Customer Reviews for

Pop Goes the Weasel (Alex Cross Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 296 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Slippery foes and heartbreaks galore, the usual mayhem if you're Alex Cross

The fifth installment of the amazing series doesn't disappoint, if anything it makes me want to get back into the complex lives of these strong characters the moment that last page is turned. These books have a tendency of sucking me in hard and fast and making my mind ...
The fifth installment of the amazing series doesn't disappoint, if anything it makes me want to get back into the complex lives of these strong characters the moment that last page is turned. These books have a tendency of sucking me in hard and fast and making my mind wander around the story line even when I'm not reading it. I think there are sixteen or so books now in this series and I am always trying my best not to peak at what they are about, spoilers galore can happen, so I try my best to know as little as possible about each before I start reading it. James Patterson did a great job of creating the Cross family, making the reader care and worry about them, after all when a detective is being stalked and harassed by crazed psychopaths his family fall prey to them as well, making me stressed out but completely absorbed into the plot.

This time the nemesis is not only dangerous and blood thirsty but seems to have no regard for his own life, the games is tastier when the stakes are ultra high, making Alex's life extra complicated, his good deeds seem to be turning on him when a suspect turns the tables, making a mockery of the trail, making people question whether Alex caught the right guy. Never mind that the evidence points to the truth, the dirty game of lies and deception has reached new levels, making this a tasty and intense read. The killer plays a game with 3 other shady characters, throwing dice to pick their next victim and ways of disposing them, whether the killings are random or planned, they send shockwaves through all the pages. Peace and quiet never lasts long at the Cross house, no matter what great things develop. At one point something happens to one of the characters that made me recoil in shock, adding an extra ounce of worry to the whole story line, I absolutely loved the ending and I won't pretend that I wasn't close to tears reading it. Well a few tears but still...I'm a softie deep down there somewhere. This book was really fun and crazy and thrilling and all the good things one looks for in a thriller. As always I recommend reading in order to get the most out of all the delicious mayhem that twists harder and harder with each novel. Patterson had managed to keep a hum over the whole tale with someone's tragedy and it really made the book better than I expected, I can't wait to read the next.

- Kasia S.

posted by Kasia_S on June 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

definitely not his best work

i thought the romance dialog was very corny and a lot of the references to alex's family were repeats from previous books. the time sequence was all out of wack and the end of the love section of this story was very predictable. mr patterson did do a fair job with the g...
i thought the romance dialog was very corny and a lot of the references to alex's family were repeats from previous books. the time sequence was all out of wack and the end of the love section of this story was very predictable. mr patterson did do a fair job with the geoffrey shafer character, bit i felt that could still have been fleshed out some.a very disappointing effort from a good writer i have enjoyed in the past.

posted by Anonymous on February 2, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 298 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Slippery foes and heartbreaks galore, the usual mayhem if you're Alex Cross

    The fifth installment of the amazing series doesn't disappoint, if anything it makes me want to get back into the complex lives of these strong characters the moment that last page is turned. These books have a tendency of sucking me in hard and fast and making my mind wander around the story line even when I'm not reading it. I think there are sixteen or so books now in this series and I am always trying my best not to peak at what they are about, spoilers galore can happen, so I try my best to know as little as possible about each before I start reading it. James Patterson did a great job of creating the Cross family, making the reader care and worry about them, after all when a detective is being stalked and harassed by crazed psychopaths his family fall prey to them as well, making me stressed out but completely absorbed into the plot.

    This time the nemesis is not only dangerous and blood thirsty but seems to have no regard for his own life, the games is tastier when the stakes are ultra high, making Alex's life extra complicated, his good deeds seem to be turning on him when a suspect turns the tables, making a mockery of the trail, making people question whether Alex caught the right guy. Never mind that the evidence points to the truth, the dirty game of lies and deception has reached new levels, making this a tasty and intense read. The killer plays a game with 3 other shady characters, throwing dice to pick their next victim and ways of disposing them, whether the killings are random or planned, they send shockwaves through all the pages. Peace and quiet never lasts long at the Cross house, no matter what great things develop. At one point something happens to one of the characters that made me recoil in shock, adding an extra ounce of worry to the whole story line, I absolutely loved the ending and I won't pretend that I wasn't close to tears reading it. Well a few tears but still...I'm a softie deep down there somewhere. This book was really fun and crazy and thrilling and all the good things one looks for in a thriller. As always I recommend reading in order to get the most out of all the delicious mayhem that twists harder and harder with each novel. Patterson had managed to keep a hum over the whole tale with someone's tragedy and it really made the book better than I expected, I can't wait to read the next.

    - Kasia S.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Love James Patterson, excellent author!

    I am enjoying the Alex Cross series. Every book I've read so far has kept me in suspense. Once I finish one book I can't wait to start reading the next.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2000

    Patterson is back

    After that whimpy book When the Wind Blows Patterson is back. I throughly enjoyed this book. I really missed Alex. I love knowing who the murder is and the Knowing what each one is doing till they finally meet. The love angle is also very romantic. It was alittle hoky at the end but, it will be interesting to see if Christine can tame the wild bull. I hope not. I would really miss Alex the wild man.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Roseclaw

    A girgeous she cat walks in. Any tom wanna fuc. K me?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    A must read along with the rest of the series i read them all

    Give it a chance u will be glad if u do

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2000

    definitely not his best work

    i thought the romance dialog was very corny and a lot of the references to alex's family were repeats from previous books. the time sequence was all out of wack and the end of the love section of this story was very predictable. mr patterson did do a fair job with the geoffrey shafer character, bit i felt that could still have been fleshed out some.a very disappointing effort from a good writer i have enjoyed in the past.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Hello

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Misty

    I dono. You told me to come here so i came here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Jaredno8 told you to come here

    Dont be alarmeby what i do next at res 1 ...for work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Rosa

    "Okay?" She traied. "What is it?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    Another brilliant book by Patterson

    I love Patterson books and "Pop Goes the Weasel" is right on track. I have read many of his books but decided to start with the #1 book of the Alex Cross series and work my way through all of them in succession. Fabulous! I recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Lm

    Lauren maxwell the tooth fariy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    very good book I love Alex Cross All I read is James Patterson book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Bastetwing

    Oookaayy...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Recommended

    If you are an Alex Cross fan this will be a must to read. It is page turner and flows well. It was hard to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Good, but........

    A good read although it is not as intriguing as his other books. I still would read this. I am waiting for the next Alex Cross movie....Hollywood are you listening????

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Jaysoar

    CRAZY GOOD!!!! ((Dappleblaze, Firelight, Bumblewing, Wildshade, Briarfire, Blossomwillow, Aspenshine, Stumpy-eye, Kinkscar, and Mousestep. -Jaysoar

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    More names

    •Ghostwing <br> •Spiritbird <br> •Beartalon <br> •Hawkprize <br> •Icetreasure <br> •Mintsparrow <br> •Starfeather <br> •Russetpine <br> •Birchhollow <br> •Specklewish <br> •Cloudshine <br> •Bumblefoot <br> • Fernsun <br> •Windtraveler <br> •Twilightghost <p> *hope i helped again* -Dewkit

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Alex cross

    It's hard to go wrong with Alex Cross. Always enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Check this one out!

    Another great book by James Patterson. I enjoy his books more than any I have read. I am definitely hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 298 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15