Customer Reviews for

The Poison Throne (Moorehwake Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Good read

    This is a good read. Not excellent, but if its raining outside and you need some way to pass the time, this will do nicely - highly enjoyable, but does not hold up for a second read.

    It's the first book of three (and the other two are as good as this one), so it is an excellent form of procrastination!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Beautiful writing, not much happens

    I had hoped for more fantasy and a lot less politics when the first talking cats and philosophical ghosts appeared, but that hope was short-lived. There are maybe three exciting set-pieces in the whole book and the rest is people sitting around, talking. Very little imagination or world building which is a terrible disappointment after the great reviews I read. I don't know that I will continue the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great start for what looks like a fantastic trilogy!

    Wow. Just wow. I was sucked in from the first few chapters. First I loved the setting. It's an interesting blend of fantasy, some paranormal characteristics, and some "real life" qualities. What I mean by that is you have talking cats, ghosts, yet the setting is set someplace in Europe (not really specified). It's hard to explain, but once you read into the book you get the idea. I thought this was interesting and different.

    The book may be slow to some. Yet I was so interested in the political intrigue, that the pace was good for me. You won't find much action or adventure. Instead, there's lots of politics and a lot of relationship development and character building. Which is fine for me, it's certainly a different approach towards fantasy (where you would expect a lot of action and fighting). It was at a perfect pace and I could read this without feeling confused, and I got the characters all straightened out and was able to understand what was happening as there's several different plots branching out. Considering this if the first book in a trilogy, you won't get many questions answered. That may be frustrating and it may seem as if you really didn't get much out of the book at all, however I feel that this book was a good starter for a trilogy. It created your questions, made an interesting world for you to get used to, and gave you a set list of characters so you know who is who without getting confused. Besides, what would be the point of a trilogy if all questions were answered in the first book?

    I absolutely loved the characters in this book. I enjoyed Wynter and her relationship with her father , but her friendships with both Razi and Christopher are also interesting and differ from each other. I found no fault with any of them and liked all of the characters. I even liked King Jonathan despite his issues with Alberon and his mistreatment of Razi. They all had their distinct personalities and qualities and were perfectly "fleshed out" so you don't have any two dimensional, wooden characters. I can't say I have a favorite as they're all well done.

    Although none of my questions have been answered for this novel (well, the majority of them) I am going to continue reading this trilogy. I absolutely loved this book. This one proved to be one of the best reads I have come across so far for this year. It's a perfect "first novel in a trilogy" because it establishes everything for the reader so we're set for the next two books. This book is definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What a page turner!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book (and the sequel). The quality I most liked was it's unpredictability. I always wanted to know what would come next. I would try to find a stopping place so that I could get things done in real life, but I'd have to continue to the next chapter because I had to know what happened! Kiernan did an excellent job of developing the characters so that I fell in love with them. I can't wait for the third book!

    I don't know if this is categorized as adult fiction or juvenile fiction, but I wouldn't want my kids to read it. It has a small scene describing the torture of a prisoner in it, as well as a few other images I just wouldn't want to get stuck in a teen's mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Strong Young Woman!

    This is a great book for your girls! I can't wait until the 2nd in the series of 3 books comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    superb young adult political fantasy

    Dying Lorcan Moorehawke returns from the Northland after a five year mission accompanied by his fifteen year old daughter Wynter to their former home Kingcourt, but are not welcomed as befits the Protector should be. That is they feel unwelcome until Victuallor Heron greets them warmly.

    Wynter is stunned with changes at Kingcourt as everyone fears the king with good cause as he has turned brutal. His heir Alberon was forced to flee for his life and his other son Alberon's half-brother Razi sits uncomfortably on the regal Chair that belongs to his sibling while trying to remain loyal to his older brother and his sire; not an easy task. Razi welcomes home his childhood friend Wynter at a time rebellion and civil war seems imminent with the kingdom split in two between loyalists to a mad monarch and rebels. Wynter will soon find herself caught in the crosshairs of this division between her father loyal to the king and Razi and his cohort Christopher Garron considering the overthrow of the monarch.

    This is a superb young adult political fantasy filled with plenty of intrigue as everyone at Kingcourt is impacted by the ruler's apparent insanity. The story line fast-paced, but loaded with a strong cast who brings out the depth of life in a dictatorial deadly monarchy. Young teen readers will relish the courageous escapades of the heroine who must choose between her father and her kingdom.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1