Customer Reviews for

Police (Harry Hole Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Jo Nesbo writes a really different type of police crime thriller

Jo Nesbo writes a really different type of police crime thriller in my estimation. The excitement, clues, and excellent characterization are all there , but his truly great writing style allows for an extra added enjoyment for me. He combines "gritty" with &qu...
Jo Nesbo writes a really different type of police crime thriller in my estimation. The excitement, clues, and excellent characterization are all there , but his truly great writing style allows for an extra added enjoyment for me. He combines "gritty" with "intellectual thoughts" that makes me think Jack the Ripper meets a new modern, Sherlock Holmes. While reading along at a marathon pace, trying to figure out who the bad guys are, I'm shocked into stillness with one of Harry Hole's "rules"-----like searching a room for what is not there, rather than what is there to be seen. These things raise Jo Nesbo's book a level above the average mystery/ thriller for me.




In POLICE, Detective Harry Hole finds himself thrust aside by the Chief of Police. Not only is his help not needed, the Police Chief wants him and his crew to be "hands off" in the most recent events plaguing the Norwegian countryside. Policeman are being brutally murdered at the sites of unsolved crimes, at the same time and date of these unsolved crimes. You might think that the Police Chief would welcome- no command-Harry's help, since he's been at the center of solving so many crimes in the past. But for reason of his own, the new young Police Chief might actually rather see Harry dead---WHY? How does this fit in with these recent crimes?




Added to all the search for answers to these sadistic police killings, Harry has himself a beautiful female student stalker. He's also keeping a huge secret that could send his lover's son to jail. Then there's the gun that's hidden in his cabinet that keeps calling out to Harry, but Harry has vowed to never open that cabinet. Lastly, there is the boy's mother, Rakel, who has captured Harry's heart as no women has ever done so completely before. 




So much story line could be confusing for another author, but Jo Nesbo has actually created a story in POLICE, where you just know that every word, every scenery, every potential suspect is totally necessary for this spellbinding book. When it ended, I was left starving for the next installment in the life of Harry Hole! Now I need to go back and read all the previous books in this series and hope a new Harry Hole book has been written before I run out Jo Nesbo's compulsive writing!!

posted by RonnaL on October 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoiler

Only one review and it ruins the book by revealing the entire storyline. Bn please do something to these rude plot spoilers that give away the entire book. Ban them and delete their pists pkease.

posted by 8888649 on October 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    Jo Nesbo writes a really different type of police crime thriller

    Jo Nesbo writes a really different type of police crime thriller in my estimation. The excitement, clues, and excellent characterization are all there , but his truly great writing style allows for an extra added enjoyment for me. He combines "gritty" with "intellectual thoughts" that makes me think Jack the Ripper meets a new modern, Sherlock Holmes. While reading along at a marathon pace, trying to figure out who the bad guys are, I'm shocked into stillness with one of Harry Hole's "rules"-----like searching a room for what is not there, rather than what is there to be seen. These things raise Jo Nesbo's book a level above the average mystery/ thriller for me.




    In POLICE, Detective Harry Hole finds himself thrust aside by the Chief of Police. Not only is his help not needed, the Police Chief wants him and his crew to be "hands off" in the most recent events plaguing the Norwegian countryside. Policeman are being brutally murdered at the sites of unsolved crimes, at the same time and date of these unsolved crimes. You might think that the Police Chief would welcome- no command-Harry's help, since he's been at the center of solving so many crimes in the past. But for reason of his own, the new young Police Chief might actually rather see Harry dead---WHY? How does this fit in with these recent crimes?




    Added to all the search for answers to these sadistic police killings, Harry has himself a beautiful female student stalker. He's also keeping a huge secret that could send his lover's son to jail. Then there's the gun that's hidden in his cabinet that keeps calling out to Harry, but Harry has vowed to never open that cabinet. Lastly, there is the boy's mother, Rakel, who has captured Harry's heart as no women has ever done so completely before. 




    So much story line could be confusing for another author, but Jo Nesbo has actually created a story in POLICE, where you just know that every word, every scenery, every potential suspect is totally necessary for this spellbinding book. When it ended, I was left starving for the next installment in the life of Harry Hole! Now I need to go back and read all the previous books in this series and hope a new Harry Hole book has been written before I run out Jo Nesbo's compulsive writing!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Plot spoiler

    Only one review and it ruins the book by revealing the entire storyline. Bn please do something to these rude plot spoilers that give away the entire book. Ban them and delete their pists pkease.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    I whole heartedly agree with PLOT SPOILER about the readers that

    I whole heartedly agree with PLOT SPOILER about the readers that tell the whole story with their so called review. Thank goodness I read POLICE before going to reviews. My only suggestion to people new to Harry Hole is read him in order. I didn't ,but love Jo Nesbo's writing anyway.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Police

    Having now read every Harry book by Jo Nesbo, it may be fair to say that he has knocked my socks off once again. These fast paced, multi-dimensional books bring out the philopher/psychologist/detective in one's imagination. It is in the characters that he truly excels. They become real for the duration. So happy that Harry continues to survive and at last we had a happy ending!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    As Yogi famously said, ¿It ain¿t over ¿til it¿s over.¿ That is

    As Yogi famously said, “It ain’t over ‘til it’s over.” That is the fundamental precept of this latest Harry Hole novel. The reader has to pore through red herring after false clue until reaching the end and discovering the identity of the real culprit. The basic plot is about a series of murders of policemen lured to a crime scene on the anniversaries of a murder and then killed. And the police force hasn’t a clue, including Harry’s group, who are operating not only without him, but also with no leads.

    This is the tenth novel in the series, continuing where “Phantom” ended: With the reader not knowing whether Harry is alive or dead after sustaining three bullet wounds, one to the head, fired by Oleg, the son of Harry’s girlfriend, Rakel. The novel brings back many of the familiar characters who have populated previous books in the series, primarily Harry’s closest colleagues.

    The novel is cleverly constructed, and as each potential suspect is revealed, the reader is provided a new clue, raising the possibility of yet another perpetrator. Once again, Jo Nesbo has written a superb mystery, moving the story forward in imaginative steps. Each one of the 416 pages is swiftly turned.

    Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2014

    Quite exciting. Among his best

    Quite exciting. Among his best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Wonderful Norwegian Mystery

    Probably the best of Nesbo's (unfortunately named) Harry Hole series. I've read them all; can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Great Read!

    Jo Nesbo's novels seems to have that other worldly feel about them that it takes your mind into areas you weren't expecting. Police was my second novel by Nesbo, the first being Snowman. Both were excruciatingly tense and came to natural conclusions -- if your mind works at Harry Hole's does. Wonderfully tense and relief when the end of the story came.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Harry rules

    Series maintains supurb authorship. Tension, intrigue, characters real. Addictivr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Enjoyable Reading!

    I've read all of the books in the Harry Hole series except for The Cockroaches (#2 in the series) which is suppose to be available soon in the U.S. Enjoyed the characters and the stories of each book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Like their winters the norse mysteries are far removed from

    The days of the midnight sun and totally dark depressing in need of AAA and too much herring no wonder they went berserk one editorial review did it not to mention the first capter sample mom

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Awful

    Worst Harry Hole novel. I have read them all.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Thank you!

    As always an awesome story. Suspensful to the last page!


    SPOILER:
    Thank you Jo Nesbo for not killing Harry and letting him marry Rakel. Very sad about Beate.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Great!

    One of the best harry hole novels!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2