well be the best and most original book that I have ever read. Kresley Cole has created this amazing post apocalyptic world where 22 real kids have superhuman powers. They each represent a card from a tarot deck. The kids find that they have to form alliances to win each hand against their enemies. However in the end only one "card" can win the war.

    This book is so intense you will find yourself holding your breath and gritting your teeth while each scene plays out. There are so many twists that I couldn't find it in my power to put it down for even a second. I was literally sitting on the edge of my seat constantly wanting to know more. The mystery surrounding the Arcana was just too intriguing. I have never read anything like it.

    Kresley Cole has created some amazing characters. They are easy to relate to. Evie is this helpless girl that can't do anything for herself and Jack is this tough guy who will stop at nothing to protect her. The chemistry between Jack and Evie is simply combustible. Their banter is fun yet so serious. When Jack speaks you are left with no choice but to listen. I have to be honest I never knew that Cajun French could sound so sexy! Jacks accent was enough to make my heart flutter. Yes that's right I hear characters speak when I read! That's normal, Right?

    As Evie grows into her power as The Empress she starts to change. Suddenly she finds that she is not so helpless anymore. She has an affinity for plants which she uses to protect herself. As she gets stronger and starts to learn more about who she is she keeps Jack in the dark about what is going on with her because she is afraid of what he would think.

    There is some serious sexual tension between the two of them and I think it is more than just the fact that Evie is one of the last surviving girls on the planet. Jack gets so frustrated with her but I think it is because he is falling in love with her. He knows that he has to protect her at all costs even when she doesn't think she needs protecting.

    I wonder if Jack and Evie are going to save what's left of the world or if the world is going to tear them apart. The future of Jack and Evie has yet to be seen.

    The other Arcana cards that we met in this book were equally interesting. Selina is The Moon, the bringer of doubt. She has amazing archery skills but she isn't telling anyone the truth about what she knows. Matthew is The Fool. He sees visions of the past, present and future but he speaks in riddles so he is little help right now. Finn is The Magician. He can go around undetected which allows him to score supplies that help to keep everyone alive. They all play a role, I'm just not sure yet who is on which side of the deck.

    I cant wait to see what is going to happen in the next book. Poison Princess is going to top every single chart!! If you are in doubt about reading it don't be. Go pre order it right now. You are going to devour this book in just a few short hours and when its over your going to be left wanting more!

    29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Poison Princess is an engrossing page turner - I LOVE Evie and Jackson!

    Evie Greene is living the perfect 16 year-old's life - gorgeous boyfriend, great friends, perfect house. Or is she? Why is she having horrific nightmares and hearing voices in her head? And then there's the new boy in school - badboy Jackson Deveaux, with his sexy Cajun accent. Then F-day hits - The Flash. Evie and her Mom are left to survive in a post-apocalyptic scorched earth world. Jackson takes care of Evie after the unthinkable happens. It's not always easy but they have their sweet moments. But Evie has secrets and Jackson hates secrets. There's a new food chain post Flash so Evie and Jackson have a rough road to their destination and along the way they meet others but it's hard to tell if they're friends or foes.
    Kresley Cole has once again created an amazing paranormal world - kind of reminds me of my favorite TV show The Walking Dead. I LOVE Evie and Jackson. I couldn't put the book down and at the same time I didn't want it to end :) Can't wait for the 2nd book!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Pleasantly Surprised

    I am a huge fan of Kresley Cole's other books and always look forward to her new releases. While I was unsure whether or not I would enjoy her YA series, I am pleased to say that this book does not dissappoint. I could not put it down, I was so drawn into the plot that I had to keep reading and find out what happens next. I am definitely looking forward to the next in the series and I would highly reccomend this book to anyone who is a fan of Kresley's writing.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Excellent

    Wouldnt recommend for younger teens. Sexual tensions,death and a society that unravels into darkness. I liked the characters, the plot, the dialogue and the imagery. Going to be a new favorite series. Also recommend The Mortal Coils series by Eric Nylund.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Kresley Cole hits paranormal post-apocalyptic fiction out of the ball park!

    Kresley Cole hits paranormal post-apocalyptic fiction out of the ball park with her debut young adult title, Poison Princess! The Arcana Chronicles proves to be a series that will take you on a wild ride with no limits and absolutely no hint of predictability. Poison Princess is brilliantly written from the plot, style, and cast of characters.

    The array of characters who fill this novel are hard, compassionate, fierce, sneaky, but ultimately believable. Evie is plagued with hallucinations and terrible nightmares that leave her with a misconstrued view of reality. When her mind-boggling visions of the world's end comes true, as depicted in her drawings, Evie has to find a way to use her mysterious powers to survive. In the meantime, the smoking hot, bad-boy Cajun, Jack, comes around to protect her, even though he may not want to. Evie and Jack's relationship is rare in young adult literature. Their differences and prejudices keep them apart for a good part of the novel, yet their toing-and-froing is tantalizing and definitely entertaining!

    Cole's Poison Princess is a welcome break from the cookie-cutter novels that seep with unoriginality and the same-old themes. 22 teens, though only a few are introduced in the novel, survive the end of the world embodying characters from a set of tarot cards; if this doesn't cause one to dive in, what will? The story is involving enough to read continuously without interruption. By the time the story reaches its crescendo, readers will be stuck between speechless and completely awed by Cole's skill in writing heart-racing scenes full of power and action. Evie's growth from the girl too afraid to accept the truth of her destiny to the girl who embraces it is the highlight of the novel. The Arcana Chronicles has phenomenal potential and with the first book in the series, Poison Princess, Kresely Cole makes it a sure-fire series!
    *ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review*

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    I love Kresley Cole! I'm so glad I found her! I was skeptical of

    I love Kresley Cole! I'm so glad I found her! I was skeptical of her YA series, but after reading the free sample, I was hooked. I can't wait for her next books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    DID IT AGAIN!

    I was leery to read this, since it's a "teen" romance and all but since it's Kresley Cole - I had a feeling ....and I am going to tell you this book was awesome! The story inside the story...both kept me on edge and I couldn't put it down. Evie is so well written you feel like you're living her life...Then there's Jackson and WOW. Her story takes you on a roller coaster of an adventure at the same time out lining story is as exciting and both are surprisingly unpredictable! Read it and you will agree!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Great read

    I loved this new series. It pacted with Action and leaves you hanging for more at the end. Can't wait to read the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    This book was exceptional. It has action, romance, and a rivetin

    This book was exceptional. It has action, romance, and a riveting story line. The concept behind the Arcana is an interesting backdrop and the apocalyptic aspect of the story makes it even more compelling. I can not wait for the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Wow! Loved it!

    I read a lot of Kresley Cole... love her work. This one is unlike any of her books so far. So new...so fresh. I loved this book and I am waiting with such anxiety and excitement for the next one. Read it...you will love it too!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Amazing!

    Better than Harry Potter and Twilight! Can't wait for the next installment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Such a good read! I was leery of reading this book, after readin

    Such a good read! I was leery of reading this book, after reading some reviews citing that the story was kind of gory.  Kresley Cole does an exceptional job weaving a post apocalyptic world. Once I started reading this story, I was so engrossed, I couldn't put it down! I cannot wait for the next book in this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    I loved this book! I couldn't put it down! I was reading until

    I loved this book! I couldn't put it down! I was reading until four in the morning knowing i had to go to work in 3 hours, this book was that amazing! I adored the romance between Jack and Evie their developing relationship and feelings for each other left me sighing, laughing and breathless with anticipation. The action leaves you nail bightingly nervous on the edge of your seat and the fantasy truly engages your imagination! This book has everything! I can't wait for the second installment!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    I love Kresley Cole, I started out reading her adult novels and

    I love Kresley Cole, I started out reading her adult novels and they were amazing. When i saw she had a YA book coming out i went out and bought  it the first week it came out.
    Don't let the one star reviews sway you, this book is amazing and it has enough action throughout the story to keep you there for hours. 
    I will definitely be buying the second book when it comes out. And the cliff hanger at the end really frustrates you, but it was a good place to
    end the book. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Amazing

    Loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    More tales from my #blogbreak: I grabbed one of books I have bee

    More tales from my #blogbreak: I grabbed one of books I have been wanting to read forever... When the Kindle version of Poison Princess was $ .99 in December, I snatched this bad boy up.  I love this book so much, I feel like I stole it.  You can get the first 17 chapters FREE on Amazon.  GO DO THAT NOW!  You're welcome!




    The Arcana Chronicles series is unlike anything I have ever read, and I have read a lot. It is an epic adventure with an incredibly creative mix of post- apocalyptic fiction, contemporary fantasy, suspense thrills and paranormal romance. The storytelling of Poison Princess (Book One), also has the feel of a personal memoir, as the plot unfolds through the private thoughts of a killer and a recorded interview of the protagonist, Evie Green.




    Evie tells her story of life before and after The Flash, a worldwide apocalyptic event that changed everything. Anyone unlucky enough to be outdoors during The Flash died immediately, and survivors had to overcome shock and grief to face a new way of life. And by "new," I mean horrific: barren landscapes, dwindling resources, widespread panic. And it's not just fear of starvation keeping folks up at night: new breeds of baddies have emerged from The Flash. Cannibals (yes, cannibals), slavers looking for healthy females and unrestrained militias have turned America into a nightmare. Survivors must carve out a bleak existence in hidden frontiers of Hell on Earth.




    This violent turmoil is the setting for the non-stop action that brings Evie from her home in Louisiana to the place she sits down to tell her story. And it is SUCH A GOOD STORY. It's about the Arcana, a group of supernatural beings, who are forced to play war games in this violent world. It's about Jackson Deveaux*, a Cajun bad boy who was a survivor long before The Flash. It's about strangers becoming allies to survive immediate dangers and imminent battles. And as soon as you get a handle on the story, the characters and conflict take you somewhere you never saw coming.




    I regret not reading Poison Princess sooner.  Silver lining: I was able to immediately get my hands on Book 2 (Endless Knight**). But now, alas, I am among the multitude of readers living for 2015 to see what happens next!! -kris




    *Warning: Jackson Deveaux WILL become your next Book Boyfriend. Some reviewers do not share my fondness for this character... we can just agree to disagree. I found his gruff, irreverent attitude to be authentic for a kid with his back story. And I found his Cajun accent to be smoking hot.




    ** Review for Endless Knight coming very soon!  =)   Kris at The Book Beacon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    why are people giving this book like 2 stars just because it was

    why are people giving this book like 2 stars just because it was "gory" it's not there was nothing that went into detail like the author will just say that a body was ripped apart. This is now my all-time favorite book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Worth it.

    The book is worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by: Valerie Book provided by: Purchased Review original

    Reviewed by: Valerie
    Book provided by: Purchased
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Oh, yes, she did! Kresley Cole is the author of the popular Immortals After Dark series branching out into young adult...and what a fantastic YA debut this is! I am biased towards this book since I'm from Louisiana, but the story is so different that it hooked me right at the beginning and will definitely find a fan base in no time!!!

    Where to begin? Wow. What a rush and I want book two NOW. Since the setting is a place that I am very familiar with, I was excited to read this book. Then, when I started it, I was pulled in by the author's use of tarot card references and the ability to use them as characters. Evie, short for Evangeline, was a character I became attached to quickly. Which tarot card characteristics does she have? I had no clue and neither did she. She just knew that she had visions she couldn't explain. She had to change and grow as situations happened beyond her control and she captivated me with her courage.

    As for Jack. Hubba, hubba. Hotness in one package. Is he also representing a tarot card? I had no clue. He also had to grow once the world ended as he knew it. But, unlike Evie, he has a past that is so checkered you can't help but root for him to overcome everything. While I found that he balanced Evie, he was also unpredictable at times which added to the mystique of the story and kept the chemistry between the characters sizzling.

    But what really kept me intrigued throughout the story was the tarot card references. Cole has skillfully woven in the characteristics of the cards into the characters and while you think it's going to be easy to spot which character is which and has certain powers, it isn't. I was kept guessing until the last page and even then didn't have the answers I wanted as this is a trilogy. Kole also added secondary characters that were very strong additions to the story line and added depth to the mystery. In the following sequels, these characters will have more of a story and I'm dying to know which ones will become more powerful as well as meet the rest of the "deck" of characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Amazing

    Couldn't stop reading it. Great storyline!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10