BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Positively Fifth Street: Murderers, Cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poker

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    Ha

    Last review was in 2008!!! Its been six years!!! Lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    McManus is a literature guy in a writer's world

    Great story of the WSOP and of the Binion trial, but it is unfortunately weaved in with useless narrative of McManus's upbringing and far, far too much flowery language for a poker book. I can understand a writer/player trying to tell a story of their life and times at the Main Event, but come on now. This book could be 75 pages shorter and pack just as much punch, as apparently someone who teaches literature feels the need to prove that they know lots of words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2006

    Not for players

    This is meant for people outside the world of poker, not poker players. It is far too wordy and full of (insignificant) detail. I would suggest something else if you are looking for further insight into the game itself, and not on physically getting to the game or background information of people somewhat involved in poker. The Professor, the Banker, and the Suicide King is a much better recount of a substantial poker game in my opinion. I was able to read that several times, whereas I was skipping paragraph after unneccessary paragraph in this book. (Notice David Sklansky's enthralling review)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2005

    Fast, Funny and Literate

    What a great book. You don't have to have an interest in poker to like it, though that helps. I really just sank into this book like a warm bath, and just felt I was right with him on his journey to Vegas. I was less interested in the Binion trial aspects, but the book is so well written that there was not a chapter that didn't invoke interest, humor, and insight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    Vegas Baby, Vegas

    Interesting read. Although impressed with his research, the sideline tangents were a little dry and easy to skip. Combining both his tournament experience and the Binion case was fun to read. My husband, who never reads for fun, could not put down this book although I bought it for myself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2005

    AMAZING!

    Coming from a guy that has never read a book voluntarily, i bought this book to fulfill my 24/7 poker crave and it did just that. McManus describes his journey to the WSOP beatifully. I couldn't put the book down and i ended up finishing the book in 2 sit-ins

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2004

    Positively Five Stars

    Reviews of this work seem to fall into two distinct camps. Those who thought McManus bit off way too much, and those who loved his approach. You see my rating, so you know where I stand. I'm a mild poker fan, mild Vegas fan and have been in Binion's twice in my life. But I love a good read. Just as murder trial coverage, poker tutorial or autobiography alone, the book would have worked great. As all three, and much more, it's one of the best books this avid reader's read. Alas, though, readers of some reviews and the book's cover jacket won't have one hook that I enjoyed. I had no idea how McManus did in the tourney until I read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    McManus really got it...

    James McManus' book 'Postivitely Fifth Street' is 'postively' one of the best pieces of leisure reading I have read. It is a very easy to read book. As for the poker story and information, as long as you can read what McManus says and use the index of poker terms in the back, you should be fine. A lot of people say that the book is disconnected, but I thought the story flowed well. The Catholic background, as well as the other non-Binion murder or -WSOP info helps to understand the murder situation in some cases. McManus tries to look at his own life, and what influences he experienced, and see if he can maybe understand the situation Ted Binion found himself in, which led to his death, via being burked on his bedroom floor. A great read for poker lovers, legal lovers, murder lovers, and lovers in general!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2004

    People are too nice

    People are way too nice in reviewing this book. A lot of people recommended it to me, and when I picked it up, I lost all motivation to read: it was slow moving, choppy, tangential and utterly boring when it could have been a lot more. It was as though McManus was trying to write a Complete book of Poker instead of tell his story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    Dave, Wheaton, ADD Poker

    Interesting where McManus talks about the actual tournament, but he's all over the place throughout the novel. Who really cares about his Catholic childhood? We read the book to hear about the WSOP and the Binion trial, not McManus' life philosophy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    A literate, intellignet book about a tough game and tough people

    An absolutely remarkable book: an exciting page turner that shows the relationship between Amarillo Slim and Sylvia Plath, among other things. Positively Fifth Street is a difficult book to describe, because it is about poker at the highest level, the people that play the game, and, as Douglas Addams would put it: 'Life, the Universe and Everything.' McManus manages to be gritty, realistic and gripping while being deep and erudite at the same time. Did I mention that he also covers the Ted Binion murder trial, growing up Catholic and twentieth century poetry, as well as the key strategies for winning at Texas Hold'em. How can you ask for more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Stick to the Point

    If Mr. McManus had just stuck to the story instead of worrying about all the literary references this would have been a very good book. It is a great story, but the author makes it much more difficult to follow than it has to be. It is about a murder trial and a poker tournament for goodness sakes, not the theory of evolution...interesting subject matter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    Trudged through it...

    This book was an okay read, but the author is all over the place...there's about four side stories going on during the book and it makes for a difficult read in my eyes. The poker tournament stuff is pretty exciting, but it's difficult to read about poker if you're not used to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    Oh, what might have been...

    McManus had unbelievable material to work with -- he finished FIFTH in the World Series of Poker. Do you know how difficult that it is do? So what does he do with such incredible material? Buries it. Incredibly, he chooses to starts the book -- in a chapter ridiculously titled 'The End' -- with an imaginary scene of a murder! He starts his incredible true-to-life story by writing fiction (and bad fiction at that)! Then he bounces around for half the book, never quite getting into any semblance of a narrative groove until finally -- at long last -- we get to Binions and the WSOP, and his incredible, awe-inspiring march to the final table. That section of the book is aces; if it had been a magazine piece (well, it WAS a magazine piece), it would have been perfect. But the Binion murder trial, the Good Jim and Bad Jim interaction, the worry about his wife and daughters, all the other hand-wringing and book-padding are not only poorly executed but they are astonishingly boring. The book has an unsettling disjointed feel and by the end, when McManus hurries to the courtroom to hear the Binion trial verdict (he undoubtedly imagined we readers would be sitting on the edges of our seats to hear the verdict), I was literally yawning and racing to get to the book's conclusion. It's too bad. There's a great book buried here; you need a lot of patience before you finally find it, and then it doesn't last nearly long enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    Cover needs 'For Poker Players Only' Warning

    This book makes for a very tough read if you are not familiar with poker and the terminology used by McManus. Even constant reference to the glossary left me feeling confused. I also found his 'Tom Clancy like' writing style frustrating as he jumped between covering a trial, playing in the tournament and writing about the history of card playing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting!

    Harper¿s magazine hired novelist James McManus to write an article on the World Series of Poker. The magazine is interested in the relatively new phenomena especially the impacts of female players, information technology on the game, the murder of Ted Binion of the host family, and the subsequent arrest and trial of a stripper and her boyfriend. Once McManus arrives at Las Vegas¿ Horseshoe Casino he rationalizes that to truly write this article, he must participate. Being an apartment house player, McManus risks his advance to join at the table......... POSITIVELY FIFTH STREET: MURDERERS, CHEETAHS, AND BINION'S WORLD SERIES OF POKER provides great depth into the mindset of the cast (not just the card players, but also the groupies) than the original article that Harper¿s magazine published. Mr. McManus is at his best when he reports his guilt over the hedonistic pleasure of the game and side benefits while leaving at home his wife and daughters. The rest of the story, mostly fulfilling what his editors want as described in the paragraph above, is well written and engages the audience through the use of poker vernacular and metaphors. Still the first-hand account at the table draws the final card in a royal flush nonfiction work that casual card players will enjoy........... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    Man with beautiful wife goes to strip clubs!?!?

    When the "short" version of this came out in Harper's Magazine, and then in BEST AMERICAN SPORTS WRITING 2001, people start talking about how it was the best poker article since A. Alvarez's "The Biggest Game in Town." I agree. Apparently so does Alvarez, from reading the quotes on the jacket (as well as those from Ira Glass, David Sedaris, Billy Collins . . .). What I don't understand is why the author would want to visit a strip club in Vegas, given how beautiful his wife is (if you can tell anything from the picture that adorns chapter 2.) Anyway, this is one wild, adventuresome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2