Customer Reviews for

Poisoned Kisses

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The romantic fantasy Poisoned Kisses is a terrific tale

    "Poisoned Kisses". The Underworld Nymph Kyra fears what her father Ares plans to do. Ares wants to use toxic blood to change a man into a deadly hydra. His choice is weapons dealer Marcos Kaisaris. Marcos believes he can save the world from the madness of weapons of mass destruction by arming the oppressed. Like her sire, Kyra seeks Marcos out with her plan being to kill him so her father cannot capture him. When they meet, Marcos' tainted blood burns Kyra, costing her immortality. Still she refuses to quit although now she considers locking him away from her dad. In their second battle, they fall in love so she plans to keep him safe or die in the attempt.

    "Midnight Medusa". As a child in war torn Bosnia, Renata saw first hand humanity's cruelty. She escaped to New York City where she became a sculptor who made pieces of the war criminals she witnessed performing their horrific cleaning. Once she completed a work, the "model" died horrifically. The son of Ares, Damon kidnaps the artist and informs her who she is and why her art kills.

    The romantic fantasy Poisoned Kisses is a terrific tale that grips the audience from the moment lead couple meet and never slows down as natural enemies fall in love. Readers also receive a wonderful romantic urban fantasy short story Midnight Kisses with a great paranormal twist though the lead couple is obviously less developed; this was previously an e-tale. With two offspring of Ares entries, Stephanie Draven provides fans with a joyous trip to "Mythica".

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    A Must Read

    I highly reccomend this book especially if you like Mythology in your paranormals like I do.Dauther of Ares and former Underworld nymph Kyra meets sexy shapeshifting human hydra Marcos.A plan to kill hom to keep him from being used by her father becomes a plan to protect as Kyra finds Marcos hard to resist.This is a great read I could not put it down.Stephanie Draven is a fantastic author .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Passion and Poison

    I fell in love with Myths and Legends when I was 7 years old. Greek, Roman, Norse, Celtic....it didn't matter where they were from, I loved them all and still do. The love of Paranormal Romance came much later but imagine my interest when both genres mixed and I came across Stephanie Draven. And I wasn't disappointed either! Great interpretation of mythical creatures in a modern setting and the relegation of many godly characters to a more mundane role is inspired. I loved Hecate in her shop. Classic! The emotional connection with the main characters is very good and the storyline kept me enthralled until I turned the last page...to find a bonus, Midnight Medusa as well. Another wonderful story with a lot of pathos. I'll definately be reading her other books as soon as possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Passion and Poison

    I fell in love with Myths and Legends when I was 7 years old. Greek, Roman, Norse, Celtic....it didn't matter where they were from, I loved them all and still do. The love of Paranormal Romance came much later but imagine my interest when both genres mixed and I came across Stephanie Draven. And I wasn't disappointed either! Great interpretation of mythical creatures in a modern setting and the relegation of many godly characters to a more mundane role is inspired. I loved Hecate in her shop. Classic! The emotional connection with the main characters is very good and the storyline kept me enthralled until I turned the last page...to find a bonus, Midnight Medusa as well. Another wonderful story with a lot of pathos. I'll definately be reading her other books as soon as possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Poisoned Kisses

    (from Murphy's Library - rated 3 and a half there)

    You've got to have some balls to write about mythology and make it work. Draven haven't got balls, but she's got something much better: courage. This is the type of book you will read truly fast. Sit down, open it, and when you last expect it you will be near the end. Not that it makes the book less exciting. No! The book has the pages it has to have, and its construction is great.

    Kyra is a great main character, and I loved how her personality was well built. She is a warrior nymph-and I think Stephanie did a really good job with Kyra's mythology- and her destiny is to conquer a hydra, but Kyra interpreted it differently and thinks what she needs to do is to kill one. So, you could say, her destiny is to kill Marco Kaisaris. Marco is an arms dealer with powers, a Hydra, and, ultimately, Kyra's biggest problem. Can she kill someone that attracts her that much? I think so, especially since Marco's kisses leads her to a poisoning case. But can she do it even after seeing Marco's soul?

    The book is a big web of mythologies and fundaments that we've heard since our childhood, but it is really well put together. Marco is the character you can crush on-badass, misterious, beautiful and sexy-and Kyra is the woman who can kick some asses, but seems to be too affected by Marco's power over her. It is cliche? Oh, hell, yeah, it is. But it is the type of book you need to read once in a while to decompress.

    In terms of decompressing, Poisoned Kisses was the book that better did its job in a long time. It reminded me of the Otherkin Series, by Eve Silver, the narrative and the way the story hooked me. I liked it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    Riveting Reading Experience

    War creates more than chaos in this unique and gripping tale of passion and monsters, betrayal and redemption. A reader is going to find the Greek myths twisted and invigorated with a delicious twist sure to please in Poisoned Kisses.

    Kyra comes from an ancient dysfunctional family. Her dad is Ares, the war god, and he's one determined man who intends to find the ultimate weapon of war. The only thing standing in his way is his daughter, a young woman, by his standards, who is capable of great things. If only she'd just quit trying to go soft on him and stop making his carefully laid plains go awry. That's one of the things I liked about Kyra. She's not afraid of her dad and she should be. She bucks the status quo of the millennium by not wanting to blow people up but to guide them and actually do good things. She's sort of stuck being dual natured and there is a lot of well developed internal angst because of it. She's soft on one side of her personality but the other she's clearly daddy's girl, especially when she gets mad. Another thing her background colors is her way of dealing with issues. She has this destiny which was foretold. She interprets the completion of it in one way, by using violence and it gets her a lot more than she bargained for. Her one action sets her on the road to self-discovery and emotional growth. She fights it because she can't trust it. And that itself is another issue - trust. To give and to earn it - it's a compelling element throughout the story.

    To call Marco a tortured hero is an understatement. He gets betrayed by his government, his friend and a lover. They use him and they try to kill him. How's a guy supposed to have hope after all of that? And obviously, that trust issue is a huge chip on his shoulder. When I first met him, I only had Kyra's opinion to go by. As the tale unfolds, I learned along with Kyra just what makes Marco who and what he is and he is as far from being a monster as the war gods are close to being the Easter Bunny. When faced with the truth, with the reality of what he's been doing all these years, I believe that that had to have been one of the most eye-awakening moments for Marco and I liked where the author took him then - the dialogue, action and decisions he made, all of it actually brought Marco to full life for me. It was a delight watching him slowly but surely fall in love with the emotionally flawed Kyra. Inasmuch as she helped him, he in turn gave her the courage to be who she really wanted to be and do what needed to be done.

    The author did a wonderful job of using descriptions. I enjoyed Kyra's first reaction to Marco and his to her. Their emotions were believable and powerful. When they got together in the physical sense,

    Ms. Draven provided an absolute treat to this reader because their distinctive encounters are a credit to the talent that Marco has. They were fresh, imaginative and fascinating. Kyra's talent in being able to discern the differences were what made it work so well. When I thought about it, the concept is actually pretty hot stuff.

    Poisoned Kisses isn't a light and fluffy read. It's hard edged, gritty, and serious. It even delves into the possibility of why war is so prevalent and dare I say, popular. Ms. Draven has provided this reader with a clever and intelligent story with an out of the ordinary romance that hooked me as soon as Kyra drew her knife.
    Originally posted at: The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Hot, steamy and addicting! Stephanie weaves a tale so sexy and entertaining that takes you to a whole new level of romance. Kyra and Marco are the perfect couple - body, mind and soul. If you're a fan of romance, you HAVE to read Poisoned Kisses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    Tantalizing & Edgy

    Poisoned Kisses, by author Stephanie Draven, is a romantic tale that inspiringly retells classic Greek mythology in modern day times, filled with tantalizing romantic interludes and in-depth characterization.

    In Draven's tale, the heroine, Kyra, is the daughter of Ares - the Greek God of war, and is a former nymph of the Underworld who has decided that she has had enough of death and destruction. She has pitted herself against her father and his plans to draw power and worshipers from fueling further wars. Ares has his sights set on Marco Kaisiris, a soldier turned arms dealer who has witnessed so many atrocities that he's become the human version of a hydra; a man capable of taking the form of any person who has ever harmed him, and whose blood is poisonous to those it touches. Kyra's determination to kill Marco, to keep him from her father's grasp, quickly becomes a tale a woman willing to cast away her immortality in order to protect the only man that she's ever loved, and who's ever truly understood her.

    Stephanie Draven's has a knack for drawing the reader in, leaving them at the edge of their seat, wanting for more. Her books are a recommended read all around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    Tantalizing & Edgy

    Poisoned Kisses, by author Stephanie Draven, is a romantic tale that inspiringly retells classic Greek mythology in modern day times, filled with tantalizing romantic interludes and in-depth characterization.

    In Draven's tale, the heroine, Kyra, is the daughter of Ares - the Greek God of war, and is a former nymph of the Underworld who has decided that she has had enough of death and destruction. She has pitted herself against her father and his plans to draw power and worshipers from fueling further wars. Ares has his sights set on Marco Kaisiris, a soldier turned arms dealer who has witnessed so many atrocities that he's become the human version of a hydra; a man capable of taking the form of any person who has ever harmed him, and whose blood is poisonous to those it touches. Kyra's determination to kill Marco, to keep him from her father's grasp, quickly becomes a tale a woman willing to cast away her immortality in order to protect the only man that she's ever loved, and who's ever truly understood her.

    Stephanie Draven's has a knack for drawing the reader in, leaving them at the edge of their seat, wanting for more. Her books are a recommended read all around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1