Customer Reviews for

A Poisoned Season (Lady Emily Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    PASSION AND SUSPENSE

    When an author is passionate about a particular subject or time, it comes through in their work. Tasha Alexander's 'A Poisoned Season' is my first venture into Victorian Suspense, and I'm glad it was. She captures the time period so perfectly, that one must wonder if she lived during that time and is merely recording her experiences. At the heart of the novel is the 'curse of Marie Antoinette', and the theft of her belongings that have been spread throughout since her imprisonment and death. Each page was an effortless read, with each conversation building from the last making for a real page-turner. I am an avid horror/thriller reader, so this was a real detour for me, however I was so impressed, that I would recommend 'A Poisoned Season' to fans of any genre who is aching for a good, smooth, passionate read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book

    I love Lady Emily, a modern woman in Victorian dress. She's intelligent, courageous, and perceptive. The turn of the century setting is interesting, the characters well-rounded, and I enjoyed the mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    A Poisoned Season - Enthralling!

    I loved the concept of a mystery with a 19th century heroine. The characters are complex and the story is not predictable. Lots of fun and I recommend this book highly. The heroine has a very modern idea of what a woman's life should be and she won't give up her freedom easily. There are two plots - that of the mystery to be resolved and that of the heroine. It is interesting that she must make compromises to stay within the social norms of her times, while her inner self wants to break out. There are many struggles to be resolved. Enjoy this book - I did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    the lost prince...

    Since this was the next book in the Lady Emily Series, and I was already enraptured with the story line, I was not expecting it to be about what it was. The plot itself has been present in many other books, but the mystery behind discovering the truth that Lady Emily unravelled was quite different. For the time period that this story was set in, I find that the techniques used and the threats apparent were very attention grabbing. It's not every day that a Lady uses cryptography to discover the hidden truth that history left unwritten. Being the headstrong woman that she is, Lady Emily threw herself into solving this mystery, regardless of the threats made on the life of those around her (herself included). I was completely caught off guard at what she discovered, but in a sense, not surprised. It is still a mystery after all, so one can't expect to know where the leads will end up at. This book was just as enticing as the first and I immediately started the next book in the series after finishing this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Very good book

    This wasn't fluff. You had to think about what was happening,
    But it was very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    A great follow-up!

    A great follow-up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Love, love, love this series. I have read all of the Lady Emily books and am waiting for the seventh to be released. Intriguing novels with great characters. I look forward to seeing them again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Intelligent Mystery!

    The second installment in the Lady Emily mystery series, A Poisoned Season begins with Lady Emily Ashton at the tail end of mourning for her husband. (We learn of his death in And Only To Deceive) As a fresh start, she decides to re-join the London social scene on her own terms. Newcomer to the social scene, is a Charles Berry who claims that he is the direct descendant of Louie XVI and Marie Antoinette. Not only this, but he intends to take Lady Emily as his mistress (although she won’t have any of it!) Additionally, it appears that someone has been stealing items that belonged to Marie Antoinette, and just as the mystery appears to deepen with this new development, the owner of one of the items is murdered, deepening it further. It is up to Lady Emily to find the true burglar and murderer before he or she finds her, as it seems that the thief is becoming exceptionally interested in Lady Emily. She must work quickly as her own life is at stake! Will she be able to make it in time?

    Alexander does a fantastic job with A Poisoned Season. Just like her first novel, I was hanging on the edge of my seat from cover to cover. I thoroughly enjoyed all of the new characters that we’re introduced to. Lady Emily’s childhood friend Jeremy, Duke of Bainbridge was a perfectly added dose of comedic relief. We’re also treated to more of the romantic tete-a-tete between Colin Hargreaves and Lady Emily, as Colin continues to try to convince Emily to marry him.

    As I stated in my review of the And Only To Deceive, had Jane Austen and Agatha Christie been writing partners, Tasha Alexander’s books would have been the outcome. The mystery that Alexander sets up for us is wonderful. I had my thoughts on who the culprits could have been from the beginning, and was shocked to find out how wrong I was by the end. The ending completely blew me away, as I was not expecting it AT ALL. Throw into the investigation some background on Marie Antoinette, fine art, and literary discussions, and you have a mystery that you actually learn things from. This is probably one of my favorite things about the Lady Emily series (I’m currently reading book #4). They’re intelligent mysteries that make comments about the social/intellectual restraints of the Victorian time period, while at the same time providing characters and story lines that encourage you, the reader, to further your own knowledge of the events/people/places mentioned.

    I cannot recommend Tasha Alexander’s Lady Emily series enough. It’s literally all I’ve been talking about for the past two weeks, and I have been recommending it to everyone. They’re engaging, intellectual, funny, and sophisticated reads that are sure to please mystery, adventure, and historical fiction fans abound.

    Kimberly (Reflections of a Book Addict)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent series and an intriguing mystery

    The Lady Emily series is a delight, and has a number of twists and turns that keep refreshing focus on the mystery at hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Book 2 in the Lady Emily series. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Enjoyable!!

    Although I mostly enjoy a cozy mystery, a historical mystery occasionally crosses my path. "A Poisoned Season" was a bn clearance selection that I picked up on a whim....it was inexpensive! But I don't regret it. It was a wonderful escape to the times of balls, gowns, parasols, and strolls in the park to visit with society. It had the right touch of romance and mystery!! A wonderful read!! I will look for the others in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    good series

    The Lady Emily series is one I enjoy. I love the setting of the book and I like the main character's ability to shun the norms set on her by society. The mysteries are always a plus trying to figure out each characters' motivation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fans of Jane Austen and Elizabeth Peters take note!

    Tasha Alexander goes out of her way to make at least one major change to avoid betraying her influences, but they are undeniable. Though the series is set in Victorian, not Regency England, fans of Jane Austen will notice turns of phrase from Austen's novels that keep cropping up. Likewise, though Lady Emily pointedly loves ancient Greece rather than ancient Egypt (and prefers port to Amelia's beloved whiskey as her unladylike beverage), Elizabeth Peters fans will feel right at home. As though the references to the real-life Amelia Edwards from the first book were not enough, in this second book, Lady Emily picks up a shadowy secret admirer-- a dangerous, clever, but good at heart "Master Criminal" who writes her love notes from ancient Greek texts. This book also has a dash of Scarlet Pimpernel in the possible rescue of the Dauphin from the clutches of the revolution. Don't miss the "History behind the story" section at the end (unless you want to believe the Dauphin got out alive!). Enjoy with a nice cup of tea or a glass of port...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A delightful mystery

    A Poisoned Season is the sequel to And Only to Deceive, though it is not necessary to have read the first one to enjoy it. Lady Emily Ashton is back in London, enjoying the freedom of being a young widow. Lady Emily is in love with Colin Hargreaves, but does not wish to marry again. But Colin does not wish to further add to the scandalous reputation of Lady Emily. Lady Emily prefers to spend her time learning Greek and visiting museums than taking part in the London Season.

    Once again Lady Emily becomes embroiled in a mystery as a man claims to be the rightful descendant of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette and seeks to restore the throne to France. Items that had belonged to Marie Antoinette are being stolen by various owners by a cat burglar. One of the owners turns up murdered and Lady Emily seeks to find the murderer, while being stalked by a man who leaves her notes in Greek.


    I love these cozy Victorian murder mysteries. Tasha Alexander is a delightful writer, very similar to the Lady Julia Grey series. Lady Emily is a fun protagonist, very much her own woman; she drinks port, smokes cigars, and meets with men unchaperoned. She reads popular novels and studies Greek. And she solves mysteries.


    These novels have just the right amount of history, mystery, and romance. I highly recommend them. I will soon be starting the next in the series, A Fatal Waltz.


    my rating 4/5
    http://bookmagic418.blogspot.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great book! LOVE THESE BOOKS

    great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    Great Book

    This is a really great book. The whole series is new and refreshing.
    Tasha Alexander is a wonderful author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    Suspenseful yet sometimes confusing

    Sometimes the story line makes so many twists and turns that it's really hard to keep up. All in all, a good read though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    Lady Ashton is on the case!

    This is a fun and clever mystery that I could not put down until the last page. Lady Emily Ashton is not looking forward to the social whirlwind that is the London Season until Charles Berry comes on the scene claiming to be the lost heir of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette. No sooner than Berry arrives an audacious cat burgler starts to rob the houses of London wealthiest, expect the only thing that he takes are items that once belonged to Marie Antoinette. When one of the cat burglers victims winds up dead, Lady Ashton is on the case to find the culprit who starts to give Lady Ashton unwelcome attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2007

    Superb and surprising

    This isn't my usual genre, but I liked the first in the series so much, I couldn't help but pick up the second novel. It doesn't disappoint. I was nervous that there wouldn't be enough oomph in the plot to follow up the ingenious romantic and mystery device that made the first book so good. But this delivers in its own way -- and makes clear that this series has a long life ahead of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is a delightful Victorian amateur sleuth tale

    Widow Lady Emily Ashton comes to London to enjoy the social season. However, as always amidst the Ton, rumors abound as almost everyone enjoys titillating scandal as long as it is not their own. This season the gossipers focus on rude Charles Berry, who insists he is related to the late French King and Queen Louis XVI and Marie-Antoinette and should be sitting on the French throne. In fact his often boorish behavior supports his contention that he has royal blood.----------------- At about the same time that haughty Berry is looking down at the English aristocracy, someone breaks into several of the homes of the wealthy and pseudo-wealthy the thief steals only items once owned by Marie-Antoinette in fact leaving behind much more valuable items than those purloined. A bit on the eccentric side, Lady Ashton is curious about the thefts but goes into overdrive when she begins receiving Greek love poems and a valuable pink diamond owned by Marie-Antoinette, but not from her lover Colin Hargreave, who wistfully tells her he wished he gave them to her, but alas did not. Wanting to know who her suitor is she begins to investigate only her inquiry changes when friend David Francis is poisoned to death allegedly by the thief.------------------ This is a delightful Victorian amateur sleuth tale with a nice touch of romance adding depth to the blend. Emily is a delightful eccentric, but it is Berry who steals the show with his mysterious airs that will keep the audience wondering if he is a con artist, a thief, or the real thing. Tasha Alexander's strong investigative tale has a solid deep late nineteenth century anchor so that fans of historical fiction and whodunits will want to traverse London with Lady Emily Ashton (also see AND ONLY TO DECEIVE).--------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5