Customer Reviews for

The Politically Incorrect Guide to Islam (and the Crusades)

Average Rating 3.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Must Read

This book should be required reading and a starting point for anyone seriously interested in Islam and the Crusades. Were the Crusaders perfect - No, but they were trying to recapture Christian lands. Muslims had already invaded Europe by the sword which was how Islam...
This book should be required reading and a starting point for anyone seriously interested in Islam and the Crusades. Were the Crusaders perfect - No, but they were trying to recapture Christian lands. Muslims had already invaded Europe by the sword which was how Islam was spread throughout. Islam has lead to opression and misery everyone it has spread. Look at the global issues today. Islam is in the center of most. It doesn't coexist well anywhere when it builds enmasse. I know too many people that have left their country because of Islam. Does that make all Muslims bad - absolutely not. Unfortunately education in the US has too much of a PC influence and doesn't provide a balanced approach to many subjects. This one included. This book may not be perfect, but it is definetely an eye-opener. Islam and the Koran are not built on the same moral code as Christianity. Read it, observe Muslim behavior worldwide. Islam is built on power, intolerance, and the subjegation of women and non-beliviers. I am not a scholar of Islam, but I am capable of observing Islamic societies. Mr. Spencer doesn't have his facts refuted. Research him and discover only his credibility is attacked. Not his research and information presented.

posted by Anonymous on September 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Falsity, Deception and Lies at it's best

A true study of Islam is required. Reading the Qur'an, studying the life of Muhammad, and looking at Muslims in history is necessary. Under an Islamic state is the only time we have seen TRUE tolerance. In Muslim Spain, Christains and Jews were allowed to have their ...
A true study of Islam is required. Reading the Qur'an, studying the life of Muhammad, and looking at Muslims in history is necessary. Under an Islamic state is the only time we have seen TRUE tolerance. In Muslim Spain, Christains and Jews were allowed to have their own places of worship as well as their own courts and laws. Where in the world do we see that now. Not only did the Prophet Muhammad demand respect of other religions but he made the Muslims sign a law promising they would die to defend the Churches and Synagogues. Sorry to all those Islamaphobics wanting to find something negative on Islam, but these are the facts.

posted by Anonymous on April 27, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2007

    Must Read

    This book should be required reading and a starting point for anyone seriously interested in Islam and the Crusades. Were the Crusaders perfect - No, but they were trying to recapture Christian lands. Muslims had already invaded Europe by the sword which was how Islam was spread throughout. Islam has lead to opression and misery everyone it has spread. Look at the global issues today. Islam is in the center of most. It doesn't coexist well anywhere when it builds enmasse. I know too many people that have left their country because of Islam. Does that make all Muslims bad - absolutely not. Unfortunately education in the US has too much of a PC influence and doesn't provide a balanced approach to many subjects. This one included. This book may not be perfect, but it is definetely an eye-opener. Islam and the Koran are not built on the same moral code as Christianity. Read it, observe Muslim behavior worldwide. Islam is built on power, intolerance, and the subjegation of women and non-beliviers. I am not a scholar of Islam, but I am capable of observing Islamic societies. Mr. Spencer doesn't have his facts refuted. Research him and discover only his credibility is attacked. Not his research and information presented.

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2006

    Important presentation

    This book was recommended to me by a Lebanese Arab-American who, after growing up in that country and emmigrating has presented the book as a truthful treatment of the tenents of Islam. I find the book well researched and quite refreshing after hearing nothing but apologies for everything we are as Americans. It's time as Americans to stand up and say that all the evil in the world is not necessarily our fault simply because we are Americans.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    The truth about Islam and the Crusades

    I know nothing about Islam and purchased this book to become at least conversational regarding it. To my shock,I have discovered that Islam is not what its supporters purport it to be. This book is so "anti-Islam" that it compelled me to go out and buy an actual Holy Koran to compare claim to actual verse. What I wanted to know for myself was, " Is Politically Incorrect slandering the Koran or telling the truth?" To my amazement, Politically Incorrect was correct approximately 85% of the time; the other 15% did not match the claims it made, or, the verses were not in the exact place it said they would be located. But, nevertheless, I enjoyed the book, learned a lot and will use it as a reference when I engage in Christian vs Islam debats.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful starting point

    This book is an excellent starter book for anyone who wants to understand the danger that is Islamic terrorism. It was written by a man who has a masters in Religious Studies and has studied Islam for well over twenty years. <BR/><BR/>The book itself touches on various aspects of Islamic teachings and history. The section on the Crusades caused me to dig deeper into the true history of the Christian/Muslim conflicts. What I liked best about the book is when the book shows what Jesus taught versus the teachings of Muhammad. It shows what the Bible says versus what is said in the Qur'an and in the Hadith.<BR/><BR/>Take the information and references provided in this book and run with them!

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    There is no 'Radical Islam'... just simply Islam

    After reading the Quran (translated by Abdul Yusuf Ali), I purchased the CD version of this book and listened to it extensively during my daily commute of nearly one hour. I was blown away by its depth, annotation, and related historical facts. I HIGHLY recommend this book (or set of CDs) to all who wish to know the truth about Islam. To be knowledgeable enough to 'cut through' the BS spouted by those who defend Islam, to know the whole truth, not just the politically correct portion of the truth, should be an American educational requirement. Islam declared war on all that is not Islamic more than 1400 years ago. Sadly, I believe it will take an atrocity orders of magnitude greater than 9/11 to wake up the American people to that fact.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2007

    Open your eyes to what's happening

    I work in the intelligence field and this book is a must read. Don't be fooled by the reviews of some people here claiming the book is wrong or baseless, and that the author is off point, because he is not! Read this book inconjunction with the Koran and you will see for yourself how Islam is.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    Falsity, Deception and Lies at it's best

    A true study of Islam is required. Reading the Qur'an, studying the life of Muhammad, and looking at Muslims in history is necessary. Under an Islamic state is the only time we have seen TRUE tolerance. In Muslim Spain, Christains and Jews were allowed to have their own places of worship as well as their own courts and laws. Where in the world do we see that now. Not only did the Prophet Muhammad demand respect of other religions but he made the Muslims sign a law promising they would die to defend the Churches and Synagogues. Sorry to all those Islamaphobics wanting to find something negative on Islam, but these are the facts.

    9 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    Thanks, Mr. Spencer!

    Writing a controversial book of the nature isn't easy! However, it is much needed. Americans need to wake up to an understanding of what the Islamic agenda is all about. Thanks, Mr. Spencer for your courage to do so!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    Loved it - scholarly, informative, easy to read & understand

    Descriptive,, defines things in an educated style, but in an easy to read format.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2006

    illuminating book and responses

    A book well researched directly from Islamic sources. I find it interesting that the wide gap in reviews replicates the cultural gap extant today. Hmm, now why do you think that could be? The book has been attacked for it's 'motivations' but never for the facts contained, at least not successfully.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2006

    A reviewer and has lived in Islamic countries

    This is a very accurate, and as its title states,'politically incorrect' look at Islam. Like it or not, for all of the cries from other reviewers that the author's points are simply 'false', I can say without a doubt that off the cuff criticism of the book belies intolerance for any critical analysis of Islam that is demanded of other religions. That is the purpose behind this book. The author's points, clearly made, point out what the Koran states. I'm sorry, but what is written in the Koran is in the Koran! The intolerance of other religions, while downplayed, is still a fact of life. The 'Dhimmi' are not even allowed to speak the Prophet Muhammed's name. Any practice of your own faith must be done in secret. Period. While there will be those who claim that the book misrepresents and oversimplifies Islam, I can only state that it provides a critical look at a world religion that is simply applied towards others. In true Islamic style, criticism is not allowed.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    Janus

    I grow more angry every day. I try very hard to keep a balanced opinion and actively look from different quarters to prove my growning concerns wrong or unfounded. It is disappointing that I continue to be unable to do so. I find the most disturbing prospect of this issue is the lack of attention it receives in the United States. I find an ever increasing number of situations that directly mirror Chapter three in this book or at least parts of it. I really get especially upset knowing that many Muslims come to the United States, swear allegiance to uphold and defend this constitution only to marry American's with a birthright of hard won rights and slowly erode the woman's self esteem and ignore those enshrined rights of life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness in the name of Islam through gradual and systematic abuse and degredation. Americans need to not only wake up but put a stop to such abusive relationships. Doing this will help deny an increasing foothold in our country. For the naysayers, let them show that the principles in the book and the widespread abuse is NOT true.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    Biased

    This book was ridiculously biased, without any basis in the religion of Islam. I'm a muslim, and I know my religion. If you are writing a book on religion, at least some thought should have gone into it, maybe a little bit of studying. This book was just written to give muslims a bad name by confusing the poor public who read this thinking it is the truth

    3 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2006

    The Truth

    This should be mandatory reading for Americans. This is the threat we face today, and we must unite against it, or we will lose to the violence, intolerance, and threat to progress that Islam represents. Some reviews on this site claim it is a narrow and incorrect view of Islam. Well, tune your TV to the world news and see what it truly is. How can this be disputed? The American culture is in danger, and we are sleeping through it. Please read this book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2006

    Insightful and thought provoking look at Islam

    The book is very well laid out and the author provides an abundance of sources that support this book. This book is an eye opener and a must read for anyone interested in the root causes of our modern day conflict.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    The Heart of the Matter

    Finally, one book that dares tell the truth and shame the PC devil.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    YOU CAN'T CHANGE DESTINY

    The book is just hilarious. If any person believes this Spencer guy and his interpretations of Islam, I would be forced to question his logic and his intelligence. It is AGAINST ISLAM to start a war. The guy doesn't even know the definition of Jihad! Spread by the sword huh??? Islam is the fastest growing religion in the world TODAY!!!!!! And has been for the last century--as was predicted by the Prophet (pbuh)--no book written against this miraculous religion can change its DESTINY. Who's forcing who to do what? Are Muslims forcing the Westerners to convert to Islam? Are they holding up a sword against their necks and forcing them to convert?? Believe me if this was the case, you would not have millions of Arab Christians (who were in Islamic territory before and after the advent of Islam). Go learn Islamic history and law from someone who knows what they're talking about--you owe it to yourself--you've only got one life to live--it would be a shame to throw it away on a piece of junk book like this. Go learn why more people are converting to Islam than any other religion in the world today--go on! What are you waiting for?

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Absolute rubbish!

    I am surprised to see this book at the top of the list of islamic books. This is the most distorted description of islam I have ever read. The fact that Mr. Spencer's decribed as an 'expert' on islam is ignominios!!If you really want an objective and factual portrayal of Islam read Gai Eaton, Martin Lings, Karen Armstrong or Thomas Cleary.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    Politically Incorrect Guide to Islam (and the Crusades)

    This book is a fine short summary on the basic principles of Islam. It explains how the radical branch of the religion can justify the use of violence, terror, murder and intimidation around the world. Mr. Spencer allows the reader to judge for oneself, and quotes the Koran extensively. In addition, he provides an excellent bibliography for further reading. Many people are in need of answers at this troubling time in history. This book provides the knowledge and insight to better understand the news we hear daily coming out of Iraq, Afganistan, Africa and Indonesia. No muslum should be offended or afraid of the truth. Only through understanding, tolerance and moderation will all the peoples of the world be able to live in peace. No race, culture, or religion that forces subjugation on another will ever be the path to peace and justice.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    hmm..

    Short excerp from Wikipedia, which is actually semi- scholarly compared to this 'book' 'Christians were forbidden to convert to Judaism on pain of death during most of the Middle Ages. In the 1700s a famous convert by the name of Count Valentin Potoski in Poland was burned at the stake. He was a contemporary and a disciple of Rabbi Elijah, known as the Vilna Gaon. In Hellenistic and Roman times, some Pharisees were eager proselytizers, and had at least some success throughout the empire. Some Jews are also descended from converts to Judaism outside the Mediterranean world. It is known that some Khazars, Edomites, and Ethiopians, as well as many Arabs, particularly in Yemen before, converted to Judaism in the past today in the United States, Israel and Europe some people still convert to Judaism. In fact, there is a greater tradition of conversion to Judaism than many people realize. The word 'proselyte' originally meant a Greek who had converted to Judaism. As late as the 6th century the Eastern Roman empire (i.e., the Byzantine empire) was issuing decrees against conversion to Judaism, implying that conversion to Judaism was still occurring. I have no idea about you people who think this book is great, or can answer Christianities loathing of Judiasm, or for that fact even the adherants to Mani (Manichiasm), the mongering that goes on is truly incredible, check your sources and look for real history, not under 20$ garbage like this.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5