Customer Reviews for

Poseidon's Arrow (Dirk Pitt Series #22)

Average Rating 4
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Pitt is back in a fun and thrilling ride as he chases down the t

Pitt is back in a fun and thrilling ride as he chases down the theft of some high tech secrets while solving the mystery of a string of missing ships. Plenty of action keeps the pages turning as he hops from Chile to Mexico to Panama with his crew from Numa alongside. ...
Pitt is back in a fun and thrilling ride as he chases down the theft of some high tech secrets while solving the mystery of a string of missing ships. Plenty of action keeps the pages turning as he hops from Chile to Mexico to Panama with his crew from Numa alongside. Highly recommended for fans of action adventure!

posted by Sam7983 on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

$14.99 No!!!!

THIS IS TOO MUCHTO PAY FOR AN E-BOOK. I don't think anyone should pay this. You bouht a Nook to eventually save money. Purchase responsibly.

posted by Anonymous on November 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    $14.99 No!!!!

    THIS IS TOO MUCHTO PAY FOR AN E-BOOK. I don't think anyone should pay this. You bouht a Nook to eventually save money. Purchase responsibly.

    21 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    Pitt is back in a fun and thrilling ride as he chases down the t

    Pitt is back in a fun and thrilling ride as he chases down the theft of some high tech secrets while solving the mystery of a string of missing ships. Plenty of action keeps the pages turning as he hops from Chile to Mexico to Panama with his crew from Numa alongside. Highly recommended for fans of action adventure!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Decent but not outstanding

    The book was a bit disappointing in that it was not as suspenseful as previous itinerations of the series. Especially the historic component, which was always an important part of the plot in past books, felt like it was added as an afterthought. You could scratch the story of tje Barbarigo from the book and the plot would not suffer. Too bad since the historic part was always my most favorite one in the seried and I was sad to see that the authors failed to provide a solid link between the past and the present as was usually the case.
    A must read for fans of the series, but I wouldn't recommend it as a book to people unfamiliar with the series. Hopefully the next one will be better.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    In my opinion Dirk Pitt has literally gone off the tracks on thi

    In my opinion Dirk Pitt has literally gone off the tracks on this one.  I am half way through the book and yawning.  What a letdown as I have ready every Cussler novel printed.  By the same token Isaac Bell series is off the tracks as well.  They were not bad at all through The Wrecker but very boring after that.  The Juan Cabrillo series remains readable along with most Kurt Austin books but the insufferable Sam and Remi Fargo series have been just readable. It is quite obvious that Clive isn't doing much writing at all.  Oh well, onward to the next great one?  Any tips?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Meh...

    After this one, I feel the need to go back and reread The Mediterranian Caper. I am desperate for a dose of the old Cussler wit and sense of adventure sorely missing from this tale.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Try sending review request later!!!

    This book isn't availablle to read until 11/13/12.................so has I might give it a review, I'll respectfully wait until AFTER I read the book.

    5 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Cussleer loses his momentum

    Not a great read. This series used to be good, but has gotten progressively worse. It could be because Dirk is doing most of the writing (you can clearly tell the difference). Plots are thin and character development poor. Hopefully the next outing is better.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Just because Cussler got too old to write is no excuse for the d

    Just because Cussler got too old to write is no excuse for the droves of horrible material being put out in the name of "clive". Everything after the discover of Dirk Jr and whatever the female Dirk dingbat's name is, this series lost its magic long ago. I tried to get back into the books, but a quick perusal of this one was so intolerable I chucked it back onto the shelf without a second thought. Its a shame that the Cussler name has come to this seedy, desperate, profit driven garbage. Gave it one star because site won't let me leave zero.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Cussler scores again

    Another strong Dirk Pitt offering that combines action, a little obscure history and respect for the ocean.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    need a sample version

    they should put a sample for goodness sake

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    If you like reading Clive Cussler then please purchase this book. He always has interesting themes and does insert a unique description of himself in each book. Fun and fast reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    I've been reading about Dirk Pitt since 1986. I didn't care for

    I've been reading about Dirk Pitt since 1986. I didn't care for the more recent "off shoots". But in Poison Arrow...Dirk is back, very enjoyable as always. Clive is the best.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Not the best

    In several spots it just didn't make sense. I've read several of his books but this one was not his best effort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    Have loved his books from the very first...but they've gone down

    Have loved his books from the very first...but they've gone downhill rapidly. Go back to the Oregon Files, etc. Give Junior another job....not writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Book

    I think this book defeats the whole purpose of a nook beause you bought it to reaf cheaper not read for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Typical Cussler

    Not as good as the old rough and tumble Dirk Pitt. I've read every one of the Dirk books over the years, and this was not up to par. I guess we all get old sooner or later.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    I found this novel to fall below the standard that I have come t

    I found this novel to fall below the standard that I have come to expect of Mister Cussler.  I found the actions of the characters to be not only stupid but very predictable.  Most of the time I felt like reaching out and smacking them on the back of the head with the words why don't you think for 2 seconds and avoid this.  Mr Cussler's previous books were very well written and well received by this person, but not this one.  I found this book to be a big disapointment but hopefully other and better ones will soon follow.  Clive Cussler and the other people he has writing for him put out some great novels that are worth the read and the money but I am afraid that this one is not one of them. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Very enjoyable read

    The Dirk Pitt fun continues. A very fast read because the story segments are reasonably short and the story lines are fast paced. The whole gambit of characters involved with Dirk Pitt over the years are in this plot. Challenging adversaries, exotic locations, impossible situations overcomed which keeps the enjoyment maxed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Good but miss the old Pitt

    Book was good but not great as they used to be before the kids joined the storyline. Pitt & Al's roles are greatly diminished, which is a huge error... mussed with a winning formula.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Bad

    The book is costs more than its worth.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9