Customer Reviews for

The Portable Patriot: Documents, Speeches, and Sermons That Compose the American Soul

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Portable Patriot by Joel Miller

The Portable Patriot by Joel Miller

The Portable Patriot should be required reading for every elected politician from the President of the United States down to the mayor of a town of 50. To go even further, I would suggest that every household in the US have a copy ...
The Portable Patriot by Joel Miller

The Portable Patriot should be required reading for every elected politician from the President of the United States down to the mayor of a town of 50. To go even further, I would suggest that every household in the US have a copy of the Portable Patriot in their house.

Though Mr. Miller would like this to happen, I doubt it ever will. I am tempted, after reading it, to send a copy to the President and several of the elected politicians that "represent me".

The Portable Patriot is a collection of documents, essays, letters and sermons from the revolutionary war era. Not only does the book include well known documents like "The Declaration of Independence", "The Bill of Rights", and "The Constitution", but lesser known letters and sermons that are not normally included in most history classes. The documents chosen help to give the reader insight into what the people of that era were thinking, feeling, and going through. Reading the book brought many of the historical figures to life and made them more real to me.

Admittedly, much of this book is pretty dry reading. Most people will probably find it more of a reference book than something to read straight through. I initially skipped around in it and read the articles that sounded interesting. It was only after a few days of browsing that I forced myself to read straight through it. In contrast, a friend of mine who is a history buff said he had trouble putting the book down.

I highly recommend this book as well as Joel Miller's other - The Revolutionary Paul Revere.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

posted by arcook on July 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

"The Portable Patriot" (edited) by Joel J. Miller & Kristen Parrish

The United States of America is rich with a past that translates to a painful, but more importantly -- a proud history. "The Portable Patriot" tells America's story through a compilation of American records and documents. It includes first documents such as The Mayflowe...
The United States of America is rich with a past that translates to a painful, but more importantly -- a proud history. "The Portable Patriot" tells America's story through a compilation of American records and documents. It includes first documents such as The Mayflower Compact to famous speeches like The First Inaugural Address of George Washington, all of which manage to capture their conviction and determination to succeed.

Being Canadian, I was briefly educated in American history and hoped to ascertain a broader knowledge of why Americans, seemingly more than most, loved their country so immensely. Although this book was fairly short (268 pages), I feel I quickly understood the dignity of being an American once I began reading it. The Founding of America is a rare example and a glimmer of hope in human history with regards to achieving what is best for the common good. I learned a lot from reading this book, but assume I could read it again and still have more to gain.
I highly recommend this book as an introduction to American history or a pleasurable light read for American patriots. Any American household could benefit from this accessible book succinctly capturing the key events that made America.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions expressed are my own.

posted by tantrUm on July 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Perfect book to go with civics course!

    I think it's very important to look at history and learn what our forefathers thought and did. I think it's especially important to look at it from a Christian worldview. The Portable Patriot isn't a made up tale. It's history. It's a compile of letters, sermons, and documents that are OUR history.The words in it were written by men like John Adams, William Bradford, and Miles Standish. They were read by men like George Washington and Benjamin Franklin. Now we can read it.

    The Portable Patriot is subtitled Documents, Speeches and Sermons that compose the American Soul. That is a great way to explain this book. You could call it a miniature history textbook. It's a great way to learn about what life was like then.

    However, this is in the English that our forefather's spoke, so please be advised that it may be hard to understand in some parts. I would suggest this book for young adults to adults. This is a great resource to have on hand as well!

    According to new laws, I'm required to say that I got this book for free from Thomas Nelson in exchange for a review. I am not required to give a favorable review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Portable Patriot by Joel Miller

    The Portable Patriot by Joel Miller

    The Portable Patriot should be required reading for every elected politician from the President of the United States down to the mayor of a town of 50. To go even further, I would suggest that every household in the US have a copy of the Portable Patriot in their house.

    Though Mr. Miller would like this to happen, I doubt it ever will. I am tempted, after reading it, to send a copy to the President and several of the elected politicians that "represent me".

    The Portable Patriot is a collection of documents, essays, letters and sermons from the revolutionary war era. Not only does the book include well known documents like "The Declaration of Independence", "The Bill of Rights", and "The Constitution", but lesser known letters and sermons that are not normally included in most history classes. The documents chosen help to give the reader insight into what the people of that era were thinking, feeling, and going through. Reading the book brought many of the historical figures to life and made them more real to me.

    Admittedly, much of this book is pretty dry reading. Most people will probably find it more of a reference book than something to read straight through. I initially skipped around in it and read the articles that sounded interesting. It was only after a few days of browsing that I forced myself to read straight through it. In contrast, a friend of mine who is a history buff said he had trouble putting the book down.

    I highly recommend this book as well as Joel Miller's other - The Revolutionary Paul Revere.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com &lt;http://BookSneeze.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 &lt;http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Portable Patriot

    "The Portable Patriot", is a wonderful and essential collection of writings from our forefathers, those men who took their faith and desires literally and therefore, began a transition from colonial establishment to the birth of a new nation. One must note that "The Portable Patriot" is a collection of excerpts of these famous and necessary documents, otherwise this book would be just to large to carry with the reader.

    Joel J. Miller and Kristen Parrish, have obviously taken great time and apparent pleasure in bringing these documents, speeches, and sermons together so that we as readers, can drink in the sources of the Patriotic natures of our forefathers. This collection beckons the reader to think about their own Patriotism and asks the question of that Patriotism that only each individual can answer.

    This book/collection also provokes the reader to look at today's conditions and activities with a more than passing glance. The question that comes to mind of this reader is "What would our founders think about the conditions and actions of our country today?"

    At the very onset of this collection of "I. Beginnings" ' The Mayflower Compact', through and all inclusive of The section 'Afterword,' we can get a glance if not a more in depth look at what was a birth of a nation. I find it appropriate that I am writing this review on July 4, 2010. What a wonderful way to celebrate our nation's birthday. Happy Birthday to The United States of America.

    While reading this collection of documents, speeches and sermons, I was reminded that we must all be vigilant in the protection of our rights and obligations as citizens of this great country. It was most revealing in reading Noah Webster's Oration on the Twenty-Sixth Anniversary of The Declaration of Independence. This is a quote from the section. Noah Webster warns America about those who would advance their own interests through the political system, and by pandering to the people even seducing and deceiving them. "Nation like individuals, may be misled by an ardent enthusiasm, which allures them from the standard of practical wisdom, and commits them to the guidance of visionary projectors. By fondly cherishing the opinion that they enjoy some superior advantages of knowledge, or local situation, the rulers of a state may lose the benefit of history and observation, the surest guides in political affairs; and delude themselves with the belief, that obstacles which have baffled the exertions of their predecessors.....".

    Finally, "The Portable Patriot" is truly portable in size, but it is also jam packed with everything a person needs to remind them as to where and how our great nation started and it is a constant reminder to all of us of how fragile our freedom is. Let us all be ready and willing to protect that freedom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    Highly Recommended Reading For All Americans

    The Portable Patriot

    Documents, Speeches and Sermons that Compose the American Soul

    Edited by Joel J. Miller and Kristen Parrish

    Thomas Nelson Publishing

    Nashville, TN - 2010

    ISBN 978-1-59555-110-8



    I have to admit, the thought of sitting down and reading patriot speeches and sermons, by choice, was not the way I would have chosen to spend an evening! However, I quickly found myself engrossed in the multiple patriotic discourses int his volume, and have to confess, that yes, I did in fact read the entire volume in about 3 hours without stopping!



    I sat riveted to my chair as I read Thomas Paine, Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, and Thomas Jefferson, to name but just a few of the varied writers who are quoted within these pages.



    Instead of feeling bored, I felt a sense of how right these great men were for our founding fathers! There insight holds true to this very day! Their words are as appropriate today as when they first spoke them or wrote them down!



    Inside the reader also finds the Declaration fo Independence, the Bill of Rights, and the so many more articles that helped to not only form this great Nation, but unite it as no other.



    I felt my chest swelling with pride, and my heart became overwhelmed.



    This is surely a must read for all high school and college students!!! And for every patriotic American!



    I highly recommend this great compilation for all libraries, home and commercial.



    I give this book a five star rating.



    ***Thomas Nelson Publishing supplied me with a free copy of this book for independent review. I am in no way affiliated with Thomas Nelson Publishing and this review was not written for monetary refund.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    Review of The Portable Patriot

    I think I actually decided I loved this book even before I opened it. This little hardback gem looks and feels like a slice of our Yankee Doodle heritage before you've begun reading a single word. I was further delighted when, upon opening the front cover, I found the end papers appear to be autographed . by the founding fathers themselves. Nice touch. Inside, this carefully chosen collection of documents (some familiar to me and some new treasures to enjoy) bring back into sharp focus the values and principles held so dear in the hearts of the extraordinary men and women who forged the history of our great nation. But this book is intended by its authors as more than just a lesson in American history; it is an impassioned plea for a return to patriotism. The closing sentence of the Afterword sums it up.
    "If these texts represent ideas and past actions that compose the American soul, then to disregard them is to reduce our country to a mere political mechanism, and America is so much more than that."
    This little volume will find its new home on my desk for easy access rather than gathering dust with other "already-read-it" books on my shelves.
    FYI: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1