Customer Reviews for

Polgara the Sorceress

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Greatest Thing Since Sunscrene!!

This is a great conclusion to Everything we learned from the precursers, and I believe that it brings Polgara's life full circle. She goes from being a twin and a daughter, to being the most powerful woman in the world, to being a wife, and finally to being the mother o...
This is a great conclusion to Everything we learned from the precursers, and I believe that it brings Polgara's life full circle. She goes from being a twin and a daughter, to being the most powerful woman in the world, to being a wife, and finally to being the mother of twins. This volume, along with Belgarath, give us the background of everything that has happened in the Belgaraid and Mallorean, and, specifically, the ancestry of Belgarion and Ce'Nedra.

posted by Anonymous on August 18, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

disappointed

If the previous parts to this, what could only be described as an epic, had been condensed into four of five books, then belgarath and polgara may have done more to add to the illusion of this fanatasy. As it is Eddings seems more intent in dragging out these series to...
If the previous parts to this, what could only be described as an epic, had been condensed into four of five books, then belgarath and polgara may have done more to add to the illusion of this fanatasy. As it is Eddings seems more intent in dragging out these series to match his 6 figure advances.

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2003

    The Greatest Thing Since Sunscrene!!

    This is a great conclusion to Everything we learned from the precursers, and I believe that it brings Polgara's life full circle. She goes from being a twin and a daughter, to being the most powerful woman in the world, to being a wife, and finally to being the mother of twins. This volume, along with Belgarath, give us the background of everything that has happened in the Belgaraid and Mallorean, and, specifically, the ancestry of Belgarion and Ce'Nedra.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2000

    disappointed

    If the previous parts to this, what could only be described as an epic, had been condensed into four of five books, then belgarath and polgara may have done more to add to the illusion of this fanatasy. As it is Eddings seems more intent in dragging out these series to match his 6 figure advances.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    Polgara the Sorceress

    It was good to fill in some of the details of Polgara's life. It helped explain a few things that happened in the Belgariad & Malorian series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2005

    Review for Polgara

    I LOVED this book! Having read all the other books in Eddings' series, Polgara's account was eye-opening and thought-provoking. And, I mean, come on, you have to admit the Polgara is the coolest character in the whole series! Her sharp wit, tenderness, and compassion as a narrator make this a book well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    You have to read it!!!!

    This is my favorite book!!! The story is basically a summary of the Belgariad from the point of view of Polgara. It answers some questions from the other books and explains what really happened before Garion's adventures. I could not put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    What a Great Book!

    I love this book! It is my favorite from David Eddings. It has romance, magic, and sorrow. It is truly a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2002

    The Magic Goes On

    Polgara helps to bring understanding to the the Belgariad and Malloreom,wich are just as good and perfect books. As you as a reader go whirling into a world full of magic, love, hate and suspense. It gives you the felling that you are really there! Highly recommendrd to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2001

    Amazing!

    A great book that's filled with sadness, longing, and sacrifice. Eddings is a wonderful author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2001

    Love and the loss of love, and loving your family it never seems to end when your 3 thousand yrs old..

    From the beginning, she was taught how to use her powers and control them. Soon after she started to teach the vaga bond (as she called him) the lessons of women and people. I would recommend this book to all fantasy readers. She had dispised her father and later learned that she loved him just as he was. This book is a lesson of life and death and acceptance of life so read and learn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2001

    Fantastic

    I loved this book. I had never read David Eddings before and am now reading Queen of Sorcery. I thought that it told about some strong relationships and it had plenty of adventure. It also had some jokes that women would understand faster then men would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    The best book ever!!

    I found that after reading this book I just had to read all the others. It is full of adventure and womenly insight from the mind of polgara.It kept me in laughter and in tears I think it's the perfect book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2001

    Very sweet book!

    Okay, maybe its just because I think David Eddings is one of the greatest authors of all time, but this book is excellent! I have most of his books (All the series with Belgarion and Belgarth in them, plus both the Sparhawk series) and this is a very nice addition to my collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2001

    Polgara is a book for all

    Polgara the Sorceress is a wonderful book filled with action, adventure, laughter and tears. This is a book that people of all ages can relate to. It goes into true human emotion. The description of Polgara's life, through all of her suffering, joy, loss, and much more is amazing. It has brought tears of sadness and joy, and gales of laughter to me and I recomend this book to anyone with a desire to get lost in a world unlike our own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    Polgara the Sorceress is an Amazing Book

    I just thought that it was and excellent book about the life of a three thousand year old woman who changed the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 1999

    Best Eddings book yet!

    I loved this book! It was the best one of the Eddings' books I've read! This book filled in what Belgarath the Sorcerer left out, and then some. I thought that Polgara should have done a little more with the characters of the Belgariad/Malloreon, but I guess Belgarath had a little bit more interaction with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3