Customer Reviews for

Positive Energy: 10 Extraordinary Prescriptions for Transforming Fatigue, Stress, and Fear into Vibrance, Strength, and Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2004

    Real Prescriptions, Real Solutions

    In 'Positive Energy,' Dr. Orloff introduces Energy Psychiatry, which recognizes the very real energy field we live in as much as a fish lives in water but which has been an unknown or ignored area. But these 'prescriptions' are self-validating, simple and return immediate benefits. Looking at rejuvenation, eating disorders, negativity, sexuality, creativity, relationships, depression and more from an energy standpoint, ACTUAL and immediate solutions are at our beck and call. Dr. Orloff's previous book on intuitive healing was wonderful, but 'Postive Energy' goes deeper, is more detailed and yet simpler as paths to solutions taking into account the real world are provided step-by-step. This is one 'self-help' book which will not just gather dust after a quick and empty read, but a manual for expanded awareness and solutions to basic problems.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Postitive Energy- AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Now, I know that some people may not believe that every living and non-living thing has a form of energy around and in it, but here is a wonderful book to help you personally heal. It helps deal with the emotional wounds of your past to clear the energy within you and around you. I really love the stories at the end of each chapter that decribe how to put that particular princple to work for you. This book is invaluable. I will go as far as to say, YES, EVERY TIME I PICK THIS BOOK UP AND READ A PASSAGE OR TWO, I FEEL BETTER. It is a very energetically uplifting book! Highly recommended!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2004

    A Gift

    In this hurry up world there are plenty of resources to deal with the growing crisis of fatigue and joylessness. However, Dr. Judith Orloff's new book, Positve Energy, offers something I have never seen before....a complete and highly practical and successful program to overcome the energy drains we all face. The real appeal of this book is the clear and simple guidelines Dr. Orloff demonstrates in her book that are actually fun and interesting and not at all hard to do! This is a far cry from the deprivation based programs offered by many medical professionals. Merging her highly credible medical background with cross cultural wisdom and knowledge, Dr. Orloff is on the leading edge. She offers real solutions that lift you up. The book couldn't have a more perfect title, as it is the most positive experience I have found in a book in a long time. Dr. Orloff's book is truly a wonderful gift....for yourself and anyone you care about!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    '...actively involved in energetic transformation...'

    I¿m a big fan of Dr. Judith Orloff. A psychiatrist and professor at UCLA, she broke important ground with her first book, Second Sight, by revealing how she has learned to come to terms with and embrace her intuitive/psychic abilities. Following it up with Dr. Judith Orloff¿s Guide to Intuitive Healing, she set about teaching others how to apply their own intuitive sense to their physical, emotional and sexual wellness. Now Orloff continues the teaching with her brand new Positive Energy, this time giving the reader even more practical intuitive advise on how to transform fatigue, stress and fear into vibrancy, strength and love. Assisted by everyone from Eve Ensler to Larry King, from Iyanla Vanzant to Quincy Jones, Orloff breaks her book into ten specific areas for interviewed discussions. The book is filled with information, techniques, tactics and treats that get one actively involved in energetic transformation. There¿s a lot to explore and absorb in this 333-page book. I found it to be the perfect companion in my quiet, reflective times this month and thoroughly enjoyed its gifts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2004

    Thank You Judith !!!!

    Judith Orloff speaks from the heart and with wit in Positive Energy. Especially helpful were her insights on energy vampires (I'm sure after reading this you'll find you know one!). This book is a great addition to place in our tool chest of life! By staying conscious of how we utilize our energy, this book serves as a guide to harness the most positive energy available.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    This book was written for me at the right time in my life. Very

    This book was written for me at the right time in my life. Very interesting way to look at how energy affects our emotions. Also the emphatic person is more easily affected by other's negative energy to bring down their levels of emotional health. A must read for anyone suffering with low energy and unable to figure out why.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    Thank you

    Dear Judith,
    My name is Matthew Cave, I'm 21 years old, and I just wanted to thank you. My life has been quite bumpy and unfortunate, and it's been very difficult for me to be positive and to be an optimist like I want to be every single. I bought your book last year "Positive Energy", and it was one of the best things I've ever bought. Practicing your techniques and relearning how to listen to my heart, and my soul again has been so amazing, and it's felt so amazing. You've helped me in so many ways, by teaching me that I'm a social empath, and by teaching me how to ward off negative vibrations, and emotions. That's always been hard for me to do, because I've went through so much in just the short amount of time I've been on this wonderful earth. Now that I have some emotional freedom, and I'm back in touch with the person that I really am, I've rediscovered my passion for art, and I began painting again last year, and my passion is stronger than ever. You're truly a gift from the universe, and I just wanted to thank you for what you've done for my entire being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    A WONDERFUL read!!!!

    Positive Energy is one of the most helpful and informative books I've read in a long long time. Dr. Orloff gives us many tools to deal with stress and daily living. I will highly recommend this book to all of my friends and family. I have had an issue with overeating due to emotions and Dr Orloff speak on that and truly gave me a way to deal with whats truly bothering me inside. Thanks Judith!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Peace of Positive Energy

    Thank you for Positive Energy! Have you ever attended a church sermon and felt like you were supposed to be in the house of the Lord that day? Did you ever feel that a certain sermon was written especially for you? Well, that is the feeling that engulfed me while reading Positive Energy. I have gained a great deal of knowledge from this book and I'm reading it a second time!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    Excellent, written in an enjoyable format

    Good information, well written and easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    A good read

    Judith Orloff has done a good job in describing how many people feel when they are around people who take more energy than they give.(energy vampires) She gives some good ideas for energy maintenance and well being which some may find to be helpful. I read Energetic Anatomy by Mark Rich and found that a explanation for how this give and take of energy occurs. It is a good read, as well

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    Reader from Columbia, SC

    Judith Orloff is one of the most inspirational figures on the scene today. Her approach to healing is so incredibly powerful that anyone can benefit from the Ten Prescriptions she lays out in Positive Energy. Personally, I struggle with being drained by other people's energies. For so long, I went from doctor to doctor leaving them perplexed and speechless. Then I found Dr. Orloff. She has provided the essential tools needed to protect and shield the body in the event of an energy crisis AND much much more. I am so grateful to Dr. Orloff for her talent, her truthful being, and her inate gifts that she has chosen to share with all of us. I HIGHLY recommend this book. It's an invaluable resource that EVERYONE should have on their bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    A 'must read' for all parents!

    I have recommend 'Positive Energy' to all parents! As we nurture our children, our jobs, and perhaps our aging parents our well runs dry. Judith Orloff gives us the ways to replenish our minds, bodies, and spirits in this wonderfully accessible book. Just try 1 tip and notice the shift in your energy! Your life will be better and in turn the lives of those you love will be touched. I've suggested every one of my 50,000 newsletter subscribers pick up a copy. Mimi Doe www.SpiritualParenting.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2004

    Loved its tone and ideas. She is down to earth.

    This book has many excellent suggestions for improving the experience of living. I thought the tone was enjoyable and the ideas well articulated. It is very down to earth for a book about something like energy, which is often taken too far away from earth. A great book that is easy to read, learn, and benefit from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sense and Change the Energy in Your Life

    Energy psychiatrist Dr. Judith Orloff shares ten heartfelt tips to help you sense and transform the energies around you in order to make better choices and improve the quality of your relationships in her book, POSITIVE ENERGY. You can learn to sense the energy fields or 'vibes' surrounding you and other people, places and things -- and by doing so, gain tremendous intuitive insight, poise, and confidence in even the most difficult situations. POSITIVE ENERGY provides clear descriptions of how various kinds of energy ranging from delightfully positive to destructively negative feel, so you can more readily decipher your own physiological and emotional reactions to people and situations. For example, when you meet someone new and notice your body experiencing sudden otherwise inexplicable aches and pains, you're picking up strong negative vibes which should not be ignored! What I like best about POSITIVE ENERGY is the way it brings the concept of bioenergy fields into everyday life, through exercises, stories, and interviews with people from all walks of life (Jamie Lee Curtis, Eve Ensler, Wavy Gravy, Amy Gross, Quincy Jones, Naomi Judd, Larry King, Shirley MacLaine, Rosa Parks, Iyanla Vanzant). POSITIVE ENERGY shines a light into even the darkest places, and provides new techniques for healing ourselves and our world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2