BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Portrait in Death (In Death Series #16)

Average Rating 4.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2003

    The best yet in the series!

    Eve Dallas is in Heaven. Sommerset, her personal nemesis, is taking a vacation, and she is looking forward to twenty one joyful days without the stuck up butler making her life miserable. All this comes crashing down when he trips over her cat and breaks his leg, followed closely by a call from news reporter friend, Nadine, with a murder report. Eve shortly finds herself embroiled in a new case, where some sick individual is killing the beautiful and the innocent, after artistically posing them and making photos, so as to capture their souls and absorb them into himself. To make the whole situation worse, she lacks her faithful husband, Roarke's assistance, since he is on a personal quest to learn the truth about his mother. Not only does this mean he won't be able to help her solve the case, but it leaves her alone to deal with Sommerset, who is even worse to handle when he is bedridden and forced to cope with a too chirpy and cheerful physical assistant. The case takes on an even grimer turn when a friend is the killer's latest target. Eve must race against time, or lose someone she cares about. ***** Enjoyable as ever, this book is perhaps the best yet in this thrilling series. Eve is sharp as ever, her tough mien a thin disguise for the soft heart she hides. However, Roarke takes on an even greater depth, showing readers facets of himself beyond the sexy rouge gazillionaire we have grown to love. The plot and futuristic world as well crafted as ever, and revisiting the old friends we have made over the course of previous books is also a joy. ***** REVIEWER: AMANDA KILLGORE OF HUNTRESS REVIEWS

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Excellent Plot. Exceptional Writing. Interesting Twist.

    What I enjoy most about this series is Ms Robb's attention to detail. Aside from the totally iced electronic possibilities she poses, the police procedural is always tightly woven and carefully explained.

    Of course, having Roarke in the picture doesn't hurt; money talks, after all, but it is the very human-ness of the characters that draws attention book after book. Feeling secure in her writing abilities, Ms Robb has chosen to damage her main characters. And she does it in a way that we can all relate to.

    I'll not give specifics - this is one of the best in a Very Good series. Go read it for yourself. You won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    All about Roarke

    This is one of my most favorite of the series. Roarke is unsettled as you've never seen him as revelations of his unknown history are exposed. Eve has an opportunity to support him emotionally for a change, offering us a chance to experience her own personal development. The murder mystery is also compelling but this story is delightfully about Roarke and Eve.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was very interesting. I love taking pictures of people, of

    This was very interesting. I love taking pictures of people, of places and things that mean dear to me.
     And to read about how the light takes a soul it really got me. And also how people can really lose it
    when their brain gets pushed to hard. This book kind of makes you want to do a reality check on
    yourself, making sure everything is alright in the noggin'. I especially loved the last few pages.
    The parts of Trueheart and all the cops in New York. Many of those cops you can tell didn't know who
    Trueheart was, but he wore the badge and that was enough!

    Glad we finally got a side of Roarke too. Reading about Dallas's life is interesting, and
    sort of sad but glad to read about it sort of way gets kind of like "Okay we know what's going
    through her mind, let's see what is going through Roarke's mind through tough decisions."
     And this was the best. He really found out how much he needs her, and how he needs to admit
    that to himself that without her his world will become unstable and he wouldn't be "Roarke". 

    A great read! Glad I can enjoy it while working at the library. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love anything by JD Robb

    Love anything by JD Robb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Never Bored, But Long For More Romance!! Brought to you by OBS

    Never Bored, But Long For More Romance!!

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Heidi

    We’re back (or is that forward) in futuristic New York in the 16th installment of Nora Robert’s In Death series written under her pseudo name, J.D. Robb.

    Eve is ecstatic that Summerset is finally going to take a vacation and will be out of her hair and the house for three glorious weeks when he trips over the cat and breaks his leg causing him to postpone his trip. And while Roarke is getting him all squared away Eve catches a case.

    Nadine contacts Eve because she was sent a note from the killer along with pictures the killer took. The first picture was taken before the victim was killed without the victim’s knowledge and the second picture was taken after the murder, one where the killer posed the victim just as he wanted her. The info that was given to Nadine leads them to a recycler across from where the victim, a young college student, works. But the killer isn’t done as he has more pictures to take to finish his masterpiece and it’s up to Eve to figure out how to stop him.

    While Eve is in the middle of her investigation and Summerset is laid up, Roarke gets some world-altering news of his own. The mother that he remembers leaving him wasn’t his mother at all and that his father murdered his real mom who actually loved him. He has no idea what to do with this news and tries his best to push Eve away and deal with all his feelings on his own.

    There was a lot going on in this book. I was never bored and the storylines kept me interested, but for some reason the book was just OK to me, not really sure why.

    I thought the killer was interesting, but completely sick. I can’t even look at a dead fish so I can’t imagine killing someone and then taking their picture postmortem.

    I found Roarke’s personal woes to be really entertaining (not in a happy way, but in a what will happen next totally engrossed kind of way) and I just wanted to see more. He was an idiot for not including his wife in what was going on though; he had to know she’d find out eventually. It was interesting to see Roarke and Eve with Roarke’s new family knowing that neither of them have ever had that and had no idea what to do.

    It was great to see Trueheart again and I was screaming in my head “NO!!!” when he was taken as the killer’s last victim even though I knew he’d be saved. He is just so sweet and innocent it’s hard not to like him and I really hope he gets a girlfriend of his own in the future installments of the series.

    I wish there was more of Peabody and McNab’s relationship in this one and hey….Eve never did ask Roarke if he had any rentals for them.

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Read

    One of the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    A Must Read!!

    Great! Great series! It just keeps getting better and better!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Hard to put down

    Nora Roberts writing as JD Robb has another great book in a winning series. Eve Dallas and Roarke make a wonderfully intimate, sexy and unexpected couple. The characters keep things interesting and the imagery makes me able to see the story; can't you just see the happy dances they do?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not your typical 'In Death' Novel

    Youth. Vitality. Innocence.

    The only things that Eve's victims seem to have in common. Well, that, and their murderer.

    In her race to find out who is murdering these people who have just barely started in their adulthood Eve knows very little except that the last to see them alive was the camera the murderer uses to photograph them postmortem.

    Oddly enough, when Eve decides that she finally needs help, the one person who she actually thought would live up to their promise to always be there disappears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Love every one of the death series. Want to read them all!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great insights about Roarke you won't want to miss!

    This is one of my favorites in the In Death series by J.D Robb. Eve has the opportunity to support Roarke emotionally for a change. We also see Roarke at his most dangerous and vulnerable at the same time. Highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    series worth reading

    Nora Roberts writing as JD Robb has a winning series here. Eve Dallas is the Homicide detective of the future and Roarke is her exciting sexy spouse. The mysteries keep you guessing to the end and romance is steamy while still sweet. The characters keep things interesting. I enjoy the images Ms Roberts gives us of her idea of the future. The imagery is clear, makes me, as the reader believe its really there while I'm reading the story. Even with all the extras, the murder mystery remains the main focus. She always throws in exciting twists that really keeps you on your toes. Sometimes Eve "just knows" who the killer is, but doesn't know how to prove it, and sometimes she struggles with the outcome until the very end. Either way, If you like mysteries, this series is going to keep your attention. The books can be read in order but don't need to be to be understood. Each book, while it may refer to things that happen in previous books, will stand alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    edgy

    If you like something that has action in it you will like this book. You can feel like you are there with them. Your feelings get caught up in what is happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    Great Series

    I can't put this series down. The characters are wonderful and thier interaction is fun, intense and priceless at times. I would recommend this and the rest of the series in a heartbeat. It's a great place to go to escape the world for a short time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting & Surprising

    This book has the usual style of JD Robb that I love, but it also has a touching quality to it. There is a connection with the characters that pulls you right into the story. You become so involved with the story that you are just as surprised of the ending as the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    In Death Series

    J D Robb is among my favorites as an author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST SERIES EVER...

    New York in the year 2059 has its fair share of creative killers. The latest deviant that homicide Lieutenant Eve Dallas must chase down appears to be getting more out of his work than the thrill of the kill or perverse sexual satisfaction. What is it that is making him pose the bodies post mortem for stylish, almost beautiful portrait shots? Eve can see that her quarry is meticulous, careful and quite the sociopath. What is driving his need to record his taking of a life? <BR/>On the home front Eve faces another challenge in that final frontier of personal, unknown territories - her marriage. Never on firm ground in her only adult relationship to date (and this, is also questionable) Eve is flummoxed when her normally affectionate and sexually charged husband is blowing her off without reason, doing his own thing and not including her in his life. Roarke has found out that his mother did not, in fact, dump him when he was a very young child. The harridan that was there for the early years was not, in fact, his mother at all. <BR/>Performing up to expectation, author Nora Roberts a.k.a. J.D. Robb delivers a screechingly fast read starring her two dynamos of the future, the super snarly Eve and the ravishing Roarke. Not at all shabby at populating her novels with an array of eccentric, interesting characters, Robb particularly excels in this department with "Portrait in Death", the 16th entry in her bestselling "in Death" series. A little realism finally creeps in, and it's a timely inclusion. Roarke is not perfect all the time and even super cop Eve can have insecurities out of the workplace. The hunt is well depicted and leaves the reader satisfied on all counts. Yes, you get your love scenes as always. If you're not already on the "in Death" wagon, "Portrait in Death" is an excellent example of just how much fun you are missing out on. You will not be disappointed with this installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    Wonderful series

    I wasn't a huge romance novel fan, but I do enjoy a little romance in my books. When I started reading the series, I didn't know J.D. Robb was Nora Roberts, but now that I know how good she is, I might just read some of her romance line! This series is amazing, and Nora is doing a superb job at keeping the quality high each time. Susan Ericksen is my FAVORITE audio narrator, and I've 'read' a lot of audio books! Go out and get the book (or even better, the CDs) as soon as you can!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    Simple and great

    Portrait in Death is a great book and a sure satisfaction for a fan of the Eve Dallas series. The characters have been further developed and there is more information on Roarke's past. What is particularly noticeable is that the minor characters made the story awesome as much about as the major characters. The plot is rich and keeps the reader in suspense until the ideal moment. The pace of the novel is fast, and the book is enriched by the humorous nature of the story. This is a highly recommended read along with the other stories in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9