Customer Reviews for

The Possibility of Fireflies

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Wow. Just. Wow.

    I loved this book so much.
    It was a very....um......whats the word for it? Undescribable tale. I love Ellies journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Ojvxuycj

    Great book loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Amazing

    Best book i ever read. I couldn't put it down. Would read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Carrie Spellman for TeensReadToo.com

    Every so often a book comes along that is so good it feels more like it grew than it was written, like it came into being through its own sheer force of will. That is exactly how I feel about this book. <BR/><BR/>Ellie Roma is a freshman in high school. She has her fair share of normal high school problems; she hates school, she only has a few friends, she`s insecure about the way she looks, her sister seems like she's become an alien, etc. Ellie's got some bigger problems, though. She's new in town. As if that isn't bad enough, they moved three times when they first got to town. The last time was just next door, so everyone in the neighborhood thinks they're nuts. Her parents recently got divorced, and she hasn't seen her dad in a few months. Oh, and her mom has decided to "take a vacation from parenting." <BR/><BR/>Ever since her parents' divorce Ellie feels like nothing in her life makes sense. Her sister, Gwen, has completely switched personalities, from cheerleader to juvenile delinquent. Her mother, well, Ellie says it best; "...it's more like she's come unraveled. Like he was the last bit of glue that was keeping her together, and now that he's gone, all the broken parts can take over." Ellie spends a lot of time locked out of the house, basically living by her mom's whim. It's starting to get to the point where it's easier to lie than to tell the truth. Consciously trying to escape her mother's notice, Ellie has become an observer in her own life. <BR/><BR/>The book is told by Ellie, as things happen. At first it's all observation and barely scratches the surface of Ellie. As the story progresses Ellie opens up more, and allows herself to be a bit more vulnerable. The more vulnerable she lets herself become, the more she begins to be involved in her own life, and the more involved we become. Somehow, before you know it, you are living and breathing inside Ellie's story. By the end of it my heart felt like it had been taken, broken, and given back in the most tender, loving, beautiful way. <BR/><BR/>At its simplest level this is a coming of age story, but it's also a story of survival, strength, love, hope, and most of all possibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Cried!

    I love Ellie so much. When I read the blurb I knew I was going to love the book, but I didn't know just how much. I am sixteen but I relate to Fourteen-year-old Ellie just perfectly. Although things aren't really rough at home, I felt the loneliness and needing, wanting to be saved. And I, too, have looked to someone older, right away thinking that he'd be the one to save me. The ending just really tugged on my heart even harder, and I teared. Maybe it was because I just felt like I was Ellie. Whatever it was, I've read this book three times since I got it. And I have the need to read it again. I normally do not like to read books that were set years ago, but this one was just the perfect time. I really want to thank Dominique Paul for bringing this book to life. It means an entire city to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    The Most Amazing Book

    When I read this book, I COULD NOT put it down. It was such a good book, maybe the best I've ever read. It's so different and surprising. I almost cried at the end too! It is a definite must-read book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    best book ever i would recommend this to ppl

    Oh my gosh i loved this book i seriously could'nt stop reading it. i think some teens can relate to gwen and ellies relationship with ther parents, i know i do i think there should be a sequle oh and at the end i actually cried and i was disappointed it was over no lie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2007

    So real.

    This book is set in the 1980's and is seen through the eyes of 14 year old Ellie. I feel this book is a very honest coming of age story that actually brought me to tears. It is a story of a broken home, a friend, love...and hope. I highly recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    Great read!

    Dominique Paul visited Wootton High School today, the school she attended, and talked to us about her inspirations for this novel. I would just like to say what an amazing person she is...she is so real and so many teens can relate to her story. This is a worth-while read and to also watch out for the movie adaptation of this book which starts filming in March of 2007...it stars Kelly Preston and Michelle Tractenburg... MYSPACE/dominiquepaul

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1