Customer Reviews for

Possible Side Effects

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A fabulous read!

I purchased this book as a gift for someone,and was told it was absolutely hilarious.They read the entire thing in one day,as it was impossible to put down. Can't wait to read it myself.
I have read several other books by Augusten Burroughs, and have enjoyed each one. ...
I purchased this book as a gift for someone,and was told it was absolutely hilarious.They read the entire thing in one day,as it was impossible to put down. Can't wait to read it myself.
I have read several other books by Augusten Burroughs, and have enjoyed each one. Always an exquisite journey.

posted by iris829 on October 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

Really enjoyed Magical Thinking. This was a disappointment compared to it.

posted by Anonymous on July 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 13, 2012

    A fabulous read!

    I purchased this book as a gift for someone,and was told it was absolutely hilarious.They read the entire thing in one day,as it was impossible to put down. Can't wait to read it myself.
    I have read several other books by Augusten Burroughs, and have enjoyed each one. Always an exquisite journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Ok this book is hilarious!!!

    Ok this book is hilarious!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Hilariousandsad Hilarious and sad, real through the end

    The wit in his honesty is refreshing. Burroughs says what we have all thought at times. He describes the mental illness in his family in a way that helps you realize how common it is, yet our society hides it, just has he hid his own battle with alcoholism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Hollyleaf 3

    Hollyleaf glanced over her shoulder, catching Fallen Leaves eye. "Our apprentices have suffered worse injuries." She told him. "So long as she doesn't run or jump for a couple of hours, she'll be fine." "Should she go back to camp?" Fallen Leaves asked. "No, I'll stay with you. Even if I can't chase prey I can help carry home the catch," Honeyfern called. She began to walk a little faste, as if to prove she was okay. Fallen Leaves trotted after them. In the end there was little fresh-kill to carry home. Redtail hunted clumsily, making so much noise that birds set up alarm calls all along the shoreline the first time he stumbled on the slippery rocks. Hollyleaf's thoughts seemed elsewhere and she let a mouse escape beneath her muzzle. Fallen Leaves led them back into camp, a sparrow between his jaws. Thunderstar was dozing on highledge beside Squirrelflight. Moonflower and Stormtail lay outside the nursery while Swiftbreeze and Ferncloud spread pawfuls of moss to dry in the sun. At the entrance to the elders' den, Mousefur sat staring into space with Dappletail beside her. Fallen Leaves headed for the fresh-kill pile with Hollyleaf on his heels. Honeyfern limped after them, holding a shrew. "Is that all you caught?" Runningwind bounced up to her. "It's not leaf-bare yet!" Hollyleaf nosed him away. "She hurt her leg." She sniffed at Honeyfern's sprained shoulder. "How is it feeling?" Honeyfern rolled her eyes. "I'm fine!" Fallen Leaves saw hurt flash in Hollyleaf's eyes. He dropped his sparrow. "Get some poppy seeds from Featherwhisker or Cloudspots if you think the pain will keep you awake tonight." He glanced at Runningwind. "Is Bluefur back?" Runningwind nodded. "She got back just after you left." The thorn barrier rustled. Fallen Leaves turned to see Cinderpelt wriggle out. Sweetpaw, Whitestorm, and Frostfur trotted after her. Whitestorm, his head high, eyes shining, was carrying a plump pigeon. On the highledge, Thunderstar got to his paws. "Borders clear?" "Yes." Cinderpelt halted beside the rock tumble. "And we remarked the scent line along the ShadowClan border. It was a bit stale." "Good." Thunderstar bounded down into the clearing. "And you checked the tunnel entrances?" Cinderpelt nodded. "No sign of invasion." Lionheart padded across the clearing. "Windclan wouldn't dare come back after the shredding we gave them last time." His eyes lit up when he spotted Whitestorm's pigeon. "Nice catch." Thunderstar's whiskers twitched. "I think you'd better lead the next patrol." He looked pointedlly at his warrior's round belly. "You could do with stretching your legs." Lionheart widened his eyes in mock indignation. "It's all fur, you know." He sat back on his haunches, revealing a wide expanse of soft gold fluff. Cinderpelt purred in amusement. Frostfur padded around Lionheart, studying him. "You'll certainly make it through leaf-bare." Lionheart stood up and shook out his pelt. "A good warrior needs to stay strong."

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you got to read this!!

    The author is hysterically funny! Love his perspective on people, his life, mother, trips and everything else. You have to read it. I would love to meet him someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Augusten Burroughs

    I have read all of Augustens books and have loved them all...this was no different. I found myself laughing outloud with the turn of each page. I definatly recommend this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Review

    Satisfied with my purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious :)

    Every bit of this book had me laughing out loud. This is one of those books you just want everyone else to read so you can discuss how funny it is with them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    Funny Funny Funny!

    I have read all of Augusten's books, this is by far my 2nd favorite (Running with Scissors being the 1st. I read it in the airport waiting for a flight and literally laughed out loud, people sitting around me actually went in bought the book. His books draw you in and keep you till the end when you want more and more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    Reflective

    Like all of this author's books, there is a combination of strangness, sorrow, and certainly humor. Humor is the key to his work, and if you liked 'Running With Scissors' then you'll love 'Possible Side Effects' too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    Loved it.

    Started reading it yesterday, finished it today. It definitely fit my sense of humor. I loved it. I plan to buy Running With Scissors, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LISTEN AND LAUGH OUT LOUD

    There's only one thing better than reading Augusten Burroughs and that's listening to him. His voice has a unique pitch, at times almost gravely, if you will. And, most fun of all, his tone is one that leads a listener to think he's only speaking to him or her and that what he's sharing is told in confidence. I mean, after all, who would want the world to know that he is prone to nosebleeds and had a horrific one on a transatlantic flight. It came to him suddenly and when he used a tissue what he saw was :'three slug shaped stains and a constellation of splatter.' Even with Gucci loafers and a good blazer a guy can't be a bon vivant in that condition. This is typically Burroughs, often self-deprecating, always laughable as he relates episodes in his life. He allows his mind to roam from childhood to the present day and back again. There really isn't any chronology in his narrative, but one isn't needed. Admitting that 'Some of the events described happened as related others were expanded and changed,' Burroughs takes listeners on a wild trip, every bit as off the wall as his imagination. Each of the essays is ingenious, and this listener would be hard pressed to select a favorite. One with the unlikely title of 'Killing Updike' is memorable. In it he follows the advice of a pal and buys what John Updike First Editions he can before the author dies. 'If was going to spend $2,000 on a book about a rabbit, that old man better be dead by morning.....' Only Burroughs can bring smiles with such a thought. He tackles Nicorette addition, coffins and bookcases, stolen Harvard T-shirts, and in 'Julia's Child' remembers his pathetic attempt to put on a cooking show. For him nothing is sacred, but that's Burroughs. Listen and laugh out loud. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    SO FUNNY!!

    this book is so funny--I highly reccomend it.My favorite chapter is The Wisdom Tooth-totally awesome!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2006

    perfect

    how can anyone say it fell flat or wasn't funny enough? it wasn't supposed to be all laughs. just perfect moments of his life that make us feel something. if you are looking for comedy watch a freaking sitcom.... i tucked into this book like a piece of chocolate cake and loved every minute......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2006

    cripplingly funny, a treasure trove of poignancy and wise hilarity

    Possibel Side Effects is perhaps suffering a bit of fame backlash. I am not here to whine about his autoboigraphical tendencies, ir to compare this book to others he's written -- i speak soley on the merits of this author's rare gift for observation, storytelling, and TRUTH. it mad eme alugh at least 100 times out loud, this i sreason alone to purchase this book for everyone who needs a dose of truth, irreverancy and laughter. Favorite storesd are Tooth Fairy and Killing John Updike, a screamingly funny anecdote wherein Burroughs and his longtime novelist pal Suzanne Finnamore scheme on the worth of signed first editions of John Updike, were he to die. And then they scramble for his books on Ebay, and try to kill him using only their minds. The sendup is tempered by the fact that they both worship Updike, and Burroughs turns his self deprecating insights into a masterpiece of an essay. It's every bit as good as MAGICAL THINKING, wherein Eating Raoul is -- again -- one of the funniest essays I've ever read. We want more, Mr. Burroughs - more, more, more. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    this sounds like a great book!!!

    this sounds like another great one by Augusten Burroughs and i can't wait to go out and buy a copy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4