Customer Reviews for

Porch Lights: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Not her Best

This was one of my least favorite books by the writer. It did not hold my attention like her other books.

posted by Wassie on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The first few books that I read by Dorothea Benton Frank were de

The first few books that I read by Dorothea Benton Frank were delightful. I loved The Land of Mango Sunsets, Full of Grace, Pawleys Island, Shem Creek and Isle of Palms. They were dramatic, funny and a little raunchy at times. There came a point in time when I purcha...
The first few books that I read by Dorothea Benton Frank were delightful. I loved The Land of Mango Sunsets, Full of Grace, Pawleys Island, Shem Creek and Isle of Palms. They were dramatic, funny and a little raunchy at times. There came a point in time when I purchased another of her books (don't recall the name of that one) and I knew at once that something was missing. The magic was gone. It almost seemed that someone else wrote the book. I'm sorry to say I feel the same disappointment with Porch Lights. It has its moments, but the Dorothea Benton Frank style that I fell in love with is missing. I'm really having to push myself to finish it.

posted by Trixie1 on June 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    The first few books that I read by Dorothea Benton Frank were de

    The first few books that I read by Dorothea Benton Frank were delightful. I loved The Land of Mango Sunsets, Full of Grace, Pawleys Island, Shem Creek and Isle of Palms. They were dramatic, funny and a little raunchy at times. There came a point in time when I purchased another of her books (don't recall the name of that one) and I knew at once that something was missing. The magic was gone. It almost seemed that someone else wrote the book. I'm sorry to say I feel the same disappointment with Porch Lights. It has its moments, but the Dorothea Benton Frank style that I fell in love with is missing. I'm really having to push myself to finish it.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Not her best

    I have loved all of DBF's books except for Full of Grace, Folly Beach, and this one. It was predictable and I did not like her use of strong religious tones in this book. I expect her books to be more exciting and keep me interested as to not want to put the book down. Somehow she has lost her touch with this book and her last. I get excited when I find out she has a new book coming out then read it and am extremely disappointed. Her early books were the best.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Not her Best

    This was one of my least favorite books by the writer. It did not hold my attention like her other books.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Every time I read one of DBF's books I want to move down south a

    Every time I read one of DBF's books I want to move down south and get adopted by a big 'ole family and live like the characters in her book do.
    This book tells the story of a much fractured family. Annie and Buster is a married couple, both retired, that have been living apart for 11 years since he got fed up with her controlling ways. From Annie's point of view, it was the day after their daughter’s wedding, he had his junk all over the porch, and they had a bunch of relatives coming over so of course she was concerned. Jackie, the aforementioned daughter, is coming back to the low country with her son Charlie, aged 10. Jackie's husband Jimmie, an NYFD member had died on duty several months before and Jackie needs a break from life in Brooklyn. She is also grappling with decisions after being an active duty nurse in Afghanistan and now figuring out where her life will go.
    The visit is fraught with tension between Jackie and Annie and Annie and Buster. Throw in good looking Dr. Steve from next door who Annie has been lusting after in her heart and it just keeps getting deeper. Annie is the true southern woman who just keeps on living life every day no matter how hard it has become and who believes that good food is a cure for a lot of problems. She is a font of information for Charlie, telling him all about the low country ways, the battles in the area during the Revolution, and about local celebrity Edgar Allen Poe.
    One of things I love about DBF's books is that there is such a sense of normalcy in the lives of the characters, even when they are doing the craziest things- like scoping out Dr. Steve's unmentionables. The continuity of years of tradition becomes a balm that soothes the troubled soul whether you believe in the traditions or not. While this story does have a few incidents of emotional lows and one scary moment, generally it is a tale of a family finding its way back to each other by living day after day and opening their hearts to the healing they can give each other.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. It was very easy for me to

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. It was very easy for me to connect to the characters

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    I love her books!!!

    Once again, another home run! If you have not read Dorothea Benton Franks books - you poor deprived person.

    Go get any one of her numerous books and start reading. Her razor sharp wit will have you laughing out loud and wishing the book would not end.

    One thing I absolutely love about her writing is the fact that she takes the time to fully develop her many characters and intertwine them so skillfully. Very easy to read and understand her storylines.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    I loved it

    For a Southerner born and bred, these stories are like coming home

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    highly recommended

    Truly enjoyed this book, highly recommend it to Dorothea Benton Frank fans and new readers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Great relateable reading

    I want to move to south carolina now. This book for me touched on alot of heavy life topics and was able to do it in a page turning fashion without being opressive. I related to every single character in one way or another. Are we the masters of our own destiny or is fate weaving and cutting the strings? Read and find out!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Azure

    She bit the lions neck and hung there, biting down as hard as she can.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Very Enjoyable

    I liked Ms. Frank's newest novel and cherished the characters. Annie, is such a card and I loved her sense of humor. Jackie and Charlie's station in life will make you cry and you will sympathize with what life has dealt them. You know, life's struggles. This is a precious story of going home to heal and one of new beginnings.

    This is a great beach read and one I would truly recommend to someone that just wants to dip their toes in the surf, sit back, read and enjoy the lights glowing on the porch.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Skull

    Good. Im off to bed. Long day.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    awesome book, a must read!!!!!

    I couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    A Must Read

    Dorothea Benton Frank does it again. I picked this up for a good summer read and couldn't put it down. As the reader, I became involved with the two main characters, feeling their love and anguish towards each other, only as a mother and daughter naturally would. If you enjoy light romance, family involvement and the role mother nature plays in bringing a family together, this is the book for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    a great summer read

    a good story with likeable charaters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Great! Great!

    I have read every single book Dottie has written. They are always great. I look forward to June every year for the next edition.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Ok read..fell short of my expectations for one of my favorite authors.

    Though I can say I mostly enjoyed the book and probably deserves three stars instead of two, I just couldn't go there. I compare all of Frank's books to my favorite, "Land of Mango Sunsets." This book fell short as I never felt any deep love for the characters. Even the little boy was annoyingly perfect. I never felt the urgency for romance to bloom, and though I enjoy history in my stories, the lessons offered up about Sullivan's Island felt like they were just thrown into the story as a filler.

    I did fall in love with the Salty Dog though and I now feel the need to spend weeks on end sitting on the porch of a lowcountry beach house.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A winner

    DBF has done it again! Invited us back to the low country then did not disappoint. I fell in love with Sullivan’s island again. I loved this story. The last few books, while good just didn’t grab my heart like the earlier ones had done, but this one grabbed me and pulled me right in and you just didn’t want it to end. Thanks for this perfect beach read!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Good easy read!

    First time to read this author. Was great for sitting by pool and relaxing with.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Good book

    I enjoyed this book much more than her previous book.....Folley Beach......that was a huge disappointment. Dorthea remains one of my favorite authors......I do love the South!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11