Customer Reviews for

Poppy Done to Death (Aurora Teagarden Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Spectacular amateur sleuth cosy

    Lawrenceton, Georgia librarian Aurora Teagarden is adjusting to widowhood just fine now that the worst of her grief is over. She is romantically involved with Robin Crusoe and is now a member of the Uppity Women, a prestigious group of females involved with literacy, and other social and political matters. It is by invitation only and Aurora is delighted that her stepsister-in-law Poppy is going to be inducted into the group.<P> She is positively mortified when Poppy doesn¿t show up to the meeting and rushes over to her home to lecture her, but instead finds her murdered body on the Kitchen floor. Poppy had many secrets and Aurora¿s family is trying to cope with the gossip and scandal. Roe is happy to find that her half brother Phillip is going to stay with her a while even though that puts more stress on her. While his presence takes her mind off the tragedy temporarily, she is pulled into the murder investigation by circumstances beyond her control and almost gets killed in the process.<P> Charlaine Harris has taken her heroine in a completely different direction and readers will be happy to see the protagonist find the double dose of happiness she so richly deserves. There is a lot of action in this delightful cozy, and not all of it is directed at solving the homicide. Roe gets a chance to become reacquainted with the brother she was forbidden to see for some time and helps her in-laws and her mother cope with a loved one¿s death. POPPY DONE TO DEATH is a terrific cozy, one readers will want to put on their keeper shelves.<P> Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    perfect ending for the series

    If you are a lover of Aurora then you will truly love how this ends. The story is a grabber all the way through. I wish that there were more in the series...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    EXCELLENT, ORIGINAL AND HUMOROUS

    Great story. So glad Aurora is finding love again. Wonderful characters abound in this story. Ms. Harris creates such imaginative stories in all of her books. "True Blood", southern vampire series, with Sookie Stackhouse is another one of Ms. Harris's great series and I highly recommend the books to any age group.
    The one thing I object to is HBO has taken a nice, decent storyline and sexed it up with soft-porn and characters unlike the ones in the books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    good

    enjoyed just as much as others about time ro had a baby hope there is more to come

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Tigerheart

    Ok then. He picked up tigerkit and carried him to the next result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Lightheart

    Watches as emberkit pads after tigher kit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    Yellowdawn

    Allows him even know her stomack still has pain

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Merry

    That didnt seem fair. Reallly touching!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Life with Poppy (a true story)~ Chapter 3

    (6 months later) <br> "Momma, Daddy, why does it look like Poppy is fat?" Sam laughed. "Julie, Poppy isn't fat. It is all musle. Because Poppy's back legs are weak, her front legs have to work harder. That's why her upper body looks fat." I looked down at Poppy (who was constantly growing). Her chest was thick but her lower body was slender. I guess Daddy was right. "Speaking of which," Momma chimed in, "Poppy is starting obedience school today." <br> "What's obi- obidenth- ummm..." <br> Momma gave light laugh. "Obedience school is kind of like your kindergarden, Julie, exept it is for dogs." <p> A few hours later, all 6 of us (including Poppy) got into the car. When we arrived, I was dissapointed to see that there was going to be a long speech before the dogs got started. We all sat in hard, plastic chairs. Poppy layed at my feet, her brown eyes excited as she saw all the other dogs. The woman giving the speech (obviously the manager) was bearing a navy blue blazer with a matching skirt. She had a slight British accent and was very proper. Bored to tears, I looked at the other dogs. Chiwawua, Shih Tzu, Yorkie, Toy Poodle.... all the dogs were small. Poppy was huge. <br> After the mind-numbing speech, the dos got started. Dogs' owners could watch for the first class, so we got to stay. Poppy was a dog of mischief. The first lesson was sitting. All the dogs were on-task and focused, and stered the basic trick within a few minutes. Poppy pranced about, tounge lolling about as she wagged her tail to other dogs, hoping to play. Finally, the Shih Tzu nipped Poppy's tail playfully and Poppy batted at the Shih Tzu. Unfortunately, with Poppy being so much bigger and with her huge paws, the Shih Tzu tumbled over with a yelp. The British manager eyed our puppy with an evil-eye. She drew a tally mark next to the name 'Poppy' on her clipboard. "Three strikes and you're out," she missed at us, almost snakelike. <br> We were only allowed to watch the first class, so we could only get a weekly report card to see how Poppy was doing. Unfortunately, we only got one weekly report card. <p> Monday: <br> Poppy was entirely unfocused. She made a Shih Tzu tumble to the ground (strike one). Was the only dog who hadn't mastered 'sit'. <p> Tuesday: <br> Did a tad bit better than Monday. Finally mastered 'sit' at the end of class. <p> Wednesday: <br> Poppy got frustrated that she couldn't master 'shake' and tugged on manager's skirt (strike two). <p> Thursday: <br> Mastered 'shake' and 'high five'. <p> Friday: mastered 'lay down' but then didn't look where she was going and trampled Chiwuawa (strike three) Please do not return next week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Kerp going wat happens to poppy

    Wanna know

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    A STREAM

    A stream flows through to moor land.12 salmon.1 per h and 1 bass

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Must read this book

    Wonderful book to read. Really enjoyed it very much. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Great!!

    I loved this book. I have read them all so of course I needed to add this one to the library. All of Charlaine Harris' work is amazing. Recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read!

    I think I finished this book in about 35 minutes. So good I couldn't put it down. Of course, Charlaine Harris hasn't written a book that I don't like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4