Customer Reviews for

Post Office

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Second only to HAM

This is my second favorite Mr. B. Book, the first place going to his HAM ON RYE. While there are similarities in cynicism, wit, and style to other writers--think Chuck Palahniuk with his CHOKE or McCrae with his KATZENJAMMER, there's only ONE Bukowski. If you're not fa...
This is my second favorite Mr. B. Book, the first place going to his HAM ON RYE. While there are similarities in cynicism, wit, and style to other writers--think Chuck Palahniuk with his CHOKE or McCrae with his KATZENJAMMER, there's only ONE Bukowski. If you're not familiar with his works, again, I'd start with HAM, but this one works just as well.

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

And So He Did.

Bukowski ends his novel with Chinaski claiming he decided to one day sit down and write his life story down, "and so he did", but not everything needs to be written. While some of the story was amusing, it arose mainly from the mundanity of such an ordinary existence. ...
Bukowski ends his novel with Chinaski claiming he decided to one day sit down and write his life story down, "and so he did", but not everything needs to be written. While some of the story was amusing, it arose mainly from the mundanity of such an ordinary existence. Chinaski was really quite ridiculous... the story begins when he is quite young and the last age he mentions is 36 before the end; however, the whole time I was reading this story I had the feeling I was reading the life story of a much older man who had lost his will to experience life and he was just waiting for death to come take him. Chinaski never really ever had any ambition to do or BE anything or anyone and just moved through life when he was forced to (like when his girlfriends decide to choose another man over him, he just quietly packs his clothes and leaves)... it's a really sad existence that I can't feel sorry for and the longer it went on I couldn't even find it amusing. I wanted some insane suburbanite (perhaps the crazy woman he faux-rapes) to just blow him out of the book so that Something would happen and this ridiculous excuse for a human being would quit taking up oxygen someone using their brain could find useful.
Perhaps it's the current economic and global political situation, but other than the fact that the story is semi-autobiographical and Bukowski obviously went on to do something with himself, I couldn't find anything redeeming about a man who only did enough to get by (in squalor most of the time) and feels comfortable judging the rest of the working world. (Which goes along with Bukowski's constant portrayal of anyone in a management/supervisor position as an insane narcissistic power-tripping jerk.)
Not my taste and mildly aggravating.

posted by 164551 on January 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Excellent

    While it is very much the norm in modern literature to focus on the self as the central theme of the writer's work, the novelist choses this motif at his own peril. Bukowski's grasp somewhat outstrips his reach this is because his talent to describe a reality is so much more powerful than the material that he chooses to create that reality. Very few writers since Hemingway can set the scene and paint the stage with such remarkable economy of the written word. I see the main difference between a great writer and a good one (and Bukowski is a very good one)is the scope and breadth his material. But Hemingway's world was much larger while Bukowski binds himself too closely in his nutshell. He takes us into strange fields filled with enchanting flowers, only to describe, in breathtaking detail, a blade of grass. Bukowski's fearless approach to truth as a writer comes from (what one can only assume) is his relative poverty as a human being...however well he reveals to us in this novel the transcendental beauty of his blade of grass, we long to be able devour the scents and absorb the sunlight which we can only sense is just outside the writer's realm of experience. Hattely

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    Second only to HAM

    This is my second favorite Mr. B. Book, the first place going to his HAM ON RYE. While there are similarities in cynicism, wit, and style to other writers--think Chuck Palahniuk with his CHOKE or McCrae with his KATZENJAMMER, there's only ONE Bukowski. If you're not familiar with his works, again, I'd start with HAM, but this one works just as well.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This book was a real treat. I only wish I had discovered Bukowski earlier. This is an interesting look into a degenerate, alcohol dependent, sex driven, poet working in a mundane job. It is a combination of memoir and fictionalized account of a life and choices that are both impossible and real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Consice and entertaining. I feel this is Bukowski's best novel,

    Consice and entertaining. I feel this is Bukowski's best novel, which is surprising considering it was his first! In this novel he opens the seal behind the post office walks to show us what the job of sorting and mail carriers is really like. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Loved it.

    Easy read. Connects with earlier Bukowski books. Interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    As a USPS vet of 25 years, I can relate. Thankfully, I'm not hau

    As a USPS vet of 25 years, I can relate. Thankfully, I'm not haunted by Bukowski's inner demons. Speaking of which, a whole bunch of this iconic writer's work is currently up for $1.99. HURRY,HURRY,HURRY!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Galesta to dragonstar

    U rp breezestorm? Cuz if so go to mojo and...well...i need a mate.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Mnwc

    Office open

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    I was surprised, but I loved every minute. He just shoots it strait and doesn't sugarcoat a thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Brilliant

    Bukowski. Read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    One of my favorites

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    Great weekend read ... for the world weary....

    This is the perfect book to bring on a weekend trip. It's short and Bukowski writes to the point, centering on the frustration of working a soulless job and feeling like a nobody. His character is obviously himself. It's not all dour. Much of it is funny and much of that has to do with Bukowski's world weary sense of humor. Life can be a trial, and this book underscores that. Idiot bosses and emptiness and tedium of day to day life as a working stiff. I related to this. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    Buk's best

    Charles Bukowski had a rough life. He didn't start publishing until later in life, maybe around 48 or so. Post Office is his first published novel. The book follows Henry Chinaski, a post office worker in California. It's very funny, as Chinaski delves into the politics and craziness of post office life he also has a romp or two with women on his mail route. By the end of Post Office, Chinaski is so fed up with the bs that he quits his job to write a novel. This is the best Buk novel I've read. His writing is swift and clean and the story moves superfast. Buk is a good writer. I'm looking forward to reading more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    One of the best

    Like an even more drunken Hemingway with a dash of Jackson Tippett McCrae insanity (Katzenjammer), Bukowski bleakly but matter-of-factly describes the underworld of the City of Angels through the eyes of a postal worker. Bukowski's resigned bitterness is the driving force behind this novel it is, as usual, brilliant. There's nothing Americans take as seriously as making money nor any more common way of getting it than by working for someone. So how come hardly anybody ever writes about this centerpiece of our lives? In 'typical' Bukowski style (brutal, frank, profane and with a lovely sense of noire humor) Hank has and I'm sure the US Post Office is not amused. For about 11 years he actually did work for the PO. But the book is really about work: what it does to you, how this one man coped with it, etc. It could just as easily been titled The Office, The Shop or The Factory. The theme is universal. I was reminded strongly of McCrae¿s ¿Katzenjammer: soon to be a major motion picture¿ with its themes of work abuse, nut-cases, and wry wit. He and Bukowski have a great deal in common and each should be read more than once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2004

    going postal

    Working as Tech Support for a web hosting company for nearly 4 years, i've said that the transition from mail to e-mail would also bring about a transition to the phrase 'going postal' to 'going hostal'. The difference is our clients are our 'soup'. I recommend this book to anyone who works in customer service or any job where you deal with moron after moron, be it your boss or your customer. Post Office is hilarious. It was my first read of Bukowski's (save a few of the stories from 'Hot Water Music') and I'm already in love. I can see that much of my future paychecks will go straight to Bukowski. That is of course, if there is any money left after the liquor...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2003

    Bukowski is fantastic

    This was my first Bukowski and it was hilarious and brilliant. I sped right through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2002

    excellent

    Definitely his best novel that I have read. I had previously preferred his short stories and poems to his novels, because he gets a bit repetitive after a while, but this one proved me wrong. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3