Customer Reviews for

Pompeii

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    Surprisingly Good

    When I was first assigned this book for my Ancient Civilizations class I was not exactly excited to read it. I actually dreaded it. I am not the type of person to read historical fiction novels just for fun. But when I picked it up I realized about half way through that I was not able to put it down. Overall i loved the book. It did take me a while to get into because the beginning was pretty much just useless information that kept dragging on but when i got about half way into the book things really started to pick up. I even read over weekends which is very unusual for me. The book was filled with totally accurate and very interesting information but on the side it also had a little mystery, action, and even some romance. I really enjoyed this book and I would recommend it to anyone and I'm not just saying that, I'm not a big reader especially a historical fiction reader but in all honesty this is now one of my

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    a true page turner

    Just recommended that our school library pick up a copy .Yes,the novel is very predictable but who cares we already know the mountain is going to blow. The beauty is that he gets into the culture of the times the food ,mice for lunch bunch,and the physics of a aqueduct and the water chemistry. There are enough villans and saviors to keep one happy . I liked it a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Pompeii is an impressive historical fiction thriller written by

    Pompeii is an impressive historical fiction thriller written by British author Robert Harris. It is set during the Roman Empire in the year 79 A.D. along the Mediterranean coast. The protagonist of the story is Marcus Attilius Primus, the new aquarius (water engineer) for the Agua Augusta, the gigantic aqueduct that supplies fresh water to the many cities surrounding the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. Drama unfolds as the springs that flow through the Agua begin to fail, affecting the water supply to the region. Attilius is called to assemble an expedition to Pompeii and nearby Mt. Vesuvius to repair the faculty section of the aqueduct. Meanwhile, tremors and rumblings from Vesuvius strike fear of impending disaster in the citizens, who have come to know the wrath of the god Vulcan. Pompeii is a city teeming with crime and corruption, and Attilius encounters a greedy landowner's scheme to divert the public water supply for his own profit. Mass chaos results as the volcano erupts, overwhelming citizens in different stages of evacuation from their homes. Attilius attempts a daring escape through the repaired aqueduct tunnel as Vesuvius unleashes its deadly fury upon Pompeii. Who ultimately survives the catastrophe, and who will perish? The exciting finale will keep readers in suspense until the end. Pompeii is definitely worth reading, because it is exciting as well as educational. Harris uses a combination of fact and fiction that results in a very entertaining novel for fans of both genres. I learned details about ancient Roman culture, and aqueduct engineering that allowed this civilization to prosper. I could also relate to the storyline of corruption and greed vs. good that I see in modern times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Fun read

    Enjoyed the story line that personalized this event. Will be looking for other books by Harris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    Loved it

    Well-written, easy read for someone who's been fascinated with Pompeii since 2nd grade. Compelling story with believable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Really enjoyed this

    Was the first book I read on Pompeii after visiting the exhibit at Chicago's Museum of Natural History. This simple story made me want to learn more about Pompeii, Vesuvius, and that period of Roman history in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    Enjoyable

    I enjoyed this book overall. The story is very interesting and stimulating during the final chapters, though I thought it had a slow page in the beginning. The major themes - the power of fate, corruption of society, and awareness - were very good and well-developed. The historical accuracy and hint of romance were the parts I liked best. I didn't think I'd be interested in historical fiction until I read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    good for entering the roman world of pompeii

    the historical accuracy is pretty good (if the final moments were a little far-fetched), and the story moves along at a cracking pace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    great book

    i read this bood a few years ago and i couldnt put it done. it had detailed historical facts that make the read believe they in pompeii the day the volcano erupted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    Historical page-turner

    As a buff of all ancient history, I am always looking for novels that support the archeology I so enjoy reading. This was fun and exciting, even though, like Apollo 13, we already know the ending. I'll definately read other Robert Harris books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    Dead Fish, First Clue

    Vesuvius didn't erupt in isolation, of course, and we've seen the ancient tableau of those who died in its rain of fire and ash. Robert Harris counts down to the catastrophe using the movements of those who lived and died; among them Pliny the Elder, a colorful character and true philosopher quoted to this day. If you like your history as partial fiction, this is a great book for you. P.S. the dying fish have something to do with the break in a Roman aquaduct, another fascinating aside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Excellent Historical!

    I really enjoyed this historical novel. It is part thriller, part mystery, and lots of history. I learned a lot about the aquaduct system for the water in ancient Rome, about volcanoes and eruptions and was kept on the edge of my seat with suspense too! Can't beat that combination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2