Customer Reviews for

The Polar Express (Read-Aloud)

Average Rating 4
( 291 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(187)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Gorgeous in NOOKbook format!

I had never read The Polar Express before downloading it on my NOOKcolor. It was a little more money than I'll usually spend on a NOOKbook, but I figured since it was such a classic, I'd give it a try. I am SO glad I got it! The "Read to Me" is beautiful. Narrated by Li...
I had never read The Polar Express before downloading it on my NOOKcolor. It was a little more money than I'll usually spend on a NOOKbook, but I figured since it was such a classic, I'd give it a try. I am SO glad I got it! The "Read to Me" is beautiful. Narrated by Liam Neeson, the audio track has voice, music, and even sound effects. My two-year-old sat through almost the whole story the first time we listened to the "Read to Me" together. A wonderful family experience - I highly, highly recommend this book!

posted by Jillybean226 on December 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

WHY?? So Much?

Everyone knows this is a good story, but why the high cost? Might as well buy the book which will last a life time vs this reader that will eventually be an out dated device. *gave low star rating due to price*

posted by 7687386 on April 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 291 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Gorgeous in NOOKbook format!

    I had never read The Polar Express before downloading it on my NOOKcolor. It was a little more money than I'll usually spend on a NOOKbook, but I figured since it was such a classic, I'd give it a try. I am SO glad I got it! The "Read to Me" is beautiful. Narrated by Liam Neeson, the audio track has voice, music, and even sound effects. My two-year-old sat through almost the whole story the first time we listened to the "Read to Me" together. A wonderful family experience - I highly, highly recommend this book!

    44 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    WHY?? So Much?

    Everyone knows this is a good story, but why the high cost? Might as well buy the book which will last a life time vs this reader that will eventually be an out dated device. *gave low star rating due to price*

    27 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    To Expensive!

    I agree for an Ebook 18 to 19 dollars is way too much, I didnt buy it, I would have but not for that price. I would rather get in paper.

    21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Really!

    I would be out of my mind to pay this much for this book! At the library its Free on cd or tape! I have the book and the movie! It is a truly amazing and magical story, but it is WAY too expensive! I took my son on the polar express train ride, a real train, the story was read the waiters danced and gave out hot chocolate it was great! And it didnt cost this much for his ticket! Sad that they would charge this much, shame on them!

    18 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Agree on price-too high

    I am writing this on my color nook, so i will be brief. i know that publishers set the price. i suppose the idea is it is worth more in color...but as a classic it should be cheaper, not moere expensive. Shame on the publisher. To answer the comment on how much is a child's smile worth? it's worth buying five OTHER books that's what it is worth.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    expensive

    its way to expensive my mom has the kindle and she got it for 3 dollars

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    !

    I love this story i always have,always will. But 19 dollars?!?!? If you want to read this book, i would suggest going to a library

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Great book but super expensive

    Awsome but $18 is to much

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Kidding me?

    Wayyyyyyy to expensive - stop trying to rip us off

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    grrrrr

    it costs so much!!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    stupid

    TOO EXPENSIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!! $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No

    Why would someone pay almost 20 bucks for a BOOK??? U just have to read it. Then its over... stupid why would somebody do that? Wow. Tiny brains that dont know how to think. What a waste of money. :(

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Great book...cant record your own voice on nook color

    One reviewer mentioned recording your own voice...this is only on nook tablet, but great book with beautiful narration and background music.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Stupid idiots. It's leess expensive than than the printed book. Go to a bookstore. You will find that chilldren's picture books cost a MINIMUM of $16.99!

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Gorgeous book for Adults too!!

    What a beautiful book!! I'm 45 but always loved this story for years now. The read to me feature is wonderfully narrated nd you can record your voice for your loved ones. I'm reading this from my Nook Tablet.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    I know some people feel this ebook is too expensive at $18.95, b

    I know some people feel this ebook is too expensive at $18.95, but I feel differently. It's so beautiful on my new NOOK HD+. It has a huge screen with great resolution. And Liam Neeson's narration makes it even better. When my hardcover version got tattered from wear, I found out my digital book would live on in my library, no many how many NOOKs I buy over the years. That's a great savings! Merry Christmas, everyone.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    EPIC

    Very epic

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    This is a great book.

    This book is a great christmas story. If you like the book watch the movie. If you like the movie read the book

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2000

    My Favorite Christmas Book For 11 Years

    This is the best christmas book ever! I got this Christmas eve 11 years ago. Every Christmas eve since my dad sits down with me (I'm now 18) and my older brother and sister and we hear the story of the polar express. And we still here the bell ringing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Bought the Nook book for $9.99...beautiful book but it's read VE

    Bought the Nook book for $9.99...beautiful book but it's read VERY slowly with lots of giant pauses so my toddler lost interest pretty quickly. Otherwise, it's a great book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 291 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15