Customer Reviews for

Portrait of a Spy (Gabriel Allon Novel #11)

Average Rating 4
( 423 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(200)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Download Portrait of a Spy For Free

Download Portrait of a Spy For Free From Here goo.gl/BrZsL

posted by 9114493 on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

55 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 424 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Another Great Story for Gabriel Allon

    Daniel Silva has another HIT. Must read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Another great read!

    Was waiting months for "Portrait of a Spy". Downloaded it as soon as I could. It did not disappoint. The Gabriel Allon series is one of the best. Highly recommended at any price!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I would Highly Recommend any of this authors books. He is a great author.

    I have not read this book yet I just ordered it! However; I just LOVE LOVE LOVE this author. His books are great!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    OMG! WORTH THE WAIT!

    I loved it! (I will also admit here that I'm a bit obsessed-have all of the Gabriel Allon series in HC,NOOK,&the first 8 in PB!)
    Once again, great story, LOVE Nadia (am a BIT upset with Adrian!)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Can 't Wait

    You get What You pay for. It's the times we live in. And how much do you pay for gas?? Thhis also will be a good read as they all have been.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    :)

    Love it! You haf to read this book... its got.SWAGGGG

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Harriet klausner

    Of course the very first review is a plot spoiling book report by none other than the worst plot spoiler in the world...harriet klausner. Bn, when are you ever going to ban this poster and delete her plot spoiling posts. She ruins every books she reports on.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    highly recommended

    gabriel allon is a great spy. I enjoy all spy thrillers but this book was better than most. I can't wait to read the next book by d. silva.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    love this series

    Good clean assassin drama

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Fascinating reading!

    Great book and the entire series is just as riveting. Great story line, great characters and utterly compelling. I cannot recommend enough!

    Barb H., Algonquin, Il

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Sophisticated well written spy novel

    Very enjoyable read. It is sophisticated and well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Okay

    I enjoyed it but it didn't convince me to buy more. There seemed to be more characters than required and they weren't fully fleshed out enough to really care about them.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Conservative propaganda???

    I bought this because it was the 'daily deal', thought I'd try a new (to me) author out.

    This book is annoying, with its right wing distortions of US policy and characterizations of president Obama. Are all of Daniel Silva's books like this?

    Maybe it is typical of these spy type novels, the comic-book exaggerations of the 'bad regime' to give the character a foil for their valiant efforts. We see it all the time in the Ludlum-esque books which use the Russian government as the 'evil' opponent. It just strikes me as a political statement masquerading as a book when directed at our own goverment and parroting the right-wing talking points.

    I think I'm a 'one and done' reader of Daniel Silva.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Good read. Good author.

    Like spy and intrigue. Kept my interest and liked it was about current world events.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Portrait of a Spy--Outstnding Book

    This is another excellent novel in the Gabriel Allon series, and both my wife and I througly enjoyed reading it, as we have reading all of Daniel Silva's books. This book is exciting and very well written. Our only problem is that it has cost us some sleep because we just could not put the book down to go to bed.

    All in all, we highly recommend this book as we do all of Mr. Silva's novels and look forward to his next novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    "Good read" defined

    To capture and hold my attention, a novel needs more than interesting, well-defined characters, intricate plot and brilliant story line ... it needs to be readable. In Daniel Silva's newest Gabriel Allon novel, "Portrait of a Spy," Gabriel pulls the reader in immediately and there is no stumbling over poorly constructed sentences or wasted words. Silva's prose is lush but concise. The plot is so well constructed and suspenseful, I have to slow myself down to enjoy the writing.

    I don't have 'Portrait' in front of me, but there's a beautiful line something like, 'Gabriel thrust his hands into the pockets of his coat ... and the trees wept leaves of gold.' Beauty accompanies a story that

    Walk don't run to buy"Portrait of a Spy." (Then you'll want to read "The Kill Artist" and read all of Gabriel's adventures! And don't miss the author's notes: "This is a novel but ...." (Shiver)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Another page turning thriller - great easy reading

    I got hooked on Silva's novels after reading "The Rembrandt Affair." Like his other books, Portrait of a spy is a page turner. Each chapter reads like an episode of 24, meaning you want to read just one more chapter. This is a great book/author for an exciting read. In addition, the book offers hope for the future of middle east turmoil with a bitter-sweet end that almost brought me to tears.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Another great read by DSilva

    I loved the book as I have all of the other Gabriel Allon novels. I hope Silva doesn't quit writing the series because the plots and writing are still fresh and interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    A good read, but predictable

    I've enjoyed all of the Daniel Silva novels, and this one was no exception. That being said, they're getting a little bit formulaic.
    Not to mention the fact that Gabriel Allon, master spy and art restorer, is getting a tad old to be captured, beaten, and tortured on an almost annual basis.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One More Op

    With the review process meaningless with protests over Nook pricing, I dare to actually write about the novel. Silva uses many of the same characters each novel, and they carry out another op that is supposed to captivate the reader with its daring and cunning spy tactics. And he does a pretty good job of this. But now with #11 of the Gabriel Allon series, there is not much new to bring this story to the 5 star level. It's a good, workman like tale, but we've been there before, we know how it will turn out, and are really just along for the ride. But I enjoyed the ride enough to give the novel 4 stars.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 424 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22