Customer Reviews for

Popsicle Toes-True story of growing up as the victim of the Bartow Florida Mall Rapist--

Average Rating 4
( 1082 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(629)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(94)

1 Star

(192)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

177 out of 180 people found this review helpful.

READ THIS ONE LATE LAST NIGHT AND FINISHED IT TODAY

An indictment of hidden family secrets and a revelation of the strength of females who are able to withstand such criminal abuses. At last! Someone has the courage to step forward and bring light to a dark subject: the evil crime of incest. Preying on young children by...
An indictment of hidden family secrets and a revelation of the strength of females who are able to withstand such criminal abuses. At last! Someone has the courage to step forward and bring light to a dark subject: the evil crime of incest. Preying on young children by depraved adults.....their relatives. Incest is the most prevalent sexual abuse in the world, the most odious sex crime and the least reported. Its victims are always the young, the innocent: our children.

posted by 5581835 on December 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

It had potential

This book could've been a great survival story, but it was difficult to get through due to the grammar, spelling, and punctuation errors (specifically the overuse of exclamations). It seemed to skip around and the writing was something a child could write. I was also su...
This book could've been a great survival story, but it was difficult to get through due to the grammar, spelling, and punctuation errors (specifically the overuse of exclamations). It seemed to skip around and the writing was something a child could write. I was also surprised that the book was so short (36 pages total). While my heart goes out to the author for living through this and being brave enough to write about it, I wish there would've been more of her story.

posted by Emily__J on January 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    A RIPOFF AND PRETTY UNBELIEVABLE!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

    First of all, this is not a "Book"! It was 36 pages that appear to be written by a 10 year old. I find it hard to believe that much of what is said in this book is true (other than perhaps the parts about the people arrested). I am surprised that anyone printed this and called it a "book", I have read short stories that were longer than this. It is a ripoff to charge $3.99 for this.

    13 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    not well written at all!

    this book sucked shouldnt even be called a book! not worth the money!!

    13 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    not recommended

    This book looked like a self published book! It rambled on with no real structure to it. It was a waste of my $3.99.

    11 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    Although likely true, the writing is horrible!

    I don't doubt that this is a true story, and it is tragic. However, it is horribly written and appears to have had no proofreading or editing. And as someone else pointed out, it reads as if it was written by a ten year old who uses a lot of exclamation points! Changes tenses! And cannot spell! I can't begin to describe how poorly written this book is; don't waste your money.

    10 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    Not written well.

    Sad story, but not written well. Someone should of helped her write this book and it would of been better.

    10 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    Critical review: not recommended

    This book reads like a diary. It is very short (36 pages) which I read in 15 minutes. The message is clear; abuse and abusers should not be tolerated. However, this is really not a book, but more like an incomplete college essay or some other form of therapy.

    Readers could benefit from some narration to explain who the different people were in Anne's life, their histories, impact, and their own survival. She mentions several siblings, step siblings, etc. but only really talks about a few and in a very general way.

    It would have been helpful to know how she survived such horrific abuse, what opportunities were missed (by others) that could have helped her and her siblings, and what happened to everyone several years later.

    I believe there is a valuable story in her situation that could help many people, but this book is so poorly written the message is lost and in this format just seems voyeuristic and hard to believe.

    10 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    Disappointed.

    I wish I had known this was a short story and not a book. I wouldn't have paid $4 for 36 pages. Granted, I'm glad she was able to get her story out there and raise awareness, but the poor quality of the writing was a distraction from the real issue. She should have hired a ghost writer and produced an actual novel. The story had the potential to be touching but was written like a synopsis, I was finished in 20 minutes. Lack of character development and a rushed, incomplete story line make this a story I just wouldn't recommend.

    10 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    Wish I didn't have to give it any stars

    It is disturbing and sad to think that this is a true story and I'm glad the author triumphed over her horrible childhood. BUT...
    Before reading that the author had earned an associates degree I would have guessed that she hadn't even finished middle school. The grammar and story structure is horrible. I wish I had read the free sample first.

    10 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    absolutely the worst book I have ever read

    This is absolutely the worse book I have ever read. true or not, the writer could have written a better account of what happened, there was no time line, no idea of who married when or moved where, numerous repeating. incomplete thoughts, run on sentences.

    And I wonder about the truth of this story. The time line seems wrong, if one reads it thoroughly and over looks her claim of abuse.

    Was a waste of time and money!!

    8 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    36 Page Book? A rip-off!

    Extremely poor written - and just 36 pages. What a waste of money. Pretty unbelievable, too.

    6 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Sad Story But ...

    poorly written. I wish it showed that it is only 36 pages long on my nook. Very VERY short read. I was done in 30 minutes. Be prepared for graphic sexual scenes, and then lots of rambling about facts that aren't particulary needed. Yes, it is a sad story, but it isn't a book. It reads like a 11th grade blog.

    6 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    I want my money back!!!!

    This book was terribly written! At only 36 pages, the book jumped all over the place! It was hard to follow the author & figure out what she was saying! I am not sure who published this but clearly, there was no editor involved! Not only was this book painful to read because of its content... but the writing was so painful to have to figure out! I DO NOT RECOMMEND BUYING THIS BOOK UNLESS YOU ARE A GLUTEN FOR READING PUNISHMENT WHO HAS MONEY TO WASTE! My 7-year old can write better than this woman & apparently, I am as naive as my 7-year old for buying this story without reading a sample first! If there had been a NO star rating, I would have opted for it! This may be a triumphant story of a woman overcoming a horrific childhood BUT it is clearly written like a 3-year old trying to tell you where the grocery store is! It's all over the place with no consistency or reason! I WANT MY MONEY BACK!

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Disappointing and crudely written

    The book was short and the grammer/writing was terrible. Not a good storyline at all. I was greatly disapponted with this book and would not recommend it to anyone.

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OK for a quick read

    This was an ok book - more of a short story. I find it hard to believe an adult wrote it though. There are multiple typos/grammatical errors throughout the story. It's good for a quick non-thinking read because it really seems like a 10 year old wrote it. The writers story was never developed and sounded more like a kid on a non-stop ramble of complaints. I believe it could have been a very good story if the author had had some help in writing/editing this story.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    Skip it

    I was very disapointed by this pamphlet. Very poor writing, the story didn't even sound true. I am a survivor of sexual abuse and I didn't even believe it. Do not waste your $3.99, about $4.00 to much to pay for this.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!

    For starters, B&N should add to the product details the total number of pages in each book. I was expecting a full length book and it only contained 36 pages. You cannot call this a book. There were misspelled words, incomplete sentences and sentences that also ran together. I couldn't believe a word of it. It sounds like it was written by a 12-yr. old with a wild imagination. I'm very upset that I paid $3.99 for this piece of crap. I don't recommend this so-called book. This book doesn't even deserve 1 star.

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    I'm not so sure this was a true story

    I really don't even want to give this book even one star. I found this book to be quite disturbing. I am also more than slightly skeptical about whether or not this really did happen. I cannot believe that a child who was abused as she said she was and even beaten, was never asked by anyone what was going on. The title of the book doesn't even make any sense since this "character" mainly lived in states that are warm....Texas, Florida. If she was beaten so badly by her half-brother, how is it that none of her teachers ever saw any bruising? I also tried to search for her via Google, and didn't find much. The only thing that really looked believable was the newspaper article and the arrest sheet for her brother Danny. If she had such a good relationship with her father, why didn't she ever reach out to him. I know that she alleges her father was a drunk, but to see a mother and son having sex and not telling anyone just doesn't sit well with me. If this book is a farce, this woman is really sick to make up such garbage. I am an avid true crime reader and watch just about all of the true crime shows on television, and I have never heard of this. I guess only she and God know what is fact and/or fiction.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Seriously?!?!

    I cannot believe this book is getting the good reviews it is getting. Further more, I cannot believe someone agreed to publish this book. Don't get me wrong, what happened to the author was horrible and cruel, but this book was complete garbage. First of all, it was only like 50 pages long with two-sentence "paragraphs", if you can even call them that. Furthermore, the author repeated herself numerous times, making it annoying. The writing style sounded like a 3rd grader wrote the book. Half the book she calls her mom "my mother" and then later she starts referring to someone as "Ruby" which you come to realize is her mother's name. Save youself time and money and don't buy this book!!!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    dont do it

    This woman may have had an awful life but she could have written a better book. The writing was terrible, the grammar was worse and there were absolutely no details of her or her life afterwards. I would not waste your 4 bucks.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Poorly Written- Would NOT recommend

    This book is presented like it is the next Dave Pelzer (A Child Called It) style book. Wrong. Poorly written, lacking any or all concept of grammar or appropriate punctuation... I found myself completely disappointed with this purchase. It comes off more like a grade school essay than an actual book. Desperately wishing I hadn't purchased and wishing I could get a refund. DO NOT BUY!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10