Customer Reviews for

Porch Lights: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Not her Best

This was one of my least favorite books by the writer. It did not hold my attention like her other books.

posted by Wassie on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The first few books that I read by Dorothea Benton Frank were de

The first few books that I read by Dorothea Benton Frank were delightful. I loved The Land of Mango Sunsets, Full of Grace, Pawleys Island, Shem Creek and Isle of Palms. They were dramatic, funny and a little raunchy at times. There came a point in time when I purcha...
The first few books that I read by Dorothea Benton Frank were delightful. I loved The Land of Mango Sunsets, Full of Grace, Pawleys Island, Shem Creek and Isle of Palms. They were dramatic, funny and a little raunchy at times. There came a point in time when I purchased another of her books (don't recall the name of that one) and I knew at once that something was missing. The magic was gone. It almost seemed that someone else wrote the book. I'm sorry to say I feel the same disappointment with Porch Lights. It has its moments, but the Dorothea Benton Frank style that I fell in love with is missing. I'm really having to push myself to finish it.

posted by Trixie1 on June 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    The first few books that I read by Dorothea Benton Frank were de

    The first few books that I read by Dorothea Benton Frank were delightful. I loved The Land of Mango Sunsets, Full of Grace, Pawleys Island, Shem Creek and Isle of Palms. They were dramatic, funny and a little raunchy at times. There came a point in time when I purchased another of her books (don't recall the name of that one) and I knew at once that something was missing. The magic was gone. It almost seemed that someone else wrote the book. I'm sorry to say I feel the same disappointment with Porch Lights. It has its moments, but the Dorothea Benton Frank style that I fell in love with is missing. I'm really having to push myself to finish it.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Not her best

    I have loved all of DBF's books except for Full of Grace, Folly Beach, and this one. It was predictable and I did not like her use of strong religious tones in this book. I expect her books to be more exciting and keep me interested as to not want to put the book down. Somehow she has lost her touch with this book and her last. I get excited when I find out she has a new book coming out then read it and am extremely disappointed. Her early books were the best.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Ok read..fell short of my expectations for one of my favorite authors.

    Though I can say I mostly enjoyed the book and probably deserves three stars instead of two, I just couldn't go there. I compare all of Frank's books to my favorite, "Land of Mango Sunsets." This book fell short as I never felt any deep love for the characters. Even the little boy was annoyingly perfect. I never felt the urgency for romance to bloom, and though I enjoy history in my stories, the lessons offered up about Sullivan's Island felt like they were just thrown into the story as a filler.

    I did fall in love with the Salty Dog though and I now feel the need to spend weeks on end sitting on the porch of a lowcountry beach house.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Good Read

    My faith is back in Dorothea Benton Frank.
    Excellent book and just re read Bull's Island.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Du

    Uvt

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Shadow

    "For Having Se<_>x With Him."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Not impressed but still a dbf fan

    I look forward to my dbf book every summer. This and her last were so painfully predictable that it was another huge let down. I miss her greats like Saving Grace, Land of Mango Sunsets and my fave of all time The Plantation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    I loved her first books. Great writing and you could feel the i

    I loved her first books. Great writing and you could feel the islands and Charleston. The newer ones are jr high level and so disappointing. Dorothea-please take more time and get back to you original wonderful writing. This last book's plot could have been told in a dozen pages. I hate to seem harsh, but DBF was for awhile one of the best-up with Pat Conroy. Please stop filling the pages with unnecessary conversation and get back to your wonderful plots as we all know you can do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Elana to kn

    Because apparently im an un kind attention loving girl who everyone hates. Good bye for reals.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Forgettable.

    Not her best. Tired story line lacking anything to set it apart from a 100 similar books. Far fetched ending that won't ring true to anyone familiar with hurricane evacuation procedures. Very disappointing as dbf is one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    not as good as her others

    I was disappointed in Frank's latest book. To me, it seemed that nothing really developed in the plot! I kept waiting for something "big" to happen, and it never did. I love her books and will probably keep reading, but this one disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Wasn't the Best

    Just finished Porch Lights, and was difficult to read through. The book was well written but very boring and predictable. I regrettfully feel this was a waste of money. Unfortunately I was anticipating this story and I was truly let down with the simplicity of the plot and how boring it was. Couldnt wait to get through it. REFUND?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1