Customer Reviews for

Population: 485

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Gret book

    Could not put it done. You can tell when a writter loves the material. Write about what you know, Mike knows his material...his life. Very funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    I am ordering this book! Michael Perry is a gifted storyteller;

    I am ordering this book! Michael Perry is a gifted storyteller; I've enjoyed his other books and looking forward to Population 485.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Modern day Will Rogers.

    Funny, thoughtful and insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    love this book

    this is one of my favorite books. you are tempted to readit outloud to your friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Could Relate

    My husband is a volunteer firefighter, and we both grew up - and now live - in a very small rural community. I can relate to this author and his anecdotes. I wouldn't say it's necessarily the most intriguing book I've ever read, but it made me laugh right out loud (honestly!) and also cry with empathy at some of his experiences. I think Perry is an interesting person whose writing style is enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    Touches your heart, your funny bone, and makes you say, eew, gross

    What a charming story of an EMT's experiences in a small town, told with love and humor. I have a degree in English and I work in health care, but I cannot put together phrases like this. 'Size XXXL in a size XL Nascar shirt' will stay with me forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    A reviewer

    I couldnt put this book down. I feel like I know these people, and could relate to their losses and happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    loved the book

    i just about fell out of bed and needed the police to get me back in. I total enjoyed the book and the story lines of real life in wisconsin. Since i live in the far reaches of northern wisconsin they were very true. It also depicts the lives of the first responders, EMTs and fire fighter in small town wisconsin and some of the issuse that the face on every call. It does not make light hearted of the real tragic happenings, and faces it with the emotional response and not the grewsome detail of the event. It drew out some of the emotions that i have lived through with being a wife to a pager addicted, adreline addicted man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    Worth every penny

    I picked up this book the night before I had to go back to my university for the spring semester. Instead of concerning myself with upcomming class all I thought about was Population 485. As a student who get a ton of books ASSIGNED, 485 has maybe been the only book I have read freely. It had my attention from start to finish, and as one other person posted, I have also been to New Auburn but only gave it a passing thought, now each summer when I go back up to the area I will have a new found respect and perspective of this wonderful town that Perry details in such a buitiful way. Great read for all but even better for people interested in rural Wisconsin life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Incredible and Familiar

    Living and volunteering in a small community myself, Mr. Perry's work hit home. There were times I read the book in public and recieved puzzled stares because I was laughing so hard. Other times I was grateful to be reading alone as the author shared the more tragic moments. I've passed the book on to a mentor of mine and will recommend to all the brothers and sisters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2003

    Fire service unveiled

    This would be a perfect book for those who are in the fire service; professional or volunteer. It would also be ideal for those who gained a new respect for those who put their lives on the line, everyday, post 9-11. I could not put this book down. It is full of humor and captures small town life, fully.I laughed, I cried. Then I applauded. The ending is totally unexpected and nearly knocks the wind out of you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    Highly Recommend

    This is a wonderful read. Insightful, funny and at times heartbreaking. Perry weaves tales of small town life from the perspective of a rural EMT/firefighter. While many of the stories are of rescue and fire calls, the real message and meaning in this wonderful book is that of community, family and friendship. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2002

    Good Medicine

    Michael Perry, writer/volunteer firefighter/ EMT, breaks your heart and puts it all back together again. Perry depicts the daily tragedies that befall the small Wisconsin town he grew up in, but these are the events that shape the lives and deaths of his friends and neighbors, the tragic turns that define us all. The magic of Perry's writing is that he does not sink into the morose, does not dwell on the bad, but gives us reason to be hopeful. POPULATION 485 is a must read. I've been a member of a rural volunteer fire department for three years and Mr. Perry's depictions of the characters, actions, and events associated with such a place are dead-on. Buy this book and savor it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1