Customer Reviews for

The Porn Trap: The Essential Guide to Overcoming Problems Caused by Pornography

Average Rating 3.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    The Porn Trap - A Superb Recovery Book

    As someone who knows the ravages porn addiction can inflict on a person's life, and on the lives of others, I¿m SO GRATEFUL this book has come along. At last there's a clear, compassionate, open-minded guide for people who identify themselves as having a porn problem, and for their intimate partners and families. Step by step, this book helps you evaluate your own situation, understand how you or someone you love got into porn, and see your way clear to making changes if and when you're ready. There are questionnaires throughout to help you relate your own particular situation to what's being discussed. I liked the book's everyday language and clear organization. It maps everything out for you and gives you a plan of action with many alternatives. That's very comforting when you're in distress and things are falling apart or could at any minute. The authors interviewed real people as the basis for their research. These stories, often in the people's own words, helped me feel less alone. They ring true, and cover a wide range of situations and personalities. Both men and women can relate to this book, and so can people of any religion or those with a secular perspective. I found the chapters on Partners in Pain and Healing as a Couple especially helpful. I think the authors really understand the dynamics of intimate relationships. They walk you through a multi-step approach for addressing these painful challenges. You realize you have a shot at healing your relationship. And I was glad to find chapters on preventing relapses and approaching sex in new ways, again with very specific suggestions. I never got the impression that the authors were anti-sex or against all forms of erotica, and they certainly weren¿t shaming or blaming. What came through instead was simply a desire to help people who¿ve become unhappily caught up in pornography. They give options for improving the quality of your life in ways of your own choosing. I've read a couple of other books by Wendy Maltz, including one on the joyful exploration of women's sexual fantasies, and she's by no means a prude. Her writings underscore the importance of sexual pleasure. All in all, The Porn Trap helped me understand the nature of porn addiction and gave me hope that there is a light at the end of the tunnel, without one's family relationships and self-esteem being destroyed forever. It¿s a SUPERB RECOVERY BOOK and I highly recommend it.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    A VERY USEFUL AND COMPREHENSIVE RESOURCE

    As a sex-addiction therapist, this book has been immensely useful to me in my practice, but it is also an easy, pleasant and informative read for the layperson. If you work in the field of addictions and/or think that you may have a problem yourself then this book will definitely help you.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the best book out there for those dealing with porn addiction either directly or indirectly; it provides a thorough presentation of the porn epidemic in our society and what we need to do to fix the problem.

    I have rated this book with five stars for each category because this is the most comprehensive book out there on the market that presents the problem of porn addiction in an honest and direct way, and that fully explores the repercussions of this addiction on each individual and our society as a whole. I commend Wendy and Larry Maltz for this book; it is powerful. If you have not read this book, I highly recommend it. And if you are a social worker, psychologist, etc...it is essential that you read this book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    This book was pivotal in my recovery from porn addiction

    This book cuts to the chase and addresses the difficult issues head-on. I was able to follow the directions of the book and end my porn problem in three months. This book saved my marriage.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    EXCELLENT, THOUGHTFUL, SENSITIVE AND EYE-OPENING INFORMATION!!!

    I unequivocally recommend this book to:
    . Therapists so they can better help their clients. As a counselor myself, I observe that most therapists are not trained adequately, if at all, in this area. Yet it can cause such deep & divisive problems for their clients. The very nature of addiction implies great difficulty in stopping a behavior. This book's description of how and why porn addiction can be so compellingly gripping is enlightening. Additionally, the book helps with understanding why the addict ultimately may face significant problems in their own sexuality and with a real life person.

    . Individuals and families dealing with porn. This book is nonjudgmental, informative, kind and written in an easy to understand, respectful manner. Its practical steps for disengaging from porn very useful.

    . Anyone interested and/or concerned about the effects of this unprecedented cultural phenomenon.

    . Parents who want to be aware of what their children may be exposed to way too young and without their knowledge.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    Wendy Maltz consistently deals with the toughest areas of sexual problems with clarity and accuracy and the Porn Trap is another example of her fine work.

    Now more than ever as a culture and especially as parents we must face the role that porn plays in corrupting the minds of our young people. Wendy Maltz has been an unflagging spokesperson for women and men who have been sexually abused and now she and her husband have confronted the issue which many of us find the most difficult--what is the line between depictions of sexuality as healthy models and those that defile sexuality. She speaks for many therapists who were lulled into believing "anything goes" and who now realize there need to be lines drawn. I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    A book for both individuals and professionals

    As a counseling professional I found this book to be an intelligent and healing investigation of a very challenging subject. It is excellent and written as a hopeful guide to those who struggle with pornography addiction. I recommend it to all professionals and to any individual who faces the challenges of this addiction, or anyone who cares for them. Thank you Wendy and Larry!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Highly recommended

    this has been a struggle for me for over a decade and once i read this book, it was almost instantly that i stopped. I don't want to spoil the book for anybody but with any addiction, it is never the addiction itself. please remember that this issue is very common and to admit that this is a burden in your life shows no weakness in your character whatsoever. With some self-reflecting while reading this book, you will be good to go.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    Great Resource for Clients

    As a mental health professional and one who has worked with clients with sexual addictions I found the Maltz's book very helpful and one that I have recommended to client's struggling with pornography addiction. Well researched and easy to read for clients.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    A Comprehensive Review of the Diagnosis and Treatment of Pornography Addiction

    As a Psychotherapy Professional, I found this book very useful in the consideration of pornography use by my clients. It was a great mix of real cases and relevant information. Since then, I have recommended the book to clients, who also have found it useful in their recovery from pornography problems.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Excellent reference on a challenging subject ...

    I highly recommend this book to patients and colleagues alike!

    Dr. Sandra Scantling
    Author of Extraordinary Sex Now: A Couples Guide to Intimacy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book, For the Addict...

    I am grateful for this book. It was difficult to find information that was current enough to meet the societal changes our technology has brought to the topic of sexual addiction. Most of my internet searches led me to costly recovery programs for the addict. I am afraid though, it has still left me somewhat searching. My problem is that I am a partner, a FORMER partner. The subtitle is Overcoming Problems Caused by Addiction. I overlooked the band on the top of the book: Strategies for Recovery & RELATIONSHIP healing. So while I was able to get an enormous amount of understanding for the addict's point of view, as a person not interested in being within a relationship with an addict, I had little information to recover from the problems it caused ME. Still, I continued to read every page. The chapter on Partners in Pain described me in some regards, Being in the Dark, The Shock of Discovery, Emotional Wound, but not at the final blow, Trying to Cope, when a partner realizes that her loved one has an addiction to pornography...Yuck, I'm out of there! I pray for the recovery of my loved one, and that I am able to reach forgiveness, but I don't need to go to counseling and a twelve step program to go beyond what the books says are the typical reactions: to be a porn cop or to compete with porn! Women, (as it usually is women, yet not always, who are the partner of a porn addict) get a back bone! Our society is a stay by your man world. Look at all the current events that depict the expectations of women to stay in relationships of sexually addicted men. Read the book! Internet pornography is a powerful, addictive habit that affects the addict on a brain chemistry level. It distorts the ability to relate to an intimate partner, his/her environment, and his/her core values! (And some of the readers are mothers.) I would never risk my own emotional well being and future, and I know I am NOT alone! The book omitted people like me. I suspect it is because of business networking that offers hope for some. While the empathy and research on the addict is useful, and there could be hope for a recovering addict, don't get carried away with advice for the partner.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    Professionally useful

    Wendy really knows her stuff.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    Very relevant for me, even as a gay man

    While the book is not focused on my passion / arch enemy of gay porn, the book provided me with valuable insight on keeping my life together. I had no problem adapting the principles spelled out in the book. While I am still tempted to search out porn, I find that my life is far more focused on enjoying my real relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    Excellent & Informative

    This is an important book for everyone who is affected by this issue and professionals helping couples face the "porn trap". Has lots of useful exercises and worksheets too. I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3