BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Popular

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

(3.5 Stars) Better than I expected...

Reading the description of this book to myself, I thought this would be another superifical book about high school popularity and how desperate girls were to be popular, etc. And, for the first half of the book, that's somewhat what it was. But, then it got interesting....
Reading the description of this book to myself, I thought this would be another superifical book about high school popularity and how desperate girls were to be popular, etc. And, for the first half of the book, that's somewhat what it was. But, then it got interesting.

The book introduces five main characters, each part of the school's most popular clique - Hamiliton, Olivia, Shelley, Nordica, and Zelda. Hamiliton is the queen bee of the group. Olivia is the honest and sarcastic one. Shelley is a wanna-be queen bee. Nordica is the shy one, and also the youngest of the group. Zelda likes to wear black and might be described as goth.

Honestly, till a certain point in the book - the big twist around page 200 - the book seems to lack a focus. Okay, they're in high school. Okay, they're popular. Okay, they have parties. Throughout the first part of the book, everything was pretty slow because of this. I probably wouldn't have continued reading if I hadn't known about the mind-blowing twist before hand.

The big twist is really what makes the book. And therefore, I'm not going to give it away. But just know, it is a really interesting and unexpected plot turn. I usually can predict things pretty easily in books. However, in this book I was completely stumped. Let's just say that my guess involved something with one of the main characters being some sort of fairy who likes to prey on teenage girls. (Don't worry, this isn't it!)

One big con I noticed throughout the book was that the author sometimes used vocabulary that high schoolers just wouldn't use (I know, I am one). For instance, at one point I remember a character said the word ninny. I don't know about you, but not once have I heard that word used at my high school.

Overall, this was a pretty good book, one I might recommend to my friends if they're looking for a quick and interesting read. 3.5/5 Stars.

posted by Emvy on June 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Why do we despise you?

I am definetly a nerd, and we despise you because you are perfect, and you point out all or idiosyncrasys, and you are jealous of our knowledge, and your lack thereof. You must point out our fashion flaws, and gossip the with your friends about what you saw us wearing....
I am definetly a nerd, and we despise you because you are perfect, and you point out all or idiosyncrasys, and you are jealous of our knowledge, and your lack thereof. You must point out our fashion flaws, and gossip the with your friends about what you saw us wearing. You are very exclusive, and talk to no one but your friends. Thats why.

posted by 10230472 on October 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    (3.5 Stars) Better than I expected...

    Reading the description of this book to myself, I thought this would be another superifical book about high school popularity and how desperate girls were to be popular, etc. And, for the first half of the book, that's somewhat what it was. But, then it got interesting.

    The book introduces five main characters, each part of the school's most popular clique - Hamiliton, Olivia, Shelley, Nordica, and Zelda. Hamiliton is the queen bee of the group. Olivia is the honest and sarcastic one. Shelley is a wanna-be queen bee. Nordica is the shy one, and also the youngest of the group. Zelda likes to wear black and might be described as goth.

    Honestly, till a certain point in the book - the big twist around page 200 - the book seems to lack a focus. Okay, they're in high school. Okay, they're popular. Okay, they have parties. Throughout the first part of the book, everything was pretty slow because of this. I probably wouldn't have continued reading if I hadn't known about the mind-blowing twist before hand.

    The big twist is really what makes the book. And therefore, I'm not going to give it away. But just know, it is a really interesting and unexpected plot turn. I usually can predict things pretty easily in books. However, in this book I was completely stumped. Let's just say that my guess involved something with one of the main characters being some sort of fairy who likes to prey on teenage girls. (Don't worry, this isn't it!)

    One big con I noticed throughout the book was that the author sometimes used vocabulary that high schoolers just wouldn't use (I know, I am one). For instance, at one point I remember a character said the word ninny. I don't know about you, but not once have I heard that word used at my high school.

    Overall, this was a pretty good book, one I might recommend to my friends if they're looking for a quick and interesting read. 3.5/5 Stars.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Why do we despise you?

    I am definetly a nerd, and we despise you because you are perfect, and you point out all or idiosyncrasys, and you are jealous of our knowledge, and your lack thereof. You must point out our fashion flaws, and gossip the with your friends about what you saw us wearing. You are very exclusive, and talk to no one but your friends. Thats why.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    Read

    At my school, there are Populars, Nerds, and Moderates. Moderates are in the middle, like I am. I think Nerds are nerdy, aka weird, and populars are awesome! I was asked to be a Popular, but I like Moderates. They arent nerdy, and they arent accused of being mean. Moderates rule! ~Emma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    &smileyface

    &crown

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Hey dustin

    Not commenting on book... im just super bored

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Tobellla

    Dont listen to them just keep being awsome they r just liing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Nerd

    I am a nerd and dont care about populars because theyr mean

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    I will admit that I initially read Popular because I used to be

    I will admit that I initially read Popular because I used to be in a writing group with the author. I'm an adult male - books about teenage girls are NOT my normal fare. But Popular surprised and greatly pleased me. In fact, after finishing the first time I went right back and re-read it. Without giving away too much, it's a fascinating, deep look into people under extreme stress and coping the best they can. It doesn't matter whether you're a tweener or a teen or a GenX'er like me, it's a great read with a terrific twist. I really cared about the characters, and cheered at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    To bella cane

    If ur so good reccommend some brands and styles and places to go for fashion hair and nails.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Dustin to bella

    Your a stupid brat

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Hey im dustin whats up

    Whats up reply

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    That bitch called BELLA CANE!!!

    Ok nerd town, let me just apoligize beforehand, cuz ima get all ghetto on you. Who the hell do you think you are, comin up in here bashin all the girls who have a better social life than you?! Yeah, nerdo, go join a social group! Or get dafuk outta other girls buisness! BYEE HON, HAVE A NICE LIIIFE! :*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Bella

    Exactly
    No one is perfect and the way you guys are acting is stupid.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    This book is...

    So confusing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Whts the sceret

    The headingd the question

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Ally

    Hey

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1