BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Population: 485

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Gret book

    Could not put it done. You can tell when a writter loves the material. Write about what you know, Mike knows his material...his life. Very funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    I gave a poor rating, as the free sample only offered the table

    I gave a poor rating, as the free sample only offered the table of contents.  It would have been nice to read at least a few pages!  
    And I was thinking I would have purchased the whole series.  Moving on......

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    I am ordering this book! Michael Perry is a gifted storyteller;

    I am ordering this book! Michael Perry is a gifted storyteller; I've enjoyed his other books and looking forward to Population 485.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Modern day Will Rogers.

    Funny, thoughtful and insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    love this book

    this is one of my favorite books. you are tempted to readit outloud to your friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ONE SIREN AT A TIME

    Michael Perry returns back to his home town, New Auburn, Wisconsin. A town in Northwestern Wisconsin, Population 485. He left 10 years ago and landed in Wyoming were he worked as a cowboy and put himself through nursing school.

    Now he is home, has bought a house on Main Street and is happy to be closer to his mother and brothers. Both his brothers belong to the fire department and his mother is a first responder for the area. Michael decides the best way to reconnect with the community is to join the fire department and use his nursing training to study to become an EMT and his mother joins him in the class.

    This is your typical small town, everyone knows everything about everybody, and Michael thinks it's the perfect place to write. Using the emergency calls, grass and chimney fires, accidents and dinners as background for his stories he brings the little town to life on the pages of this book. Humor and tragedy, heartbreak and devastating heartache we meet Michael's neighbors one siren at a time.

    I LIKED IT!!!!

    I had several reasons for wanting to read this book. First, when I started this blog I challenged myself to read books written by Wisconsin authors or that used Wisconsin as the setting for the story. This books meets both those requirements.

    Secondly, I am from a small town in Wisconsin, a little bigger than New Auburn, but growing up there was pure joy and at that time, everyone knew everything about everybody. That town has changed and grown and is no longer the town of my memories.


    Also while growing up in that small town, my father was a fireman, later the fire chief, and when the fire department was in charge of the ambulance service he was the equivalent of what is now an EMT or First Responder. He even had the Fire Training School at Madison Area Technical College dedicated to him just 2 weeks after he died.

    The stories in this book were wonderfully told and brought back so many memories. It prompted a call to my sister who had also read the book some time ago and we spent an hour reminiscing about our dad, who passed away in 1988, some of the stories were so funny, we wish we could write a book. Thank you Michael Perry for writing this book and giving us our Dad back for a few minutes.
    Michael Perry has the gift of storytelling and anyone who likes to read about life in a small town, firefighters, EMTs, or anyone who believes in giving back will appreciate and truly enjoy this book. If you would just like to read a good story told by a fresh voice you will like this book.

    Note: This book was published in 2002 and new copies of this book may be hard to find but there are plenty used copies available at both Barnes & Noble.com and Amazon.com.




    This book was from my private collection. No compensation was received.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    i agree

    i expected much more from this book than i got..while the idea was great.i was expecting the writing to be (lets say) more small town..i sometimes felt as if i were reading about two different stories..one down to earth and the other written by a rhodes scholar who didn't seem to belong in a small town..it was a difficult book to finish...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Could Relate

    My husband is a volunteer firefighter, and we both grew up - and now live - in a very small rural community. I can relate to this author and his anecdotes. I wouldn't say it's necessarily the most intriguing book I've ever read, but it made me laugh right out loud (honestly!) and also cry with empathy at some of his experiences. I think Perry is an interesting person whose writing style is enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    Not as good as it could be.

    This was meant to be a rewarding read about rural Wisconsin living. At times it seems Mr. Perry had his thesaurus always close by. He loves to interject unnessary unusal words. They serve no purpose other than perhaps to point out he knows big words. No one from northern Wisconsin would interject "gobsmacked" into a conversation.....this over use of langauge spoiled what could have been a lovely trip thru rural life. There are some excellent insights into being a good neighbor and survival in a community of sparse resources.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Not an easy read

    Too many $5 words that interrupted the flow of my reading. I sometimes had to force myself to sit down with it. For me, it didn't fulfill the promise I felt the book had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Real experience in familiar places

    I grew up in the Eau Claire WI area and had relatives that lived in the New Auberne area, so chose the book influenced by that. I found the description of the EMT experience, and the family involvement very interesting. I mostly liked the authors style, but felt it dragged on a bit near the end.
    I will read his "Truck" novel next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    Touches your heart, your funny bone, and makes you say, eew, gross

    What a charming story of an EMT's experiences in a small town, told with love and humor. I have a degree in English and I work in health care, but I cannot put together phrases like this. 'Size XXXL in a size XL Nascar shirt' will stay with me forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    A reviewer

    I couldnt put this book down. I feel like I know these people, and could relate to their losses and happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    loved the book

    i just about fell out of bed and needed the police to get me back in. I total enjoyed the book and the story lines of real life in wisconsin. Since i live in the far reaches of northern wisconsin they were very true. It also depicts the lives of the first responders, EMTs and fire fighter in small town wisconsin and some of the issuse that the face on every call. It does not make light hearted of the real tragic happenings, and faces it with the emotional response and not the grewsome detail of the event. It drew out some of the emotions that i have lived through with being a wife to a pager addicted, adreline addicted man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    Worth every penny

    I picked up this book the night before I had to go back to my university for the spring semester. Instead of concerning myself with upcomming class all I thought about was Population 485. As a student who get a ton of books ASSIGNED, 485 has maybe been the only book I have read freely. It had my attention from start to finish, and as one other person posted, I have also been to New Auburn but only gave it a passing thought, now each summer when I go back up to the area I will have a new found respect and perspective of this wonderful town that Perry details in such a buitiful way. Great read for all but even better for people interested in rural Wisconsin life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Incredible and Familiar

    Living and volunteering in a small community myself, Mr. Perry's work hit home. There were times I read the book in public and recieved puzzled stares because I was laughing so hard. Other times I was grateful to be reading alone as the author shared the more tragic moments. I've passed the book on to a mentor of mine and will recommend to all the brothers and sisters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2003

    Fire service unveiled

    This would be a perfect book for those who are in the fire service; professional or volunteer. It would also be ideal for those who gained a new respect for those who put their lives on the line, everyday, post 9-11. I could not put this book down. It is full of humor and captures small town life, fully.I laughed, I cried. Then I applauded. The ending is totally unexpected and nearly knocks the wind out of you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    Terrific book!

    When I was back in WI visiting my family, my stepfather recommmended this book to me. I'm originally from Wisconsin and a former volunteer firefighter/EMT. I got a huge kick out of this book. It made me recall many of the classes, training and calls I enjoyed as a volunteer. I still have my 'Essentials' textbook he refers to. I found myself laughing out loud numerous times. For all of you volunteer FF & EMT's, this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    Highly Recommend

    This is a wonderful read. Insightful, funny and at times heartbreaking. Perry weaves tales of small town life from the perspective of a rural EMT/firefighter. While many of the stories are of rescue and fire calls, the real message and meaning in this wonderful book is that of community, family and friendship. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Great Book

    I attened a reading by Mike in Eau Claire with my son who is a friend of Mike's. I was greatly impressed with the reading and bought Population 485 and read it in three days. Being from the area , the places are familiar but Mike makes the ordinary into extraordinary. i will always think of New Auburn in a new light and not just that little town sitting off Hwy 53.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2