Customer Reviews for

The Position

Average Rating 3
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Ick

    This book was just icky. I am not interested in reading about such unpleasant people. And why do authors need to write about young people getting cancer? It seemed completely gratuitous to the story. This was a waste of my money.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Jeez!

    This book was a big disappointment. I wanted to finish reading it to see what happened but now that I finished it, I'm wondering why I bothered. The writer spent too much time on what the characters were thinking and not enough time developing the story. The glimpses into the children's lives were brief and unfulfilling. --K--

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    The Position

    This book was different from most I've read. It was interesting to see how each of the children react differently the book their parents publish but I felt a couple of the characters were under-developed and some could have had a larger role. There were parts that were hilarious but overall it wasn't greatly impressed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Kevin

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    I fell in love with everything about this book. The irony that the book that was created to show the parents love for one another and saved marriages around the world only to isolate and ultimately break the Mellow family. While it isn't exactly a happy ending but more of a real to life dipiction of how a family eventually cycles through problems...whether they like it or no. the The characters are flawed, complicated beautiful characters that made me laugh and cry and yearn to give them all a damn hug.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    Just okay

    This book had a very interesting premise, but I was rather dissapointed at how the story developed. I kept wanting more from the characters, it was like she would give us a glimpse of who they are, but would then close them down before we really got acquainted with them. I was incredibly dissapointed with the ending. Interesting read, but wasn't nearly as good as I hoped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    Sharp wit and touching...literally

    This is a sweet meditation on growth. Life, love, loss, and of course sex, is the stuff of life. This novel shares with us the burden the four children endure discovering their parents, who have written a devestatingly humiliating sex how to book in the 19790's, and just how pivotal this book was in their formative years. 30 years and many pains later they come together to renegotiate their lives and what defines their happiness. This book was bitter sweet and thoroughly readable. Hated to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    Sadly Disappointed

    I was really looking for a good, humorous summer read...and this was not it! I kept thinking that it had to get better, reading page after page, but it didn't. I was really hoping for more. The chapters were also very disjointed, and I did not find myself attaching to any of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2006

    good book

    This book is all about the family. Each person is impacted differently by the discovery of the book the parents wrote. The book tells how each child of the family grows up and lives out their lives, the choices they make, and how the family interacts with eachother as adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    brilliant and funny and real - perfect summer book

    Do people remember The Joy of Sex? Or, Everything You Always Wanted to Know about sex but were Afraid to Ask? I don't know about anybody else, but I used to look at the pictures inside, which really freaked me out, when I was a kid -- in fact all the kids in my family did. Now: imagine what it would be like if those people in the pictures were your PARENTS! Meg wolitzer does. The Position, which is her wonderful new novel is about the lives of this family -- the kids in particular, growing older, and how having parents like that impacted their lives. The characters are wonderfully drawn (no pun intended) and wolitzer's trademark sparkling humor and style are everpresent. I recommend this book wholeheartedly. It's perfect for the beach or just for lazing out in your backyard with a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2005

    I bet Mag's HOT!!!

    I still miss watching 'Love American Style' as a young boy. Meg has brought back fond memories and I really enjoyed her book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    One of the worst books I've ever read

    This was my pick for a book club and I can hardly get through it. The writing style is distracting and I'm not finding any of the humor I was looking for. Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    Meg is amazing!

    I love Meg's books. They're so rich and full of live and I never, ever get tired of them. She doesn't disappoint, here. You will find yourself completely sucked into the story and you won't be able to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1