Customer Reviews for

Portishead

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Stimulating...

    This is a great cd, of course no artist can compair to a first "hit" record, Dummy was just an orgazim to the ears, and this record is the mood building up to the climax... its will put together and Beth has a voise i could only drema to have... her sound and tone and lyrics are haunting... the first time i saw them was on SNL, i was hooked... it wont ever compair to Dummy... but it isnt a let down either.. 5 stars.. great music by a great band.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Beautiful

    Just like their CD 'Dummy', this one offers the same amazing beats and rhythms. Beth Gibbons has a haunting voice that gives me chills. Check out 'All Mine' 'Only You' and 'Cowboys'...these are my favs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Deliciously Dark

    I feel rather gauche and obscure admitting this, but I only happened upon Portishead a handful of months ago. I’m a dight promiscuous in the realm of music – I’m pretty much always up for something different and nothing is too clashing or contradistinct so as to elude me. Enter my fresh obsession with Portishead. .............. I’m deeply impressed – dark, melancholy, a shade morose and gloomy, but also poignantly soft, subtle and all around silky-sweet … almost, dare I say, delicate. I’ve heard tell of this album being described as exuding a mellow, yet piquantly moody, sci-fi aura. I couldn’t agree more – it bleeds eerie and alien black, a delish compliment to any morbid, macabre mind, but it also endears itself quite seductively to the hopeless romantic with a weeping, prettily polished forties feel. Or, at least that is the impression I’m under. ............... Beth is absolutely fabulous juxtaposed with the beautifully heady, brooding backdrop of crisp percussion, retro brass and writhing tempo. It isn’t often, unfortunately, that we are appreciated such an eloquence, and when we are, it leaves quite the imprint, don’t you know. It is uncanny how natural a match she is to this music. Sheer brilliance. ............... It is hard finding words befitting of this album. It is so many things, but one thing it is not is dull. It is bewitchingly intelligent and a salad bar for the emotions – it is utterly soul-shattering. It is a little more strange then you’re used to, but it is a good kind of strange … the kind of strange that leaves you dazed and breathless, curiously asking yourself, “where have I been?”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    *TRIP HOP AT IT'S BEST*

    Their Trip hop sound and CRAZY beats mellow me out and pump me up at the same time. Deep dark lyrics .... veryy sexyyy....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Portishead at their best

    This band is by far the most diverse and also brilliant artists of the 90's. Their work is so different to anything else out there, every song has been written without any thought of what the critics would say. In my opinion their brilliance was also there downfall. This album will sooth your soul and mend your aching heart, one of the top 10 albums of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Passion with inspiration

    Their alblum definately deserves all credit. With the dark, artistic lyrics and trip-hop sound they've become a ''music'' of their own. Shy of the media, they have and will, in the end, truly succede in changing inspiration as we know it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    PORTISHEAD IS BRILLIANT

    THE PERFECT BLEND OF TRIP-HOP, LIVE INSTRUMENTS, AN ANGELIC VOICE AND A TRUE POETS LYRICS. THE RANGE OF BETH GIBBONS VOCALS IS AMAZING, FROM CHILD-LIKE SERENITY TO FEMALE ANGST AND HEARTACHE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Their music is dark and elegant!

    Beth Gibbons has a voice that is soft yet enchanting. This group from England is nothing I have ever heard before, at first I wasn't sure about them. After listening to them for a while you begin to understand the deeper meanings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cozy , Suffocating , and Serene

    No one can deny Portishead their Glory. The songs on this album are the soundtrack's to the conclusion of one's suffering. It's best if you listen when the sun is going down outside in a park or on a deserted pathway. Also when a party has died down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1