Customer Reviews for

Portrait of a Spy (Gabriel Allon Novel #11)

Average Rating 4
( 412 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Download Portrait of a Spy For Free

Download Portrait of a Spy For Free From Here goo.gl/BrZsL

posted by 9114493 on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

55 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Content please

    Please review the content of the book only please, not the price. When I read a review i want to know what peope think about the book, not read about people complaining. A review is to give your opinion about the content of a book, not complain about price. That said, this is an excellent book. Full of suspense it is one of those novels that is hard to put down to get some sleep. I just wanted to keep reading. Highly recommend.

    22 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Another page turning thriller - great easy reading

    I got hooked on Silva's novels after reading "The Rembrandt Affair." Like his other books, Portrait of a spy is a page turner. Each chapter reads like an episode of 24, meaning you want to read just one more chapter. This is a great book/author for an exciting read. In addition, the book offers hope for the future of middle east turmoil with a bitter-sweet end that almost brought me to tears.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    A good read, but predictable

    I've enjoyed all of the Daniel Silva novels, and this one was no exception. That being said, they're getting a little bit formulaic.
    Not to mention the fact that Gabriel Allon, master spy and art restorer, is getting a tad old to be captured, beaten, and tortured on an almost annual basis.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One More Op

    With the review process meaningless with protests over Nook pricing, I dare to actually write about the novel. Silva uses many of the same characters each novel, and they carry out another op that is supposed to captivate the reader with its daring and cunning spy tactics. And he does a pretty good job of this. But now with #11 of the Gabriel Allon series, there is not much new to bring this story to the 5 star level. It's a good, workman like tale, but we've been there before, we know how it will turn out, and are really just along for the ride. But I enjoyed the ride enough to give the novel 4 stars.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    To outstanding tthriller

    Stop posting spoilers!!! Youre ruining it for us

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    A new Silva fan

    Great characters, action, plot and dialogue! This was the first book I have read by this author and I couldn't put it down. I plan to pick up another book by Silva immediately. If you are thinking about buying this book - buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Good for a first timer

    For someone who had never read a book by the author i did not know how i would like him but i am now a fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Higly recommend.

    Good servies of books. Silva is great writer, great imagionation. Very interesting subject matter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    A very good read

    I enjoy the plot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    4 1/2 Stars -- Another Engrossing, Well-Researched Well-Written Thriller by Silva!

    In the eleventh thriller in the Gabriel Allon series, Silva has the art restorer/supposedly retired spy-assassin involved in a confrontation with the new face of global terror; a person who was once a paid CIA asset. Typical in all books in this series, Allon and his team (involving most of the cast of characters that have appeared in previous books in the series) devise an intricate plan laden with risk to thwart the terrorist and his network from carrying out more devasting attacks across the globe. Also reminiscent of most books in this series, the plot in Silva's Portrait Of A Spy combines the worlds of art and intelligence in a way that seems that the stories are ripped from yesterday's newspaper headlines. And, of course, consistent in a Silva thriller, his latest book is one of slow-building but non-stop tension and suspense that will likely make the reader anxious to turn the pages to find out what happens next. In the absolute, I enjoyed Portrait Of A Spy very much and consider it, as I have all of the other books featuring Gabriel Allon, to be engrossing, well-researched and well-written. However, on a comparative basis, my level of enjoyment has dropped a notch. In small part, this is due to the action that occurs being not quite as intense as in some of the other books in the series. The larger factor contributing to my comparative drop in enjoyment is that, after reading all eleven of the Gabriel Allon books, the successful formula on which Silva has based his series is "showing some superficial age lines" and the development of his main and key supporting characters need some refreshening. As such, I would not be disappointed if Silva's next book is a stand-alone. Despite these comparative criticisms, I still consider Silva to be the "gold standard" of thriller writers. For me, there has never been a risk involved in reading a Silva book, with the only unknown being whether the book will be very good or excellent.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Interesting reading

    I enjoyed this book very much. I've read Silva's books before and they are always pretty good. I would recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Very enjoyable read...

    This is the first novel I've read by Daniel Silva. I really enjoyed the characters and I'm looking forward to reading the entire Gabriel Allon series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Ok

    I foujnd it hard to keep a thenames straight

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    A good book

    I've read most of Daniel Silva's book. I found this book very entertaining because his writing style has matured, the scenes now flow effortlessly into each other and the dialogue is witty even though the subject matter is serious. I could not rate it more than 3 stars because I believe some of my pages were missing in my nook book, somewhere from pg. 177 onward; I will have to go to the book store and compare with an actual paper book. Also the electronic book is way too expensive.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Seller informed me that book was not available

    Can not do a review since book was not available.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    good reading

    I enjoyed this book. Had a hard time putting it down at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Always a good read

    Silva is always a good read... but I too thought that e books would be a much greater savings. Costco has the hard cover for about the same price as a nook book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You must check it out

    Daniel Silva - Gabriel Allon Novels are always a good read. I am looking forward to this one. Must check out if an e-book version is also available as I hope to buy an Ipad2 soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5