Customer Reviews for

Possess Me at Midnight

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Wonderful!!

    What can I say, but wow! This series has been action packed, hot and sexy. Love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    WOW!!!!!

    I dont think ive ever cried or laughed at a book more that was honestly amazing ! I havent read any of the other books in this series yet, because my nook wasnt telling me which order they go in but i think this book could stand alone just fine ! A MUST READ!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Yi

    Vm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Love it

    Another great one. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Each & every one of these Doomsday Brethren series cannot be put down. I cannot wait each & every time for the next book to come out. Shayla describes each character & story so well, you feel as if you are the character. She takes you through each adventure wanting the book to never be over. She is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    HOT

    Hot and sexy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Possess Me at Midnight is an amazing read.

    "Shalya Black has done it again with her third installment of the Doomsday Brethren series. Possess Me at Midnight is a heartwarming story that left me on the edge of my seat in suspense. This book gave me such an array of emotions, I did everything...more Shalya Black has done it again with her third installment of the Doomsday Brethren series. Possess Me at Midnight is a heartwarming story that left me on the edge of my seat in suspense. This book gave me such an array of emotions, I did everything from be angry, to laugh, and I even cried a few times.

    Possess Me at Midnight is about a Deprived or low class Wizard named Ice who falls in love with a Privileged Witch named Sabelle. Ice is a member of the Doomsday Brethren and when their compound gets attacked Ice and Sabelle flee with the Doomsday Diary. While they face the obstacles of this war they begin to fall in love.

    Sabelle is the granddaughter of Merlin. She comes from a very powerful and privileged bloodline. She knows that while Ice compels her she can never have him for herself so when he speaks the mating Call to her she is stunned. She wants to be true to her heart but how can she when the survival of magickind may very well rest on her decision.

    This book is so well written. I found myself sucked into this story in just a few pages. I love the world Shalya Black has created. It is exciting, sexy and well magical. Once again I find myself anxiously awaiting the next installment of the Doomsday Brethren Series.

    I give Possess me at Midnight 5 STARS!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans of Shayla Black will relish this enthralling and exciting novel as ice will melt the hearts of all readers

    In England, evil mage Mathias apparently eliminated his only adversary who could have prevented him from taking control of all magic practitioners. The Doomsday Brethren Wizard Bram Rion lies in a comatose state following a black smoke assault by Mathias who plans to take over his unconscious rival's seat on the Wizard Council as the second step of his plan. Once he does that and finds the Doomsday Diary of Morganna le Fey, he will succeed.

    However, he makes one tiny miscalculation. Mathias fails to factor in Bram's sister Sabelle. When Mathias begins his final assault, lowlife warrior Isdernus "Ice" Rykard escorts Sabelle, as a female she can carry the reverent tome, and the comatose Bram to safety. Ice wants her as his mate, but Sabelle cannot say the Binding Words as her brother must bless their union; both know Bram would never accept a lowlife like Ice. However, when Ice is hurt, Sabelle heals him as their bodies and souls unite. The next day he leaves her to draw Mathias away from the siblings.

    The newest Doomsday Brethren urban fantasy (see Tempt Me with Darkness and Seduce Me In Shadow) is a superb entry as Bram's sister and Ice star in what appears top be a bittersweet love story. Both pray Bram lives, but ironically if he does the couple can never be together. Sabelle is brave but Ice heats up the plot with his love for her ultimately affirmed with his version of Dickens final line in A Tale of two Cities: "It is a far, far, better thing than ever I have done" sacrifice to keep his beloved and his chieftain alive. Fans of Shayla Black will relish this enthralling and exciting novel as ice will melt the hearts of all readers.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    UNIQUELY MAGICAL PARANORMAL FEATURING STUNNING STAR-CROSSED LOVERS

    Shayla Black's Doomsday Brethren series for Pocket just keeps getting better and better and Book #3, POSSESS ME AT NIGHT proves this with a uniquely magical paranormal plot and an absolutely stunning star-crossed lovers' romance (November 2009).

    In present day England, head Doomsday Brethren wizard, Bram Rion lies unconscious and appears to be dying after being smothered with black smoke by the evil wizard, Mathias, who wants to control all of magickind. To do this Mathias needs to acquire a seat on the wizard Council and locate the powerful Doomsday Diary Morganna le Fey created centuries ago that holds the key to all things magical. Bram's sister, Sabelle lovingly nurses him at his bedside but fears the worst. Over dinner one night, Sabelle, the Doomsday Brethren, a special band of warriors and wizards whose mission is keep magickind safe , are discussing who should be the interim head wizard. Two of the Brethren are greatly attracted to blond beauty Sabelle: Lucan because he has recently recovered from the crazed mate mourning thanks to her healing touch and the fearsome wizard, Isdernus Rykard, who is Bram's sworn enemy. Despite this, the Brethren need the ruthless lowly warrior Ice, who is rumored to be mad, to help them battle the Anarki. When they are warned that Mathias and his army are on their way to attack the Brethren's compound, Ice is considered the best warrior to guard and flee with Bram, Sabelle and the Doomsday Diary which she has been hiding.

    While on the run Ice is nothing but caring and protective to Sabelle and her still unconscious brother putting their needs above his own. Sabelle finds herself more and more drawn to Ice but realizes any relationship she has with him can only be temporary since duty demands she mate with a man of her brother's choice. After their first kiss, Sabelle is shocked that Ice chants the Mating Call that will bind them together forever. Sabelle cannot bring herself to speak the Binding Words that will complete their union due to her loyalty to her brother. However, neither is she willing to renounce Ice. When Ice is gravely wounded it is up to Sabelle to heal and recharge his magic through a night together of smoldering passion. When Ice leaves the next morning to lead Mathias and the Anarki away from Sabelle and Bram, she fears for his life. Will Bram recover from his mysterious illness? Will Sabelle ever see Ice again or will she be forced in a loveless union to make a strategic Council alliance that will aid the Brethren?

    To find these answers to this absolutely amazing paranormal tale, run don't walk to your nearest bookstore and buy POSSESS ME AT MIDNIGHT. Within its wondrous pages paranormal fans will find a great adventurous, passionate and touching love story. May the magic never end in Shayla Black's Doomsday Brethren series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3