Customer Reviews for

Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear?

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    He laughed, he cried, he peed in his pants.

    My son of 9 months finds much joy in the board book version of Eric Carle's classic, Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? He watches intently has I read each word and turn each page. There's something about the repetition of the words and the brightly colored animals that attracts him again and again to this book. When we get to the end, he cries unless I start from page one again. After four or five readings he's ready to study one page and slobber on the book's corner.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    Dad of an excited and amused child!

    This book encouraged my son and his friend to make all kinds of animal sounds and laugh when they finally got them right and remembered them. I love to see my son laugh!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    Our 2 year old daughter is always reading this book!

    This book has been amazing! Our daughter packs this book in her backpack anytime we leave the house. Even to take to the park! And she most of all loves to read it to us and also her, 'Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?' book every night before bed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    A must-have for toddlers

    My son who's 21 months old absolutely loves this book and has us read to him at least 10-15 times per day. He can easily identify each animal and is also able to repeat after us and sometimes even by himself. I would greatly recommend this book for young kids and adults likewise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ever since a first-grade teacher friend of mine introduced us to

    Ever since a first-grade teacher friend of mine introduced us to Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? we have been really excited and delighted with these seemingly simple and entertaining little books. We had gone over that book numerous times with our baby boy, and when he started approaching one year of age he *really* got interested in it. So we decided to take a look at some other books in the series, including this one.




    The premise of this little book is similar that of Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?: various animals are asked what they hear, and they point to other animals. All the questions are posed as simple rhymes, and this is one of the main charms of this book. The illustrations are simple yet interesting, and kids will definitely find them fascinating. Unlike Brown Bear, Brown Bear, this book eschews some fanciful animal colors (like purple cat and blue horse), and sticks with the "real" animals. This book also features some more exotic animals (like the boa constrictor) and challenges kids to learn about the creatures one can probably only see at the zoo. The book also teaches about animal sounds, something that even most adults are not too familiar with. In fact, it's the educational value of these books that I delight the most in.




    I have not taken a look at the other versions of this book, but the board book is definitely well designed and immensely suitable for very young kids. Could not recommend it more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Great Book for toddlers

    Not only are the illustrations great, but the fact that it comes with the CD allows my daughter to read independently! Love all Bill Martin Jr and Eric Carle books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Polar Bear, Polar Bear

    Another rollicking rhyming story using your senses, Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do you Hear? abounds with animal sounds. Its vibrant and zany illustrations of a variety of animals, not necessarily the top 10 your child will already know, make for a fun read. My grandson asks for it over and over. And he tries to whistle almost every time too! I have bought it for gifts because most people have Brown Bear, Brown Bear What do you See, but not as many have this one. I think they should.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pola Bear, Polar Bear What Do You Hear?

    My grandaughters love this book, I must re-read it 5 times each time they bring it to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Classic Martin/Carle

    Just as wonderful as the other books by this author and illustrator. The rhyme and tempo make it a favorite for both kids and adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2001

    High school teens can still enjoy books, too.

    I was literate at a very young age, I love all sorts of books especially this one. I have accelled from Polar Bear, Polar Bear..., to all of the Harry Potter Books. I love to read. I read all sorts of books. This one is a great learning experience for all children and there families. I love to do reading fairs just because it involves books. They {books} teach you so many diffrent words, places, religions, and it gives you economical backrounds on anything and everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1