Customer Reviews for

The Post-Birthday World

Average Rating 3.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Read this if you want to know how life really goes!

WOW!!!!! This is one of my favorite books of all time. It sits next to the grapes of wrath. The message of whatever choices you make in life will bring you to the same conclusion was so profound and correct. Our deep inner cores will lead us to a similar conclusion ...
WOW!!!!! This is one of my favorite books of all time. It sits next to the grapes of wrath. The message of whatever choices you make in life will bring you to the same conclusion was so profound and correct. Our deep inner cores will lead us to a similar conclusion everytime. I never thought anybody was going to be able to put this into words and make it sensible but you did it! I cannot tell you how you changed my life! I am very disappointed in the earlier reviewer. this book is not for the person that just wants to be entertained. This book is for people who want to think and really understand the human race and how we handle all we encounter. I think the former reviewer should stick with Danielle Steele. No thinking needed.

posted by Anonymous on August 22, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Caution for the E Book

I'd love to be able to write an educated review here, but the E Book that I and two of my other book club members downloaded was only HALF of the book. So if you are getting the E Book, make sure that it's the whole thing right away. I believe the page count is 544 pa...
I'd love to be able to write an educated review here, but the E Book that I and two of my other book club members downloaded was only HALF of the book. So if you are getting the E Book, make sure that it's the whole thing right away. I believe the page count is 544 pages. I downloaded 282 pages, which included the normal back-of-the-book things like about the author and also by.

posted by eezelpreezel on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Caution for the E Book

    I'd love to be able to write an educated review here, but the E Book that I and two of my other book club members downloaded was only HALF of the book. So if you are getting the E Book, make sure that it's the whole thing right away. I believe the page count is 544 pages. I downloaded 282 pages, which included the normal back-of-the-book things like about the author and also by.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Read this if you want to know how life really goes!

    WOW!!!!! This is one of my favorite books of all time. It sits next to the grapes of wrath. The message of whatever choices you make in life will bring you to the same conclusion was so profound and correct. Our deep inner cores will lead us to a similar conclusion everytime. I never thought anybody was going to be able to put this into words and make it sensible but you did it! I cannot tell you how you changed my life! I am very disappointed in the earlier reviewer. this book is not for the person that just wants to be entertained. This book is for people who want to think and really understand the human race and how we handle all we encounter. I think the former reviewer should stick with Danielle Steele. No thinking needed.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    Great for the person who wonders, 'What if. . .'

    When I started reading this book, I thought I wasn't going to make it through it. It took a while to adjust to the author's writing, etc. I am so glad I held out. This goes down as one of my favorite books of all time. For those who don't understand it, it's about a woman who lives out two totally different lives based on one decision that she makes. If she chooses one option, she will stay in a 'secure' relationship and you see the ups and downs and outcome of this relationship. If she chooses the other option, you see her go into a relationship that has all the odds against it and you see the ultimate outcome here as well. It's really just a great book especially for those who wonder if the grass is greener on the other side.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Challenging but oh so rewarding!

    The Post-Birthday World by Lionel Shriver is not an easy book to read but clutching my dictionary all the way I stayed with it and boy was I rewarded! I must admit I just didn't get it at first (despite the reviews) however, in retrospect, half the fun of this fantastic read was discovering the author's method and intent. From that point on I was hooked.

    Through Irina, Shriver's main character, the universal "what if" question is given life. In this case the "what if" is a choice between two men but it goes much deeper than that. Her characters, love them or hate them, represent the imperfect human condition with all its foibles, vulnerabilities, deceits, desires, decisions made or not made. Shriver is a brilliant writer everyday occurrences ring true with surprising twists and turns. The reader is challenged to think, to feel and maybe even to examine ones own "what if" scenarios a little deeper.

    I highly recommend this book for the adventuresome reader. I'll read more of her books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Painfully Intriguing

    This book has an excellent story line and the writing style is admirable. However, this was the most painful 500 pages I have ever read through. At first I was intrigued and anxious to see where the story went, then with every page the layers of regret and depression thickened. This book definitley showed me that I do NOT want to know what the future holds. All and all, I will not recommend this book to everyone; only a few select friends. Since I paid bargain price, I do not regret getting the book. All and all, I am glad I read this book, if anything just to appreciate the writing style of the author. If you are the type of person who becomes emotionally connected to characters, this might be a hard book for you to read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    The Choices We Each Make

    Excellent book, engrossing and insightful tale of human nature. Life is full of choices and the consequences of those choices. The author's brilliant writing details two paths and the consequences of each. This is
    the story of a woman who chooses and learns no matter her choice life isn't simple. Life isn't neat and tidy. To write double chapters, interwine the characters and to flawlessly keep the reader on top of the situations is utterly amazing. Terrific story, terrific writing and great for discussion. (The vocabulary used is fabulous and could easily be used as an enjoyable SAT prep lesson.)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Interesting

    I liked the book and the idea of having two different worlds happening depending on one choice she makes. I found it creative and quite realistic. I did enjoy the book but there were a couple parts that drug on just a little and were irritating. Also, I wasn't expecting the ending and I don't want to give anything away but I didn't like it for personal reasons so it could be an ending another reader would like (personal preference). However, it was still well written and a good read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    who doesn't wonder what if?

    great story that turns on a single choice and fully examines the consequences. shriver also takes great care to point out that not making a choice has its own ramifications. well written with vivid yet everyday characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    A very interesting writing style

    This book has a surprise for the reader... I liked it very much the way it deals with the "what ifs..." that we sometimes ask ourselves about our lives, decisions we've made, and choices and consequences.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Intricately and masterfully woven novel

    This novel is one of my favorites! Shriver creates an intricately and masterfully woven plot that moves slowly at times, but ultimately rewards a patient reader. The characters' actions and the effects of their decisions will raise thought-provoking questions for an individual reader and book clubs alike. Follow me on twitter for more (mini) reviews of popular fiction and canonical literature.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lionel Shriver's writing style keeps this book going

    In The Post-Birthday World, Shriver writes of protagonist Irina McGovern whose one choice could lead her down two different life paths. Shriver alternates chapters with Irina's life unfolding if she had made the choice as well as if she had not. The evolution of Irina's relationships with the book's two supporting male characters is also creative. Shriver reminds us of fate, despite choices we make. Perhaps not one of my all time favorites, I enjoyed this and recommended it to many of my friends in my book club.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Decent

    Lionel Shriver did a great job writing this novel. I really particularly enjoyed the way she wrote in a parallel universe way based on which direction Irina (main character) decided to go. I've never encountered anything like this in a story before but it was interesting nonetheless. The story itself was decent. Not my favorite, I really enjoyed other Shriver stories more. The story seemed somewhat dry and it took me a a while to get through: almost three weeks which is a record for me. The story is interesting but a little slow for my taste. I would recommend it though just for the fact that Lionel Shriver is such a unique storyteller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Hard to follow and confusing

    I found this book confusing to read and follow. Not sure I would recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Starts a Little Slow ... But Watch Out!

    It took 100 or so pages to get going but then this book had me completely hooked. To watch the plots exchange and interchange was fascinating. I went back and forth rooting for one life over another like a tennis ball over the net. But whichever version Irina, Lawrence and Ramsey were true to themselves. I rooted for them all and mourned not just a little for them too. Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book deserves mention of it's memorable characters and unusual plot. At first I thought some of the book was part of a dream,and I was fascinated when I realized what Shriver was doing. Life is not perfect, and Irina McGovern's life is a courageous and honestly presented example of this. I can't wait for my book club's discussion of The Post Birthday World!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    I really enjoyed 'We need to talk about Kevin' and I was very excited to see another book by the same author. What a disappointment. I just kept reading along thinking it would come together and I would be able to make some sense of it. It never happened. I still don't understand the story at all. If anyone has an explanation, let me know.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    For the first time in my life I did not finish a book. I'm not the type to give up that easily but I could not spend another moment on trying to finish this book. I got half way and still don't understand what the heck is going on. Oh well, chalk it up to never going with People magazines 'OUR PICK'.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Thistlefang

    "I dont."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Aspen

    Go to related tiltles last result over at camp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    This was a hard book to read prior to retiring each night becaus

    This was a hard book to read prior to retiring each night because I'd lie there wondering what if this happens? what if that happens? Of course, I ask myself those questions regardless what book I was just reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3