BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Poisonwood Bible

Average Rating 4.5
( 701 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(420)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Mish-Kid Memories Brought to Life

As a former missionary kid (Mish-Kid) this book brought back tons of memories. I have seen real-life characters that would have fit so comfortably within the pages of this book. The book, I believe, would be a fantastic read for many. I definitely would not say for e...
As a former missionary kid (Mish-Kid) this book brought back tons of memories. I have seen real-life characters that would have fit so comfortably within the pages of this book. The book, I believe, would be a fantastic read for many. I definitely would not say for everyone.

Not too many people will read it on a nostalgic level as I did, and for some others who grew up similarly to me, it would bring back emotions and memories they would best forget.

It brought back memories to me of the missionary to Borneo who spoke at my school when I was a 13 year old kid. He finished speaking and then invited all who would promise to someday go to Borneo as missionaries to stand, making public affirmation of this promise. No one stood. We were 13. Who knew what tomorrow would bring? The speaker, however, did not free us from the bonds of this assembly. He kept repeating the "invitation". After countless entreaties, we all stood up at once. We'd had enough and were ready to get back to doing the things we wanted. The speaker was thrilled. Did he think that his message had reached us? As far as I know, no one has gone on to missionary work in Borneo and I am now in my late 50's.

There was another fellow who sought to bring down the walls of Jericho. Jericho being a local bar. He and his church members marched around their Jericho, playing hymns with a trumpet and singing every night for some time...enough to bring down the walls of any modern day Jericho, if not at least to bring in the local authorities.

I totally enjoyed Poisonwood. I knew the people within its pages. Great book.

posted by Hygd on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

UGH Get Spark Notes instead!

I suffered through this tome because my son had to read it for school. If you like slow moving, liberal biased, caucasion bashing then this book is for you! The subtle praises for communism and not so subtle praises of socialism made me want to SCREAM! Oh and let's no...
I suffered through this tome because my son had to read it for school. If you like slow moving, liberal biased, caucasion bashing then this book is for you! The subtle praises for communism and not so subtle praises of socialism made me want to SCREAM! Oh and let's not forget that Christians in this book are all crazy, Thank goodness the daughters don't fall victim to THAT insanity! What a stupid and highly over-rated read The Poisonwood Bible is.

posted by ZomBee_Party_Member on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    UGH Get Spark Notes instead!

    I suffered through this tome because my son had to read it for school. If you like slow moving, liberal biased, caucasion bashing then this book is for you! The subtle praises for communism and not so subtle praises of socialism made me want to SCREAM! Oh and let's not forget that Christians in this book are all crazy, Thank goodness the daughters don't fall victim to THAT insanity! What a stupid and highly over-rated read The Poisonwood Bible is.

    13 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2001

    Poisonwood Bible: A Novel

    Why did everyone else like this book? The story was terrible, unlike any of her other works. Way too long and unintersting. Had to force myself to finish it. My mother and I share all of our books with each other but I told her to not bother with this one at all!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    I rarely do not finish a book but I could not finish this one!

    I rarely do not finish a book but I could not finish this one! I got to about page 200 thinking it's got to get better but it didn't. Too much of a chore to read so why bother? Don't know what all the hype was about.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    One of the worst books I've ever read!!

    I threw it in the garbage when I finally finished it.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I was so so disappointed after reading all of Kingsolver's other books that I couldn't even finish it.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Worst Book Ever!

    This book is horrible! Who ever recomends this book has no taste. I hate it more than anything and Oprah is stupid for trying to say it was good!

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2001

    Poisonwood Bible: A Novel

    I am a fairly young reader so I have to say that I had a little difficulty relating to a lot of the story since I wasn't around in the 1950's but that wasn't the only reason I didn't like this book. I read this book for a book club discussion at Barnes and Noble, and for that reason only I finished. Kingsolver's other works Bean Trees, Animal Dreams, etc were beautifully written and I couldn't put them down. I had a hard time picking up the Poisonwood Bible and had to force myself to read it! The story line was extremely uninteresting, the development was very slow in the beginning focusing on every detail of every family member's life. In the end, Kingsolver would skip decades at a time in their lives. It made the story hard to follow. I found myself angry at a lot of the characters, especially the mother for putting up with the father all that time. I realize that most people who read this book absolutely loved it, but I am hear to tell you that I thought it was the worst book I have every read. I will continue to read Kingsolver's other works, maybe this one was just a fluke.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2001

    If I could have given 0 stars I would have

    I also do not understand how anyone could enjoy reading The Poisonwood Bible. It was a tedious read and took me much longer to read than it should have. I usually enjoy most of Oprah's picks, but this one was terrible and did not give me any reason to read another Kingsolver novel. It was 400 pages wasted. The last chapter was the only part of the book that actually showed that Kingsolver has any talent in the field of writing and in the use of her imagination. Even there, however, it left much to be desired.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2000

    I do not like this book

    I have been reading on this book for 2 months and am having a hard time with it. I am an avid reader of all different types of books and this one is a disappointment. I might not finish it. Real disappointed /I have been disappointed with most of Oprahs recommended books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2000

    Couldn't get through it......

    I managed to get through around 150 pages and just couldn't subject myself to furthur boredom. It was hard to care about what happened to a Southern Baptist preacher's family from rural Georgia in the Congo circa 1950. The father never came across as a real person - more as somebody from the movies (think Robert Duvall in 'The Preacher'). Ditto for most of the characters - though the sisters came off as a slightly more detailed sketches.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2000

    Boring

    I think that Barbara Kingsolver is one of the best authors writing today. However, it took me 3 months to finish this book and I only did so hoping it would get better. I found it to be confusing and disjointed and I was very disappointed. I usually keep all the books I read, I gave this one away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2000

    I've read better - much better than this.

    I thought this would be a good read. It's a good snoozer. I was not the only one who thought that, too. I have two sisters who read it and agreed - a waste of valuable reading time. Next time I'll get a book that Oprah pans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2