Customer Reviews for

Poser: My Life in Twenty-three Yoga Poses

Average Rating 3.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

If you like yoga and you're a mother, you will love this book!

Like the author, I am a parent and a casual yoga enthusiast. I have been doing yoga one to three times per week for a couple of years so I knew enough about yoga to "get it". I think that those who don't understand yoga may not understand the author. However, if you ...
Like the author, I am a parent and a casual yoga enthusiast. I have been doing yoga one to three times per week for a couple of years so I knew enough about yoga to "get it". I think that those who don't understand yoga may not understand the author. However, if you are a parent and/or a woman in her 30's and beyond, you will love this book! I highly recommend it!!

posted by 180271 on January 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

More painful than Pigeon pose

As an avid lover of yoga I was immediately attracted to this book. The first 20 pages captured my attention, and then it became incredibly whiney and downright boring. Big letdown.

posted by 8273991 on July 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    More painful than Pigeon pose

    As an avid lover of yoga I was immediately attracted to this book. The first 20 pages captured my attention, and then it became incredibly whiney and downright boring. Big letdown.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    If you like yoga and you're a mother, you will love this book!

    Like the author, I am a parent and a casual yoga enthusiast. I have been doing yoga one to three times per week for a couple of years so I knew enough about yoga to "get it". I think that those who don't understand yoga may not understand the author. However, if you are a parent and/or a woman in her 30's and beyond, you will love this book! I highly recommend it!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Not bad but not great.

    This book starts out a lot more interesting than it ever gets. The story is predictable with a lack of development. Same old same old......and it gets downright boring for quite some time in the middle. Nothing new and the Yoga information needs some REAL research.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    save your money

    the author is boring and pretentious with nothing interesting to say

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Cute and quirky...

    Good read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    I really wanted to like this book. In the end, it just didn't d

    I really wanted to like this book. In the end, it just didn't do anything for me. I was bored to tears and couldn't wait to get to the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Adored this book! I love the author's humor and writing style.

    Adored this book! I love the author's humor and writing style. I picked it up at a library and then decided I wanted to own a copy. After reading some of the comments on here and elsewhere I wanted to point out that I'm not a mother, not part of the author's generation and I'm only starting to get interested in yoga. My point is that, I didn't need to be like the author in order to enjoy her story. I agree that the ending was nothing amazing or exciting....but....that's life. I appreciated the author's frank, honest judgement about life and her willingness to put her positive and negative attributes on display. It made her and her life very real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Not very interesting

    Pretty much an autobiography about an ordinary life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Everything wrong with American Yoga

    For the casual, non-introspective, gym-going, yoga student.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    As someone who has been baffled by yet draen to the yoga craze, I identified greatly with this book. I enjoyed the authors humor, sarcasm and loved readin this book. Definately worth a read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    enjoyable read

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    blah

    i realize now the disadvantage of an ereader...no returns. I didn't know this book also included the entire history of yoga. boring, disjointed, and kind of annoying.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5