Customer Reviews for

Porch Lights: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 200 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Not her Best

This was one of my least favorite books by the writer. It did not hold my attention like her other books.

posted by Wassie on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The first few books that I read by Dorothea Benton Frank were de

The first few books that I read by Dorothea Benton Frank were delightful. I loved The Land of Mango Sunsets, Full of Grace, Pawleys Island, Shem Creek and Isle of Palms. They were dramatic, funny and a little raunchy at times. There came a point in time when I purcha...
The first few books that I read by Dorothea Benton Frank were delightful. I loved The Land of Mango Sunsets, Full of Grace, Pawleys Island, Shem Creek and Isle of Palms. They were dramatic, funny and a little raunchy at times. There came a point in time when I purchased another of her books (don't recall the name of that one) and I knew at once that something was missing. The magic was gone. It almost seemed that someone else wrote the book. I'm sorry to say I feel the same disappointment with Porch Lights. It has its moments, but the Dorothea Benton Frank style that I fell in love with is missing. I'm really having to push myself to finish it.

posted by Trixie1 on June 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 200 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Great wrap up of a trilogy

    All the pieces come together to understand all the characters and their choices in the Lovie trilogy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    A Trip To The Historic South

    Dorothea Benton Frank has the ability to transport you to Sullivan's Island and let you stay with her a while. You meet her friends and family. You see, smell, and taste daily life in Georgia, while feeling the heritage of the South in your bones! So make yourself some lemonade or sweet tea and get ready for tour of Georgia through the eyes of Dorothea Benton Frank.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    More Magic on Sullivan's Island... Porch Lights seems like a str

    More Magic on Sullivan's Island...
    Porch Lights seems like a strange name for a novel, but in this case it is well-suited. On the fictional island of Sullivan’s Island, porch lights signal many things. Is someone home? Do they want company? And who are they, anyway? The author uses the real place of Sullivan’s Island for the setting for the fictional story. Her descriptions of the island, culture and characters are full. The book is written in the first person, each chapter being spoken from a different character. The relationships between the characters and the hardships they endure keep the reader turning the pages. I enjoyed this book and I would recommend it to just about anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Loved it

    Didn't like her previous books but loved this one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Wonderful read

    Wonderful read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Goid

    Good book, but i am sick to death of these kuds on here playing these stupid cat games, screwing the ratings with their chatting, roleplaying, cat box games and all that other crap. I wish bn would ban those kids from playing on here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Excellent!

    Love Dorothea Benton Frank! This book was excellent and really enjoyed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Silverpaw

    What?

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Great summer read

    I loved this heartwarming story. Great summer read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    I liked it!

    I bought the book yesterday and finished it today. It was a good book with an uplifting message. Nice to read something well written, interesting with human insight. I will look for more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    WONDERFUL

    COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Perfection

    Makes my heart ache to get back to S.C.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Benton did it again. I loved it!

    I long to visit Sullivan's Island after reading this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Predictable, easy read

    While it was a predictable story line, the characters and setting were interesting enough to finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Trey

    Yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Hunter to Saxton and Shadow

    Hunter walked in his arms crossed "From what i can see is a cheating wh<_>ore... what did I ever see in you Saxton." He turned and walked back out to the main result.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Jaimie

    Jaimie folded her arms. "Hello? I'm right here! I can hear every word you're saying, and I honestly can't believe you think I would kill her!"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Cat

    Oh he's at res 1.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Saxton

    She sighs and looks up at th moon.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Colt

    *he turns twords the out burst and raises an eyebrow*... "R u yelling at me?"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 200 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10