Customer Reviews for

Possible Side Effects

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A fabulous read!

I purchased this book as a gift for someone,and was told it was absolutely hilarious.They read the entire thing in one day,as it was impossible to put down. Can't wait to read it myself.
I have read several other books by Augusten Burroughs, and have enjoyed each one. ...
I purchased this book as a gift for someone,and was told it was absolutely hilarious.They read the entire thing in one day,as it was impossible to put down. Can't wait to read it myself.
I have read several other books by Augusten Burroughs, and have enjoyed each one. Always an exquisite journey.

posted by iris829 on October 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

Really enjoyed Magical Thinking. This was a disappointment compared to it.

posted by Anonymous on July 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Excellent. I love this author!!

    Relentlessly confessional and screamingly funny at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Super Good

    Like David Sedaris and Rikki Lee Travolta, Augusten Burroughs has a style all his own. If you like that style, you'll like anything he writes. If you don't like his style you'll hate anything he writes. If you like Augusten Burrough's style then you'll like Possible Side Effects. It is most similar to his book Magical Thinking. But, be warned like other Burroughs books there is a lot of graphic content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    Great light read,...

    I enjoyed the way the author allows you to see life through his eyes, no matter how complicated it was, and sets a funny tone to it. Very funny, easy and real read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    Possibly Impossible to Put Down!

    Augusten Burroughs is a brilliant writer and this book is amazing. For those who are not amused, you all are just...too serious. I read this book and just laughed at every line of sarcasm,and the ways both the author and the characters viewed the world. The book was enjoyable from the first to the last page. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    engageing and interesting

    Possible Side Effects by Augusten Burroughs is a very interesting insight into the authors life and the way he perceives it. Augusten will tell you exactly how he is looking at the people around him and the situations he finds himself in. It is very interesting to learn about the occurrences of his childhood and how they contributed to the way he is now and the way he looks at things. His childhood also affects the way he handles himself in situations that he finds himself in. Also, the way that he writes it has no way of following any certain time line or time frame he just thinks of a memory and decides that that is what he is going to write down. Whatever pops into his head is what he is going to use even if the order doesn¿t make perfect sense. The different time periods vary between his early childhood, his teen years, and his past and present adult life. Augusten Burroughs has a very unorthodox way of looking at life and people. He shares stories from his dysfunctional childhood and family. When describing people, places, or things he uses very different similes that most people would not use or even think of. However, it is very amusing all the same. I enjoyed looking at his positive way of looking at every situation even if it is something most people would cringe at and make it even worse rather than look on the bright side of things. I did not like the way he can not ever be wrong though. And when he is wrong it is extremely hard for him to admit to his faults. Anyone with a dysfunctional family or who has odd little ticks or habits would enjoy this book immensely. It lets people know that no matter how odd or out of place they think they are. They are not the only ones that think that way. I enjoyed reading this book it was very hard for me to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Impossibly Irritating

    Despite the reviews printed on this audiobook's packaging, the book was not screamingly funny, surprisingly thoughtful, or outrageously magical. It was neurotic, but not endearingly so. Rather than having any of the characteristics attributed to it by the published reviews, the book was merely irritating and reflected the author's self indulgence. If Entertainment Weekly has named Mr. Burroughs as 'one of the fifteen funniest people in America,' the state of the nation's humor is, indeed, in very bad shape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Not 'Running' but still good

    First I read RUNNING WITH SCISSORS and loved it. Bizarre, you bet! My best mate and I flew through it and then took on this book. Loved it. The same hilarious writing you might find in Sedaris, or McCrae with his KATZENJAMMER. This author never seems to miss and anything by him is great. Would also recommend the James Frey books, whether they¿re fiction or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2