Customer Reviews for

Pop Goes the Weasel (Alex Cross Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 299 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(151)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Slippery foes and heartbreaks galore, the usual mayhem if you're Alex Cross

The fifth installment of the amazing series doesn't disappoint, if anything it makes me want to get back into the complex lives of these strong characters the moment that last page is turned. These books have a tendency of sucking me in hard and fast and making my mind ...
The fifth installment of the amazing series doesn't disappoint, if anything it makes me want to get back into the complex lives of these strong characters the moment that last page is turned. These books have a tendency of sucking me in hard and fast and making my mind wander around the story line even when I'm not reading it. I think there are sixteen or so books now in this series and I am always trying my best not to peak at what they are about, spoilers galore can happen, so I try my best to know as little as possible about each before I start reading it. James Patterson did a great job of creating the Cross family, making the reader care and worry about them, after all when a detective is being stalked and harassed by crazed psychopaths his family fall prey to them as well, making me stressed out but completely absorbed into the plot.

This time the nemesis is not only dangerous and blood thirsty but seems to have no regard for his own life, the games is tastier when the stakes are ultra high, making Alex's life extra complicated, his good deeds seem to be turning on him when a suspect turns the tables, making a mockery of the trail, making people question whether Alex caught the right guy. Never mind that the evidence points to the truth, the dirty game of lies and deception has reached new levels, making this a tasty and intense read. The killer plays a game with 3 other shady characters, throwing dice to pick their next victim and ways of disposing them, whether the killings are random or planned, they send shockwaves through all the pages. Peace and quiet never lasts long at the Cross house, no matter what great things develop. At one point something happens to one of the characters that made me recoil in shock, adding an extra ounce of worry to the whole story line, I absolutely loved the ending and I won't pretend that I wasn't close to tears reading it. Well a few tears but still...I'm a softie deep down there somewhere. This book was really fun and crazy and thrilling and all the good things one looks for in a thriller. As always I recommend reading in order to get the most out of all the delicious mayhem that twists harder and harder with each novel. Patterson had managed to keep a hum over the whole tale with someone's tragedy and it really made the book better than I expected, I can't wait to read the next.

- Kasia S.

posted by Kasia_S on June 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

definitely not his best work

i thought the romance dialog was very corny and a lot of the references to alex's family were repeats from previous books. the time sequence was all out of wack and the end of the love section of this story was very predictable. mr patterson did do a fair job with the g...
i thought the romance dialog was very corny and a lot of the references to alex's family were repeats from previous books. the time sequence was all out of wack and the end of the love section of this story was very predictable. mr patterson did do a fair job with the geoffrey shafer character, bit i felt that could still have been fleshed out some.a very disappointing effort from a good writer i have enjoyed in the past.

posted by Anonymous on February 2, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Bastetwing

    Oookaayy...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Recommended

    If you are an Alex Cross fan this will be a must to read. It is page turner and flows well. It was hard to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    More names

    •Ghostwing <br> •Spiritbird <br> •Beartalon <br> •Hawkprize <br> •Icetreasure <br> •Mintsparrow <br> •Starfeather <br> •Russetpine <br> •Birchhollow <br> •Specklewish <br> •Cloudshine <br> •Bumblefoot <br> • Fernsun <br> •Windtraveler <br> •Twilightghost <p> *hope i helped again* -Dewkit

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Alex cross

    It's hard to go wrong with Alex Cross. Always enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Bombkit

    I dont know......ill probaly stay.....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    It is a very good series......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Predictable

    Little too predictable, but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommended - Good Read.

    I finally got around to reading this one, and enjoyed it. There were a few parts that seemed to drag on, but for the most part, this was an excellent book with a good storyline, and interesting characters. I would recommend it to anyone who likes a good suspense novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alex Cross does it again

    I've read most of the Alex Cross Series by James Patterson. Although Jack and Jill was my favorite, this novel was excellent. As usual, there is excellent depth of character (Alex and Nana, for example) which can actually make you care for the characters. The plot is original, somewhat off beat, thrilling and carefully thought out with a few twists here and there. I also love his writing style. His writing style and short chapters make his novels an easy read. Patterson has never disappointed me with this Women's Murder Club Series either. I highly recommend 1st to Die. The Quickie and Swimsuit were also excellent novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2002

    2nd Patterson book read and I loved it!

    I loved this book!! Patterson takes you deep inside the mind of a homicidal-suicidal manic depressive man and is part of the Alex Cross series. (Already sound inticing?) The supense build and builds and many times I was tempted to skip pages just to see what was going to happen next. I highly recommed this book to anyone. It was easy to pick up and start reading even you haven't read any of the previous Alex Cross books. This was my first ALex Cross so I can say that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2002

    WOW

    OK yes it was slow at start, but it got moving soon James patterson did some good work here. The muders and details is what kept me going. If you didn't like this book read it again this time slow so you can take in all the info that Mr. Patterson puts out. Mr Patterson get back to work i need some more books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2001

    Pop goes another winner

    With James Patterson novels I find myself reading faster than I do normally,to the point of the mental images lag the words.His expertise is the intermingling of action and dialogue.The phrase a thrill a page was created by JP.Unlike many contemporary novelists his works dont go flat in the final third of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2001

    Good Summer Reading!

    Patterson does it again with Pop Goes The Weasel. This is a good story that reads quickly. It has an ending that is uplifting, although difficult to accept, and it has sequel spelled out in no unclear terms. Cross is a believable charceter that has us cheering for him all the way. More time needs to be spent on detail and simply giving factual answers to questions we all have is sometimes just not enough. This could have been a 600 to 700 page book, but we sense that it was cut short and maybe editied a little too much. Alex Cross deserved to have Christine show up at the end without much, if any, explanation, but it doesn't seem to fit in with the rest of the story. The antagonist could not have let Christine live ... it doesn't fit his character. Bipolar...yes; he is just plain nuts and a real psycho. Our antagonist deserves all that is coming to him. Glad to see Patterson write a straight forward story with few if any twists. After reading Jack and Jill, this book was a real pleasure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2001

    I could not put the book down!!!!!

    James Patterson has done it once again ! I could not stop reading. I loved the begining it was fast paced and exciting. I highly recommend this book to first time readers or James Patterson fans..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2000

    Spellbinding read!

    This is my first encounter with James Patterson's work and I am thoroughly impressed...he has a Stephen King-like insight into the pyschological workings of the criminal mind...I could barely put the book down...I would highly recommend it to those who love thrilling books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2000

    Snap, Crackles and Pops with Suspense

    In this thriller from Patterson, Dr. Alex Cross bucks his superiors to pursue a serial killer who's prowling the D.C. ghettos--and one deadly step away from Cross' own family. An entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2000

    Another Great Alex Cross Adventure!

    I must say that Mr. Patterson has written better Alex Cross novels but this one, while not Mr. Patterson's best, was well written and suspensful. I you are truly a die hard, James Patterson/Alex Cross fan, you will enjoy this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2000

    The Most Suspenseful book You Will ever Encounter

    If there is another book that can make all other activities vanish, make the television collect dust, and keep you awake all night until it is finished, I'd like to hear about it. I read it in two days, and even that pace seemed to be too slow to keep up with the pace of this fine novel. After the extreme disappointment of 'Hannibal', I was glad to see that another bestselling suspense novelist hasn't lost his common sense. The book was far better than its predescesor, 'Cat and Mouse', but not quite as good (in terms of twists) as Patterson's earlier novel, 'Jack an Jill'. If only Patterson would begin writing only Alex Cross novels. If he would just look at the charts, he would see that they sell a good deal more than his other novels. The only problem with the book is that you end up reading too fast and then are left not knowing what to do once you've finished it. PLEASE don't tell me that I have to wait more than a year for the next installment! If there were more writers like James Patterson, we would have no need for television.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2000

    Vintage Patterson back again!!

    If you enjoy any James Patterson, this will fall right in line, and you can't put it down. Unfortunately, you have to read through the first 50 pages of commercialism and product placement to get to the good stuff, but once you get there, its well worth it. Det. Alex Cross is back at it again, and the suspense will have you sitting on the edge of your chair throughout the entire book. Bravo Patterson!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2000

    Good reading

    I really enjoyed this book. I liked the way the main characters were developed, but some of the minor characters could have been left out. I loved the way the book kept me guessing what would happen next. The only thing that really disturbed me was the Taxicab thing (people from the New York metro area would never like that).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4