Customer Reviews for

The Postcard Killers

Average Rating 3.5
( 1710 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(558)

4 Star

(436)

3 Star

(350)

2 Star

(164)

1 Star

(202)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Stark Brutality Meets Boundless Tenacity

The Postcard Killers by James Patterson and Liza Marklund

A emotionally drained, despair ridden NY Homicide detective teams up with a small time newspaper reporter to combat a pair of insidious serial killers.

I don't care one whit about the criticism leveled at ...
The Postcard Killers by James Patterson and Liza Marklund

A emotionally drained, despair ridden NY Homicide detective teams up with a small time newspaper reporter to combat a pair of insidious serial killers.

I don't care one whit about the criticism leveled at Patterson and his formula written books. I enjoyed this book. It was an astoundingly quick read and held my attention. The characters were understandable and the protagonists were likeable. Jacob's tenacity was to be expected from a grieving father. Dessie was a delightful combination of newly formed goody two shoes and a genetically predisposed small time hoodlum.

The story was beyond fast paced. It was impossible to put down. The killers were despicable and their fate was kept unpredictable.

I highly recommend the book.

posted by ibpurpledragon on July 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Good preview

Only 87 pages, so you get an appetizer, not the full meal.

posted by 8751113 on June 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1721 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 87
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Stark Brutality Meets Boundless Tenacity

    The Postcard Killers by James Patterson and Liza Marklund

    A emotionally drained, despair ridden NY Homicide detective teams up with a small time newspaper reporter to combat a pair of insidious serial killers.

    I don't care one whit about the criticism leveled at Patterson and his formula written books. I enjoyed this book. It was an astoundingly quick read and held my attention. The characters were understandable and the protagonists were likeable. Jacob's tenacity was to be expected from a grieving father. Dessie was a delightful combination of newly formed goody two shoes and a genetically predisposed small time hoodlum.

    The story was beyond fast paced. It was impossible to put down. The killers were despicable and their fate was kept unpredictable.

    I highly recommend the book.

    39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It was just missing that WOW factor.

    RELEASE DATE AUGUST 16, 2010


    NYPD Detective Jacob Kanon is on a mission that is taking him on a tour of Europe's most beautiful cities and the most wonderful tourist hot spots. His daughter and her boyfriend were killed while vacationing in Rome. Many other young couples have also been killed all over Europe, but because they all been killed in different cities, the authorities are not linking these murders. But there is a connection, a postcard is always sent to a local newspaper before every murder.

    Kanon has figured out this connection and has teamed up with Dessie Larsson, a local reporter who has just received a postcard in Stockholm. They start to put the pieces together but getting all the authorities to work together is extremely difficult, and something needs to be done as more couples are dying.


    I have liked all of of James Patterson's many novels, and loved most. This story was full of action and the depiction of the crime scenes extremely graphic. It definitely was a thriller, most riveting in parts, but it was missing something for me. Usually Patterson's novels have me on the edge of my seat until the very last page, but I started to figure this one out well before the final page, so it lost that WOW feature, that I felt after reading Swimsuit, for example. If you are a Patterson fan, you will definitely like and maybe even love this book, it just left me feeling a little conflicted. This is his first book with Liza Marklund and that may be the difference.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: This book was provided to me by the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Good preview

    Only 87 pages, so you get an appetizer, not the full meal.

    25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Explosive, Gripping, definite page turner!!

    I got this free preview and then decided after reading 5 pages that I would just get the book. OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I could not put the book down and in 3 days I was finished with it. I was totally drawn into the story and it was a grippinging page turner and the plot was diabolical if I can use that word in this fashion. I thought for sure that they had nailed the ones responsible, then at a critical point BAM it is more mind shattering. it is a great read and I would definately recommend it to others for sure. This was my 2nd James Patterson book that I've read. I am totally hooked on his books.

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    Disappointing

    I read all of Patterson's book and am almost done with this one. By far one of the worst. Just didn't live up to Patterson's previous work.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    Postcard Killers is a disappointment

    It starts with a vivid, brutal throat-cutting scene. I was disappointed right away with the description of the blood from the jugular vein. It was described as blood from an artery, squirting across the room. But, I kept reading. Overall, there was one twist. But, it was so predictable that it was flat. The ending was also very predictable. The book had the sensationalism of serial killers, with the current fad of one lesbian scene and incest in the antagonists and protagonist. The incest in the past of the protagonist had no relevance to the plot and appeared added only for "shock" appeal.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I couldn't connect to the characters. They were poorly developed and I just didn't care what happened to them. There was a lot of telling me about emotions and actions but not a lot of showing me and letting me feel it. I found it dragged out in the sense that I could skim 5 or 6 pages, then read a few paragraphs, and not miss much of anything. Yet, at the same time, the interesting scenes were too quick and I was left wanting more details.

    I used to be a huge Patterson fan. Over the past few years, I've been disappointed and have stopped reading his work. This is only the second "co-authored" book I've read and I doubt I'll read another. It wasn't terrible but simply wasn't worth my time.

    ** I received this e-book as a review copy from Little, Brown and
    Company, through http://NetGalley.com. **

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Chilling To Read

    I found this book to be impossible to put down. The murders escalate in gruesomeness and the murderers are a chilling pair to think of as existing. Yet in this world, one never knows who that smiling young couple may really be inside. It is eerie to think of the people we smilingly talk with when waiting in lines may be serial killers. I was also intrigued by the whole notion of artistic posing of the victims. I love reading Sherlock Holmes but this book kept me guessing as to the motive and possible meanings of the murders. The American detective is heartrending in his pursuit and the reason why he wants these killers. The journalist is detached and yet her heart is tugged by his obsession. Definitely one you will want to read!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    LOVED IT

    This was the first James Patterson book I read and it was AMAZING!!!!! I LOVED IT!!!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    Fantastic Read!!

    Another great book by James Patterson. Couldn't put it down.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    Just OK For what I am use to From James

    the Book was preety good a lil hard to to keep up with but it was OK not the Norm for James but i was just OK for Me because after the Privite I expected it to go up a notch - but if you have not read many of Pattersons book this one will get you started ....
    love you Work..

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    Collaboration failure

    Patterson lends his name and short chapter concept to writers and sometimes their ideas succeed and the book is enjoyable.
    This one doesn't and isn't.
    The characters-the hero, his love interest and the villians are not fleshed out and there is no feeling for any of them.
    The plot is absurd and it seems that Liza Marklund is trying to make a name for herself in the US as Steg Larsson did with his series.
    She isn't close and Patterson is losing his appeal selling out like he did.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    page turner

    purchased it as an ereader. Raining day in new york today. Read the whole book. It was just another one of James Patterson amazing book. Found myself talking to the pages and my husband asking me what? lol If you never read any of his book. You will not be disappointed at all.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    highly recommended

    This book is for an adult reader. It has mature subject matter but is very well written. I want to read the rest of the book. I have read many books by James Patterson.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Good but has a badd mine

    This book has u at the end of ur seat bitin on ur nails cant tell all aboout it get ur own book :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    It is just a short version of the whole book

    It's just a preview

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Can't wait for the whole Book!

    This preview deifinitely whet my appetite to read the whole book. In Patterson's usual style, it is a rivetting read. The characters are well developed and I can't wait to see how the final showdown evolves.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Epic Fail

    Audio/unabridged: Where do I begin: This is a collaboration with a Swedish author & jumps on the Tattoo Dragon/Swedish crime bandwagon: Epic Fail. I'm going to spoil this b/c I hope you don't read it; there's the stereotype plot-line: 1st, all the Swedish police are completely inept except the NY cop looking for his daughter's murderer. 2nd, the bi-sexual reporter decides to try men for a while & ends up with an alcoholic loser. And decides to stay with him. 3rd: man travels for months, all over Europe, looking for the Postcard Killers on a leave-of-absence NY cop's salary. 4th: said Postcard KillerS are rich, good looking incestuous siblings. 5th: Said killers have a website & a handful of followers willing to do copycat killings while Postcard Killers are in custody. Must I go on? This was so bad. I could listen to it, but there is no way I could have read it. You didn't want to like the main characters, there was no setting set-up, & the bad guys were more interesting. There were three narrators doing the audio. I believe Katherine Kellgren does the reporters view & is very good. The narrator who does the bad guys does a great job too. The narrator who does the cop is average.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Yes!

    Loved it!! This book was great from start to finish! Another homerun for James Patterson!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another predictable Patterson novel.

    I've only read a few James Patterson novels. I've always heard great things about his writing and I really wanted to start reading some of his stuff. My only problem thus far is that everything of his I've read has been so predictable. I've had such high expectations for each of his books and I've been let down with each one.

    Having said that I don't hate his books. I think that the sheer number of books that he has released, with co-authors, has lead to a bit of overkill. I like the story lines, I like the characters, but it's so easy to predict the end of the book.

    This one was no different. While it did have a bit more of an emotional connection than I've felt with the other Patterson novels it was still predictable. I liked the characters. Dessi was a great character. She was very well rounded, she had such a great back story, and as her past starts popping up she becomes even more likable. For her to come from where she came from and be able to do what she's done it was very touching. Jack wasn't an unlikable character, but I didn't really connect with him. I did feel sympathy for him, but that was about the extent of my connection.

    The story was pretty fast-paced. Things happened pretty quickly in this one. It didn't take long for the killers to get going, actually that's how the book opens. As the reasoning behind the killings come out, it is pretty shallow. But I guess a killer doesn't really have to have a good reason to kill (killers are crazy after all).

    Since this was an audiobook I have to talk about the narrators. There were actually three of them in this story. I liked the differences in the narrators. It helped me to keep track of when the story changed. When I'm listening to an audiobook I find it easy to get lost as far as what's going on, and who's doing what but the three different narrators would at least keep me on track as to who the story was following. I have to say that I wish more audiobooks were read like this, I really liked it.

    A review copy of this title was provided by Hachette Book Group.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1721 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 87