Customer Reviews for

A Poisoned Season (Lady Emily Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    PASSION AND SUSPENSE

    When an author is passionate about a particular subject or time, it comes through in their work. Tasha Alexander's 'A Poisoned Season' is my first venture into Victorian Suspense, and I'm glad it was. She captures the time period so perfectly, that one must wonder if she lived during that time and is merely recording her experiences. At the heart of the novel is the 'curse of Marie Antoinette', and the theft of her belongings that have been spread throughout since her imprisonment and death. Each page was an effortless read, with each conversation building from the last making for a real page-turner. I am an avid horror/thriller reader, so this was a real detour for me, however I was so impressed, that I would recommend 'A Poisoned Season' to fans of any genre who is aching for a good, smooth, passionate read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book

    I love Lady Emily, a modern woman in Victorian dress. She's intelligent, courageous, and perceptive. The turn of the century setting is interesting, the characters well-rounded, and I enjoyed the mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Intelligent Mystery!

    The second installment in the Lady Emily mystery series, A Poisoned Season begins with Lady Emily Ashton at the tail end of mourning for her husband. (We learn of his death in And Only To Deceive) As a fresh start, she decides to re-join the London social scene on her own terms. Newcomer to the social scene, is a Charles Berry who claims that he is the direct descendant of Louie XVI and Marie Antoinette. Not only this, but he intends to take Lady Emily as his mistress (although she won’t have any of it!) Additionally, it appears that someone has been stealing items that belonged to Marie Antoinette, and just as the mystery appears to deepen with this new development, the owner of one of the items is murdered, deepening it further. It is up to Lady Emily to find the true burglar and murderer before he or she finds her, as it seems that the thief is becoming exceptionally interested in Lady Emily. She must work quickly as her own life is at stake! Will she be able to make it in time?

    Alexander does a fantastic job with A Poisoned Season. Just like her first novel, I was hanging on the edge of my seat from cover to cover. I thoroughly enjoyed all of the new characters that we’re introduced to. Lady Emily’s childhood friend Jeremy, Duke of Bainbridge was a perfectly added dose of comedic relief. We’re also treated to more of the romantic tete-a-tete between Colin Hargreaves and Lady Emily, as Colin continues to try to convince Emily to marry him.

    As I stated in my review of the And Only To Deceive, had Jane Austen and Agatha Christie been writing partners, Tasha Alexander’s books would have been the outcome. The mystery that Alexander sets up for us is wonderful. I had my thoughts on who the culprits could have been from the beginning, and was shocked to find out how wrong I was by the end. The ending completely blew me away, as I was not expecting it AT ALL. Throw into the investigation some background on Marie Antoinette, fine art, and literary discussions, and you have a mystery that you actually learn things from. This is probably one of my favorite things about the Lady Emily series (I’m currently reading book #4). They’re intelligent mysteries that make comments about the social/intellectual restraints of the Victorian time period, while at the same time providing characters and story lines that encourage you, the reader, to further your own knowledge of the events/people/places mentioned.

    I cannot recommend Tasha Alexander’s Lady Emily series enough. It’s literally all I’ve been talking about for the past two weeks, and I have been recommending it to everyone. They’re engaging, intellectual, funny, and sophisticated reads that are sure to please mystery, adventure, and historical fiction fans abound.

    Kimberly (Reflections of a Book Addict)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent series and an intriguing mystery

    The Lady Emily series is a delight, and has a number of twists and turns that keep refreshing focus on the mystery at hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    good series

    The Lady Emily series is one I enjoy. I love the setting of the book and I like the main character's ability to shun the norms set on her by society. The mysteries are always a plus trying to figure out each characters' motivation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great book! LOVE THESE BOOKS

    great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    Great Book

    This is a really great book. The whole series is new and refreshing.
    Tasha Alexander is a wonderful author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    Lady Ashton is on the case!

    This is a fun and clever mystery that I could not put down until the last page. Lady Emily Ashton is not looking forward to the social whirlwind that is the London Season until Charles Berry comes on the scene claiming to be the lost heir of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette. No sooner than Berry arrives an audacious cat burgler starts to rob the houses of London wealthiest, expect the only thing that he takes are items that once belonged to Marie Antoinette. When one of the cat burglers victims winds up dead, Lady Ashton is on the case to find the culprit who starts to give Lady Ashton unwelcome attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2007

    Superb and surprising

    This isn't my usual genre, but I liked the first in the series so much, I couldn't help but pick up the second novel. It doesn't disappoint. I was nervous that there wouldn't be enough oomph in the plot to follow up the ingenious romantic and mystery device that made the first book so good. But this delivers in its own way -- and makes clear that this series has a long life ahead of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is a delightful Victorian amateur sleuth tale

    Widow Lady Emily Ashton comes to London to enjoy the social season. However, as always amidst the Ton, rumors abound as almost everyone enjoys titillating scandal as long as it is not their own. This season the gossipers focus on rude Charles Berry, who insists he is related to the late French King and Queen Louis XVI and Marie-Antoinette and should be sitting on the French throne. In fact his often boorish behavior supports his contention that he has royal blood.----------------- At about the same time that haughty Berry is looking down at the English aristocracy, someone breaks into several of the homes of the wealthy and pseudo-wealthy the thief steals only items once owned by Marie-Antoinette in fact leaving behind much more valuable items than those purloined. A bit on the eccentric side, Lady Ashton is curious about the thefts but goes into overdrive when she begins receiving Greek love poems and a valuable pink diamond owned by Marie-Antoinette, but not from her lover Colin Hargreave, who wistfully tells her he wished he gave them to her, but alas did not. Wanting to know who her suitor is she begins to investigate only her inquiry changes when friend David Francis is poisoned to death allegedly by the thief.------------------ This is a delightful Victorian amateur sleuth tale with a nice touch of romance adding depth to the blend. Emily is a delightful eccentric, but it is Berry who steals the show with his mysterious airs that will keep the audience wondering if he is a con artist, a thief, or the real thing. Tasha Alexander's strong investigative tale has a solid deep late nineteenth century anchor so that fans of historical fiction and whodunits will want to traverse London with Lady Emily Ashton (also see AND ONLY TO DECEIVE).--------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    Alexander does it again!

    Got this yesterday afternoon and read it all last night and this morning. I read the first one, And Only To Deceive, and loved it, but Im almost always disappointed in the second book when I start a new series. But not this one. The author kept the characters that I liked from the first one and added great new ones, and the way it ended there has to be another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3