Customer Reviews for

PORTAL (Portal Chronicles Book One)

Average Rating 4
( 409 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing sci-fi romance

PORTAL is a sci-fi romance with well-fleshed characters and an intriguing plot. Normally, a novel in the romance genre would be of no interest to me at all (being a guy and all!) but PORTAL managed to keep my interest throughout thanks to its main character, Arizona, an...
PORTAL is a sci-fi romance with well-fleshed characters and an intriguing plot. Normally, a novel in the romance genre would be of no interest to me at all (being a guy and all!) but PORTAL managed to keep my interest throughout thanks to its main character, Arizona, and its fascinating sci-fi plot involving time travel and alternative dimensions. There's such a careful balance of sci-fi versus romance that both genre readers will enjoy it equally. I'd be hard pushed to say which genre comes through the strongest, and in this regard it reminds me slightly of The Time Traveler's Wife, another story that's hard to pigeonhole and one that wouldn't work if either the sci-fi or the romance was taken away.

There's a lot to think about after the book ends. All the complexities of the "experiment" are finally laid out for the readers (and poor Arizona) to see, and yet you come away with your head spinning -- in a good way. The best kinds of movies and novels are those that leave you with something to ponder, and PORTAL certainly does that. And the fact that there's a forthcoming sequel, EQUILIBRIUM, due in Summer 2010, is something of a no-brainer -- there's plenty more story waiting to be explored yet!

Not wanting to give away spoilers, I was happy with Arizona's decision at the end and think it would have been unrealistic for her to choose otherwise. Still, part of me wanted her to "take the plunge" and choose the other option, because what a great story that would make! Maybe that's what we have to look forward to in EQUILIBRIUM... or maybe the author will take us in a new direction altogether. There are so many possibilities, especially after the Epilogue, which almost came out of left field and really throws a sinister spanner in the works. Roll on Book II!

posted by UnearthlyTales on February 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I guess I am now officially old...

I know it was in the "Teen" section but so are many other novels that have been published lately so I thought I would try it as it was relatively inexpensive. While I enjoyed the story line and found it interesting I was constantly distracted by the seemingly endless r...
I know it was in the "Teen" section but so are many other novels that have been published lately so I thought I would try it as it was relatively inexpensive. While I enjoyed the story line and found it interesting I was constantly distracted by the seemingly endless references to name brand items (clothes, I-phone, etc....) I often found myself wondering if Ms. Rose received product endorsements. also, and a bit of a spoiler here...I found it implausible how easily it was accepted that the character and her best friends just happened to all show up in the past in another life. They just went on with life as normal and it seemed if that was thrown on to the back burner. Even characters who hadn't gone back seemed to find it possible within a few sentences. Again, I am older I guess and jaded.

I would have also liked a bit more information on the science of how it all worked. there is a second book so maybe she explains more there?

So, I guess if you can suspend all rational belief and go with it just put on your Juicy top and your Hermes scarf, set some tunes on your I-phone and start reading...

posted by Catbirdmom on January 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 412 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    Intriguing sci-fi romance

    PORTAL is a sci-fi romance with well-fleshed characters and an intriguing plot. Normally, a novel in the romance genre would be of no interest to me at all (being a guy and all!) but PORTAL managed to keep my interest throughout thanks to its main character, Arizona, and its fascinating sci-fi plot involving time travel and alternative dimensions. There's such a careful balance of sci-fi versus romance that both genre readers will enjoy it equally. I'd be hard pushed to say which genre comes through the strongest, and in this regard it reminds me slightly of The Time Traveler's Wife, another story that's hard to pigeonhole and one that wouldn't work if either the sci-fi or the romance was taken away.

    There's a lot to think about after the book ends. All the complexities of the "experiment" are finally laid out for the readers (and poor Arizona) to see, and yet you come away with your head spinning -- in a good way. The best kinds of movies and novels are those that leave you with something to ponder, and PORTAL certainly does that. And the fact that there's a forthcoming sequel, EQUILIBRIUM, due in Summer 2010, is something of a no-brainer -- there's plenty more story waiting to be explored yet!

    Not wanting to give away spoilers, I was happy with Arizona's decision at the end and think it would have been unrealistic for her to choose otherwise. Still, part of me wanted her to "take the plunge" and choose the other option, because what a great story that would make! Maybe that's what we have to look forward to in EQUILIBRIUM... or maybe the author will take us in a new direction altogether. There are so many possibilities, especially after the Epilogue, which almost came out of left field and really throws a sinister spanner in the works. Roll on Book II!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    dimensional love

    I must admit I am a Twilight fan and I thought it would be hard to find anything that could come close to what I felt for Stephanie Meyer's novels, but Portal by Imogen Rose is a close call. No, not vampires. No, not werewolves.

    Her science fiction romantic journey takes the reader on a completely different kind of experience -a time bending, dimension leaping swirl of page turning anticipation, heartfelt passions, and familial relationships. With well developed and complicated characters and a twisting plot, this novel was hard to put down and I am intrigued to find out how the sequel will deal with the issues.

    Imogen Rose sets up a fantastical world within the realm of possibility, by structuring a story that revolves around a physicist named Olivia (Arizona's mother), who is unhappily married and is told by a musician named Rupert, to meet her two years ago. The story unfolds, but this time Arizona is not living the life she knew, but is also affected by the choices her mother, Olivia has made, and her world becomes a series of memories she never had.

    To complicate matters, Arizona finds herself dating the handsome Kellan, the love of her (new) life, for eight years and while she is finding this new dimension full of surprises, this is one surprise she may not want to let go of...

    This was a definite Sci-Fi-Romance, that fans of that genre are not going to want to miss!

    Five stars out of five!

    Reviewed April 11, 2010
    By: Ami Blackwelder
    http://hotgossiphotreviews.blogspot.com

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    I guess I am now officially old...

    I know it was in the "Teen" section but so are many other novels that have been published lately so I thought I would try it as it was relatively inexpensive. While I enjoyed the story line and found it interesting I was constantly distracted by the seemingly endless references to name brand items (clothes, I-phone, etc....) I often found myself wondering if Ms. Rose received product endorsements. also, and a bit of a spoiler here...I found it implausible how easily it was accepted that the character and her best friends just happened to all show up in the past in another life. They just went on with life as normal and it seemed if that was thrown on to the back burner. Even characters who hadn't gone back seemed to find it possible within a few sentences. Again, I am older I guess and jaded.

    I would have also liked a bit more information on the science of how it all worked. there is a second book so maybe she explains more there?

    So, I guess if you can suspend all rational belief and go with it just put on your Juicy top and your Hermes scarf, set some tunes on your I-phone and start reading...

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great for Any Age

    This book is a surprise, did not expect to enjoy it so much. It might be intended for a younger audience but as a 58 year old grandma, I can tell you that you are never too old to enjoy a good story with superb writing.
    Imagine that you are suddenly in a place that you don't recognize but everyone treats you like they have known you forever. This is the life that one teenager experiences and her search to find the answers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    Loved it

    I absolutely loved this book and couldn't put it down. It really made me wish that I could somehow experience a parallel universe!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Loved it

    Wow, this book is great. I am totally hooked. Getting the second book right away.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Loved It!

    I've downloaded a few samples of the YA books that some other authors have been recommending. Most of the time I don't buy them. Even some of them that are REALLY popular just don't interest me. It's just not my favorite genre, although there are a couple of authors I know who write awesome YAs that I've thoroughly enjoyed. But this one...wow. This novel combines romance, science fiction, and normal teenage "stuff". It kept me hooked through the whole book. Of course, now I'll have to read the next book to see what happens....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    New and Exciting

    What a great read! Love the concept and the author's entertaining style of writing. Can't wait to read what happens next, purchasing the sequel now.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Charming story with a brilliant hook

    I was drawn in by the brilliant hook - come find me two years ago. This sets up a time travel story that also has life swap, love story and even mystery elements to it, as a group of teenagers work together to discover what has happened to them. It deals with themes of identity, family relationships, friendship and trust. Why does Arizona recognise people she has never met? What happened to Grandma? Is Arizona a cheerleader or an ice hockey player? Does her mother, Olivia, have the right to behave selfishly to be with the man she loves?

    This book is aimed at young adults but I must admit to watching and enjoying TV programs aimed at a similar audience - Glee, anyone? - and I also enjoyed Portal. It's part of a series and is sure to develop a loyal following as each new book appears.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    Couldn't put it down!

    Portal by Imogen Rose is a page turning, fast paced read. I could not put it down, yet I didn't want it to end. Imagine waking up in a whole different life. Portal blends Sci-Fi, romance and the struggles teens face seamlessly. The twists and turns are never predictable and will keep you up at night. The characters are well thought out and seem very real to the reader. I liked Arizona and her family and friends and can't wait to read the next book in the series and see what happens next!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Amazing story with a great plot.

    Oh my gosh this was the best book i have ever read and i was hooked throughout the whole book....i definitly recommend it!!! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Unique!

    A very unique time travel book written for teens. As a middle school teacher, I, too, enjoyed this book, and I look forward to reading the rest of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    I love this series!

    I have read Portal and the second book, Equilibrium, in a matter of 2 weeks. I just downloaded the third and I love it!
    It is still the paranormal romance I am use to reading, but with a syfy kick to it. It is a nice change.
    Also this series is good for all ages, I am 29 and I love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    best book ever

    awesome book i could not put it down , it makes twilight look like an utter disgrace, keep writing!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    Repetitive with stiff dialogue

    I'm an adult who loves young adult books but this one just didn't work for me. There were no surprises in the plot and I found it very boring.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    fair

    though the idea for this story was good, it was not executed to its full potential. its a short book, but seems to drag on in unnessesary parts. also, there are quite a few grammar errors that are annoying and unprofessional. all in all it was good, just not what i expected. maybe the sequal will be better. :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    intense

    this book was extremly good! It was better than i thought it would br

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good for Young Adult

    This was a cute story. The characters and plot line were definately written with a certain age bracket in mind. If you have children I would recommend this for ages 12-15. The plot does show definate imagination but is very easy to follow. A nice "pick up and read" for a rainy day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Good Book. Worth Reading.

    I thought this was a good book and worth reading. The topic and theme felt like something Dean Koontz would write. It is worth noting, however that Imogen is not as strong a writer as Koontz or Suzzane Collins. Still, it is entertaining and interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Highly recommended

    This is such a great new concept. Don't get me wrong, I love the vampire trend, but this is something new and exciting. It's well written and entertaining,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 412 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21